We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great South Suburban institution”

Lumes Pancake House
Restaurant details
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A great South Suburban institution”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Perfect place for when you're craving Eggs Bennie, an omelette or a fab Rueben. Lumes is a neighborhood coffeshop landmark as evidenced by the huge (and regular) senior clientele. Our service was wonderful as were the oversized plates of hot, delicious food. If you have time, order the decadent Dutch or German pancake...it takes 20-40 minutes, so we got one as a shared dessert.....Yummy!

Helpful?
Thank skitramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
164 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Place”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is one of those places that is only open for breakfast and lunch. My wife and I tried this place out after Church on Sunday because it's near our home.
Good food and service but I don't like to wait for a table and it looks like this place is very popular on Sunday's so a wait should be expected.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ghost44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“yuck”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

lumes breakfast is bland and they dont follw directions. every time ive ever ordfered from here ive asked them to burn the hashbrowns. they never ever do and the things are warm but not crispy at all. pancakes are too thick and fluffy, omlettes are also thick and ick. go somewhere else for breakfast whenever possible. i suppose if you are 80+ yeqrs old and on a bland diet than you would love this place but i surely do not.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hearsechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Demanding tip!!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We came for sunday morning breakfast as a group of 10. The food was ok, nothing absolutely delicious. At the end of our trip we paid and added tip as usual. However, lumes personnel demanded we pay an extra 10$ for our tip. It was such a turn off, we will never be visiting ever again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abrarnajjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“BUSY LOCAL RESTAURANT WITH LOYAL FOLLOWING”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Be prepared for a wait on Sunday mornings other days no problem. The parking leaves something to be desired although parking is available across the street. The food is consistent with generous portions and a wide variety of selections. The wait staff is efficient and tables are turned over so waits are not long but be prepared for a little jostling while guests pay their bill and others are waiting to be seated. They do not take reservations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumes Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Lumes Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing