We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoiding disappointment creating a new experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Posta Vecchia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palo Laziale
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Avoiding disappointment creating a new experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

No, this time I will NOT stay at La Posta Vecchia, but in the past I always appreciated the beauty of the villa, its location and its garden with the roman mosaics. The place well deserves its Michelin star and is proud member of Relais & Chateaux.

I got an email from their reservation manager stating that a group will take over the place the evening of my planned and prepaid stay. It appeared that it will be a birthday party of a large Russian family (24 people), not really a thing you want to assist when looking for a romantic evening.

By informing me about this occurrence the property acted with big respect and professionalism towards its guest. When suggesting the reservation to be transferred to Il Pellicano (same owner family) they immediately accepted despite the room at this property being EUR 252 more expensive.

Thanks to this arrangement not only will we spend a nice evening, but also experience another even 2 Michelin star restaurant - I will review.

La Posta Vecchia - a proud Relais & Chateaux indeed.

Room Tip: The superior deluxe seaview rooms (only three of them) can now specifically be booked online and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank behuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore generale at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your kind review and the pleasure to share this experience with the TripAdvisor Traveller's.
As a pre stay review, we are very happy you have appreciated the attention and the frankness used by our Reservation Manager to you in this specific case.
We love to have our Customer always under our attention and care. We love to be honest and be able to find solutions creating new experience or future occasion.
We now only wait the pleasure to welcome you at Il Pellicano and do the best to create the romantic evening you are looking for.
This experience is now for us a case history to share with all our Staff.
Many thanks to give us this opportunity, see you at Il Pellicano.

Danilo Guerrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    30
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
41
165
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a fabulous hotel, formerly owned by Paul Getty. It has its own Roman villa ruins in a basement exhibition gallery. The food is magnificent and the staff very attentive. Expensive but well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryCon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore generale at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Mister Gerry,

following your kind review, the Staff and me, we wish to send our special thanks for the kind words you wrote and you offer to all the TripAdvisor Travellers.
Brief but significant description of your experience. The best card for all of us to start a new wonderful season with more energy and willpower to grow all together.
I take this occasion to with you and your family Happy new Year, at the pleasure to welcome you back at the Villa.

Best regards

Danilo Guerrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

An enchanting and relaxing place to stay. The view is so beautiful of the sea and the gardens are lovely. Service in both the hotel and the restaurant is excellent. The rooms are elegant and the baths are great. Every detail is covered and comfortable. Dining in a lovely dining room or on the deck overlooking the Mare. Breakfast has to be one of the very best in all of Italy. Our only suggestion would be that the dinner menu be more varied and change nightly, at least with a feature of the day, rather than quarterly. There are several room to relax in during the day and an indoor pool with fresh fruit and the best cantucci ever. Maid service was totally unobtrusive. Shuttle to and from airport (for a reasonable fee).

Room Tip: It does not matter whether you face the garden or the sea, all are beautiful and quiet and well appo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore generale at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Mrs Susan,

Happy new Year! I wish to thank you for the kind words used on your review about your stay at the hotel. I really appreciate your kind attention to the small details and the suggestions you offer to me and the Staff to increase the quality of our service.
La Posta Vecchia is your home away from home, each guest of us partecipate in the Villa's life and programs. We love to be a family where each member give a contribute to improve the standards. You realize our Dream.
Wishing you all the best, I hope to welcome you once again in the future.

Danilo Guerrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Don't go there expecting all the modern gadgets but if you want to spend time by the sea in the spirit of J Paul Getty this hotel is amazing.
When the wind is not too high the restaurant tables outside are a great place for lunch and even better for dinner. While there is a beach, don't bother.
Sitting on the outdoor lounge chairs and looking at the castle next door allows you to drift back to years past.
Staff is very anxious to please. Our senior suite was nice but not exceptional and furniture might need upgrading.
Ground are beautiful.

While there is nothing to do in the area, just relaxing, reading and dreaming are what is best about this property

Room Tip: try to book the best suite you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boatbuddy2007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore generale at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

what a nice title for your review! Many thanks for the words used to describe this magic and historical Villa. It's true the spirit of J.Paul Getty is live here and the atmosphere is the same of the Renaissance time.
As the building, all the rooms on the first floor are historical and have original fornitures of the XVI century. A restore plan is in program but it will take very long time. It's the tribute we have to pay to the italian history but we are really proud to be the butlers of this glorious story.
Good points about the young staff, step by step with the experience they will have a better aptitude and they will be less anxious to try to do the best for our guests.
I really hope to see you once again at the hotel, dreaming in front of the ocean.
Best regards

Danilo Guerrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We reserved a superior deluxe sea view room 24 hours in advance of arriving at the hotel. When we arrived we were told that they had a surprise for us...it was a disappointing surprise. They put us in what they termed as the angel's suite. It was a series of attic rooms with tiny windows. You could only see sky when you looked out the window....if you went right up to the window, and looked down you could see some water.
We waited 25 minutes to be served drinks on the patio that night...the staff never told us that they could not find the olives!..so we just waited and waited.
On a positive note, the breakfast was great and varied. It was probably the best display that we saw in Italy.
Overall, this was a disappointing stay.....we felt that we had been decieved. When we advised the staff, they offered another room with a staircase to get to it and a very tiny bathroom so we stayed where we were as we were only going to be there for 24 hours.
The hotel is very expensive and that would have been ok if we got what we paid for. It is almost impossible to find. We ultimately asked in a hotel where it was and was able to find it. The address given to us by the hotel could not be located on the map or in GPS.

Room Tip: GEt a room number on the first floor (main second floor by American standards) and verification tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 202mariannc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore generale at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

many thanks for your kind review and the time you have dedicated to write it.
This review will be our milestone for the new season.
I'm sorry and apologize for our inefficiency in the service you haven't received. About the room, believe me, the Staff at Reception had the intention to offer you a free upgrade, a Junior Suite (the name is Angel Suite) instead of a double de Luxe see view. The intention was positive, the result less. The Junior Suite is on second floor, bigger room with a nice sitting room but smaller windows overlooking the castle, the beach and the sea.
We will work hard and with diligence for the coming season about all these attentions, hoping to have the chance to welcome you back. You will be our best controller.
I have to apologize for the GPS service too, but it's really difficult for us to change it, since three years we are trying to ask for new and better information but we are not in control of this situation. My suggestion is check our web site always, the map is perfect.
Wishing you happy 2013 I send my best regards

Danilo Guerrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night before flying out of Rome. The location is stunning as the attached photo shows. The room was on the third floor and tucked away from most of the hotel. It was clean but had an indescribable smell. Not bad but musty I guess. The food was very good. Quite Gourmet and expensive. Wine list as you would expect. The service wquipped but odd The staff was almost too familiar as if they were starving for conversation. Not sure, I couldn't quite put my finger on it. Overall it was an excellent experience but one night was enough for me.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whipple9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore generale at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest

many thanks for your review.
I really appreciated your description and it wil be very useful to improve the quality of our services with the Staff, paying more attention to the small details that usually make the difference.
It could be nice if you could contact me to give more details about the room. Not having a third floor in the property is difficult to check the room you experienced.
I really hope to welcome you back and once again many thanks to give us these opportunities to improve our quality and attention to our kind guests.
Best regards

Danilo Guerrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajaccio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just spent one night at La Posta Vecchia. What else to say that this property is legendary?
Well, a few things :
Exceptional charm : spectacular, truly charming, Renaissance architecture and decoration (a living museum of arts and historical furnishings).
Exceptional level of service : modern, warm and professional.
Exceptional cuisine : inspired and light, while remaining quintessentially Italian.
Exceptional location : litterally by the sea, quiet and 20/40 mns from Rome hyper-centre and airport (perfect during the hot summer months).
Exceptional environment : perfectly curated gardens and 180-degree view over the Med.
I would especially recommend this property for beginning or finishing a trip to Italy and Rome. Tranquility and sea breezes are perfect to escape from Rome's heat and bustle, while staying conveniently close to the Eternal City.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel_Les_Mouettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore generale at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

many thanks for the time you have dedicated to write this review.
Your description gave the Staff and me the sense of honour to be member of this unique historical Villa along the Tyrrhenian coast and improve our wish to offer a better service day by day, step by step.
At the pleasure to welcome you back or meet you in Corsica, the magic island.

Danilo Guerrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Laziale
12.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Clementina SPA & Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alle Tamerici
Hotel Alle Tamerici
#2 of 5 in Ladispoli
148 reviews
13.0 mi away
Terme di Stigliano
Terme di Stigliano
#1 of 1 in Canale Monterano
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#4 of 5 in Ladispoli
97 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Margherita
Hotel Villa Margherita
#3 of 5 in Ladispoli
116 reviews
13.4 mi away
QC Termeroma Spa and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posta Vecchia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posta Vecchia Hotel

Property: La Posta Vecchia Hotel
Address: Palo Laziale, 00055 Palo Laziale, Ladispoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Ladispoli > Palo Laziale
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palo Laziale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Posta Vecchia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA POSTA VECCHIA Hotel is a member of The Leading Hotel of the World. It was once the residence of Jean Paul Getty whose collection of antique furniture, tapestries and century old objects remain part of what is now a 19 room luxury hotel complete with every comfort and amenity. This 17th century jewel is one of the most prestigious hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your La Posta Vecchia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posta Vecchia Ladispoli
Hotel La Posta Vecchia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing