We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Ending To A Wonderful Trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Posta Vecchia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palo Laziale
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Perfect Ending To A Wonderful Trip!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

An enchanting and relaxing place to stay. The view is so beautiful of the sea and the gardens are lovely. Service in both the hotel and the restaurant is excellent. The rooms are elegant and the baths are great. Every detail is covered and comfortable. Dining in a lovely dining room or on the deck overlooking the Mare. Breakfast has to be one of the very best in all of Italy. Our only suggestion would be that the dinner menu be more varied and change nightly, at least with a feature of the day, rather than quarterly. There are several room to relax in during the day and an indoor pool with fresh fruit and the best cantucci ever. Maid service was totally unobtrusive. Shuttle to and from airport (for a reasonable fee).

Room Tip: It does not matter whether you face the garden or the sea, all are beautiful and quiet and well appo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore generale at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Mrs Susan,

Happy new Year! I wish to thank you for the kind words used on your review about your stay at the hotel. I really appreciate your kind attention to the small details and the suggestions you offer to me and the Staff to increase the quality of our service.
La Posta Vecchia is your home away from home, each guest of us partecipate in the Villa's life and programs. We love to be a family where each member give a contribute to improve the standards. You realize our Dream.
Wishing you all the best, I hope to welcome you once again in the future.

Danilo Guerrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    29
    13
    11
    6
See reviews for
40
161
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Don't go there expecting all the modern gadgets but if you want to spend time by the sea in the spirit of J Paul Getty this hotel is amazing.
When the wind is not too high the restaurant tables outside are a great place for lunch and even better for dinner. While there is a beach, don't bother.
Sitting on the outdoor lounge chairs and looking at the castle next door allows you to drift back to years past.
Staff is very anxious to please. Our senior suite was nice but not exceptional and furniture might need upgrading.
Ground are beautiful.

While there is nothing to do in the area, just relaxing, reading and dreaming are what is best about this property

Room Tip: try to book the best suite you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boatbuddy2007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore generale at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

what a nice title for your review! Many thanks for the words used to describe this magic and historical Villa. It's true the spirit of J.Paul Getty is live here and the atmosphere is the same of the Renaissance time.
As the building, all the rooms on the first floor are historical and have original fornitures of the XVI century. A restore plan is in program but it will take very long time. It's the tribute we have to pay to the italian history but we are really proud to be the butlers of this glorious story.
Good points about the young staff, step by step with the experience they will have a better aptitude and they will be less anxious to try to do the best for our guests.
I really hope to see you once again at the hotel, dreaming in front of the ocean.
Best regards

Danilo Guerrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We reserved a superior deluxe sea view room 24 hours in advance of arriving at the hotel. When we arrived we were told that they had a surprise for us...it was a disappointing surprise. They put us in what they termed as the angel's suite. It was a series of attic rooms with tiny windows. You could only see sky when you looked out the window....if you went right up to the window, and looked down you could see some water.
We waited 25 minutes to be served drinks on the patio that night...the staff never told us that they could not find the olives!..so we just waited and waited.
On a positive note, the breakfast was great and varied. It was probably the best display that we saw in Italy.
Overall, this was a disappointing stay.....we felt that we had been decieved. When we advised the staff, they offered another room with a staircase to get to it and a very tiny bathroom so we stayed where we were as we were only going to be there for 24 hours.
The hotel is very expensive and that would have been ok if we got what we paid for. It is almost impossible to find. We ultimately asked in a hotel where it was and was able to find it. The address given to us by the hotel could not be located on the map or in GPS.

Room Tip: GEt a room number on the first floor (main second floor by American standards) and verification tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 202mariannc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore generale at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

many thanks for your kind review and the time you have dedicated to write it.
This review will be our milestone for the new season.
I'm sorry and apologize for our inefficiency in the service you haven't received. About the room, believe me, the Staff at Reception had the intention to offer you a free upgrade, a Junior Suite (the name is Angel Suite) instead of a double de Luxe see view. The intention was positive, the result less. The Junior Suite is on second floor, bigger room with a nice sitting room but smaller windows overlooking the castle, the beach and the sea.
We will work hard and with diligence for the coming season about all these attentions, hoping to have the chance to welcome you back. You will be our best controller.
I have to apologize for the GPS service too, but it's really difficult for us to change it, since three years we are trying to ask for new and better information but we are not in control of this situation. My suggestion is check our web site always, the map is perfect.
Wishing you happy 2013 I send my best regards

Danilo Guerrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night before flying out of Rome. The location is stunning as the attached photo shows. The room was on the third floor and tucked away from most of the hotel. It was clean but had an indescribable smell. Not bad but musty I guess. The food was very good. Quite Gourmet and expensive. Wine list as you would expect. The service wquipped but odd The staff was almost too familiar as if they were starving for conversation. Not sure, I couldn't quite put my finger on it. Overall it was an excellent experience but one night was enough for me.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whipple9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore generale at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest

many thanks for your review.
I really appreciated your description and it wil be very useful to improve the quality of our services with the Staff, paying more attention to the small details that usually make the difference.
It could be nice if you could contact me to give more details about the room. Not having a third floor in the property is difficult to check the room you experienced.
I really hope to welcome you back and once again many thanks to give us these opportunities to improve our quality and attention to our kind guests.
Best regards

Danilo Guerrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajaccio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just spent one night at La Posta Vecchia. What else to say that this property is legendary?
Well, a few things :
Exceptional charm : spectacular, truly charming, Renaissance architecture and decoration (a living museum of arts and historical furnishings).
Exceptional level of service : modern, warm and professional.
Exceptional cuisine : inspired and light, while remaining quintessentially Italian.
Exceptional location : litterally by the sea, quiet and 20/40 mns from Rome hyper-centre and airport (perfect during the hot summer months).
Exceptional environment : perfectly curated gardens and 180-degree view over the Med.
I would especially recommend this property for beginning or finishing a trip to Italy and Rome. Tranquility and sea breezes are perfect to escape from Rome's heat and bustle, while staying conveniently close to the Eternal City.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel_Les_Mouettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore generale at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

many thanks for the time you have dedicated to write this review.
Your description gave the Staff and me the sense of honour to be member of this unique historical Villa along the Tyrrhenian coast and improve our wish to offer a better service day by day, step by step.
At the pleasure to welcome you back or meet you in Corsica, the magic island.

Danilo Guerrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

What a charming place. Stay here instead of Rome on your way to or from the airport. Very relaxing. Wonderful staff. Wonderfull food.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ldmcgoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dangue, Direttore generale at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest

I only have to say many thanks for your review. The Staff and me we are very proud about your impression after the experience at La Posta Vecchia. As we normally say, La Posta Vecchia is somenthing to experience live. Once you stay in totally relax here you forget the world around you.
At the pleasure to welcome once again in the future, our best regards

Danilo Guerrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heppenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife was looking for a good restaurant on the coast and found this hotel. She booked a "package" for a weekend and suprised me by arranging for the Hotel to pick me up at the Airport ( she was already in Rome on business). Marco was waiting in front of the barriers with his poster and although he had been waiting for over an hour ( Rome - Airport - luggage) he was exceptionally polite and welcoming. This was a fore taste of what was to come.
The Hotel and its location are very special with superb views.Situated in large grounds overlooking the sea, and surrounded by a nature protected area, it is secluded. This means you can come and remain perfectly at peace without intrusions or interruptions.The hotel is full of antiques and is built upon probably a Roman villa - which you can visit next to the Reception.
There are salons to rest again full of antiques.The bedrooms are well equipped, the beds are good and our bedroom had one wall taken up with an antique church alter - very uplifting.We had a sea side room and the music from the sea was quite magic.
It is fair to say that the building has been very tastefully renovated.
The staff are all very courteous have been well trained and do perform ! One gets the impression that they are very proud to work there and they put that into their work with the guests.
We booked a massage in the Spa which because of the nature of the building is a bit cramped. However the massages were excellent - very competent masseuers and very friendly.
The breakfasts were good with lots to choose from - the only negative was to charge an extra €7 for fried eggs and one asks is this really necessary as it is a niggle that is minor but has an impact.
The Restaurant does deserve a Michelin Star as the food is at that standard and is well served by competent staff.Delightful to discover as part of a menu the very good local wines - and well described by the dining staff.
For the Joggers there is a way along the beach where you can either jog on the sands , or on a path next to it.
All in all a very good hotel excellent staff and restaurant and to be warmly recommended when you want a peaceful and relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huboldtontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dangue, Direttore generale at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Guten Abend Herrn Herzberg,

following your kind review me and the Staff we wish to thank you for the kind words and the attention you gave to each specific step in the House.
A specific analisys of these description will be very helpful for our future, we are always happily unsatisfied and we wish to offer our guests a better service, taking care of each small detail.
Small details make a great difference!
At the pleasure to welcome you back the Staff and me, we send our best regards.

Danilo Guerrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Laziale
Hotel Alle Tamerici
#2 of 5 in Ladispoli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Terme di Stigliano
#1 of 1 in Canale Monterano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Hotel Miramare
#3 of 5 in Ladispoli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posta Vecchia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posta Vecchia Hotel

Property: La Posta Vecchia Hotel
Address: Palo Laziale, 00055 Palo Laziale, Ladispoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Ladispoli > Palo Laziale
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palo Laziale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Posta Vecchia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA POSTA VECCHIA Hotel is a member of The Leading Hotel of the World. It was once the residence of Jean Paul Getty whose collection of antique furniture, tapestries and century old objects remain part of what is now a 19 room luxury hotel complete with every comfort and amenity. This 17th century jewel is one of the most prestigious hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your La Posta Vecchia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posta Vecchia Ladispoli
Hotel La Posta Vecchia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing