We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning property, rooms with a lot of character, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Posta Vecchia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palo Laziale
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning property, rooms with a lot of character, great service”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed a few nights in la Posta Vecchia in July 2011. The location is amazing, it is right on the coast and only an hour drive from Rome.The property has a lot of character, each of 19 rooms is unique. The service was excellent from arrival to the departure. Breakfast is fresh and there are lots of options. Michelin dinner was great with lots of chef's surprise dishes in between. 150 euro room service didn't impress that much though, it was nice but not exactly good value for money. There is not much around so you are pretty much limited to the hotel restaurant or the Posta pasta pizza which is 5 min walk from the hotel, great for lunch or dinner actually. Overall really enjoyed a few days in La Posta Vecchia, just perfect for romantic break!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatianahairexts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dangue, Direttore at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear Tatiana,

following your message I with to thank you for the kind words you reserve the Property and the Staff. I'm really happy you have enjoyed and discovered a nice corner of paradise between Fiumicino and Civitavecchia. As I love to say, the unexpected Ladispoli, the magical place of Palo Laziale, the path in the history.
Thanks again your message give me and my Staff the necessary energy to continue our project, improve the quality and the sense of hospitality in a special House as La Posta Vecchia.
With regards Danilo Guerrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    30
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
41
165
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stunning. Fabulous grounds, staff, view. Food was the absolute best we have ever had in Italy. Michelin rated for a good reason. We felt like a guest in a home rather than in a hotel. Go!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joecristeveami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dangue, Direttore at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
To JoeCristeveani

What a wonderful description, I wish to thank you for the emotion of your message. Every day is a step in our path to improve the sensation I wish to offer our guests with my Staff: be at home far away from home!
Proud of my magical Team and for your message, my best regards

Danilo Guerrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We had a fantastic stay for our anniversary and can't thank enough the hotel and staff for our wonderful stay. The director greeted us upon arrival and upgraded us to a superior category which we very much appreciated.
Next year we'll be back

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pietrtversk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This hotel is one of my favorites, every room unique, the hotel staff gracious and professional. The furnishings, artwork, grounds, public areas, all are as lovely as one can imagine, formerly the private residence of J. Paul Getty, with all of the accoutrements that implies. It is a fabulous spot to unwind after flying into the Rome airport without having to rush into the city, or, as we did, to relax for a couple of days before coming home. It is isolated (it is literally on the coast, with the edge of the beautiful terrace being the sea wall) it is not shoulder to shoulder with dozens of other hotels. Being about 30 to 40 mins. from Da Vinci airport is perfect if you are picking up a rental car at the airport because the last thing you want to do is try to drive into Rome. We love to drive but stay mostly in the countryside, and on our last night we had the hotel arrange a driver for us to go into Rome for dinner, also great. The only note of caution is that the restaurant service staff is not as polished as they should be for a Michelin-starred location, and managed to be rude and condescending to us not once but twice, and since we go to Italy for the food and wine and yes, thank you, we know our way around a menu and a wine list, it seemed very out of place. The quality of the food and preparation is excellent, but be ready for some attitude. On another note, the staff in the spa/salon was simply wonderful, I went in for a manicure and the spa facility is small but so darling, and the ladies there were fabulous. This property is expensive, but given everything about how luxurious it is, I actually think it is a great value. The guest rooms have the best mattresses in Italy, huge bathrooms, and the little bucket of ice put into the room late afternoon just a nice touch. Amenities are the best.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicebottleofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Very rough surroundings, but once you find it, and get inside the grounds, it's a pretty spot. The rooms are huge if you want to pay up. Skip the least expensive room,(called the small room) and pay for the larger ones. The spa is very nice, as is the pool. The restaurant is extremely expensive and not a fair value. The grounds are very shabby for a John Paul Getty estate.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beluga4162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We traveled with friends and this was our last stop before flying out of Rome airport. Our driver took us through what was a questionable area off the highway, but once on the grounds, it was magical. The service, the staff, the restaurant, the rooms. AND there's major history here. Don't forget to get a tour. It was like a hidden gem. Sure there's not much around the area. We went biking and to a nearby beach, which was nice. Don't miss the vegetable garden and the citrus on the grounds. Overall, I'd go back, since we done Rome so many times and do day trips from here. This place is great! Oh, and PS, everything in the minibar is complimentary. A nice touch

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasperBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed here because it was on a travel magazines' Best Hotels list. The hotel grounds are beautiful - tennis courts, bikes, pool, private beach, heliport, vegetable garden, spa. The restaurant is great too - amazing food and wine... However, the interior/location left something to be desired. We biked into town and along the beaches - not very appealing... Glad we stayed here, because we had to try it out... But overall, we were not impressed and don't necessarily believe it should be on a Best Hotels list... And especially given the location, we will not be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Laziale
12.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Clementina SPA & Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alle Tamerici
Hotel Alle Tamerici
#2 of 5 in Ladispoli
148 reviews
13.0 mi away
Terme di Stigliano
Terme di Stigliano
#1 of 1 in Canale Monterano
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#4 of 5 in Ladispoli
97 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Margherita
Hotel Villa Margherita
#3 of 5 in Ladispoli
116 reviews
13.4 mi away
QC Termeroma Spa and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posta Vecchia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posta Vecchia Hotel

Property: La Posta Vecchia Hotel
Address: Palo Laziale, 00055 Palo Laziale, Ladispoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Ladispoli > Palo Laziale
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palo Laziale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Posta Vecchia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA POSTA VECCHIA Hotel is a member of The Leading Hotel of the World. It was once the residence of Jean Paul Getty whose collection of antique furniture, tapestries and century old objects remain part of what is now a 19 room luxury hotel complete with every comfort and amenity. This 17th century jewel is one of the most prestigious hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your La Posta Vecchia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posta Vecchia Ladispoli
Hotel La Posta Vecchia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing