We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place for the kids, maybe adults too” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orbit Skate Center

Orbit Skate Center
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Palatine
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Orbit Skate Center is the best place to roller skate in the Northwest Suburbs. Located 28 miles north of Chicago. With a half acre beautiful wood floor, awesome light shows, sound system and stellar well trained staff, redemption center, Orbit is your place for family entertainment in the Chicago area. Our Cosmic Cafe and Galaxy SkyBar serve great food and beverages. Celebrating over 40 years of family fun.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun place for the kids, maybe adults too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I've been taking my daughter there for the drop-in and learn to skate lessons since they are the skating rink in town and she got a pair of skates for x-mas. The price is not bad, $3.50 for an hour of instructed lessons by very experienced gentleman and a young girl. Skate rental is another $3.50 I believe. I would definitely recommend others to attend these lessons a few times when leaning to roller skate/blade. My daughter is 7 and she just has so much fun that I was even thinking of renting/buying my own skates and join in the fun.

It can get very crowded there at times like on school events or possible Friday or Saturday nights so be prepared for that as you might have to wait and they might ran out of skate rentals and there might not be anywhere to sit. The facilities are old but well taken care of. The workers are nice. The sell some fast/junk food there as well.

I would suggest to buy/bring your own skates if you are planning on doing this regularly as rentals can get pricey as with other specialty shoes like bowling shoes.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Felipe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“over sold,”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

no inline skates for sizes 2-10, had to wait in a line of about 20 people, 1 person working the skate check out, waited 15 min to check out skates only to be told no skates available. I is a nice place on thanksgiving or winter break, just don't go on a school holiday like Jan 21. you will not be able to move.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Indoor Skating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Orbit Skate Center is a very affordable, fun, and easy way to skate. Rental skates are available for a low price along with a cheap concession and entrance fee. There are school events, parties, open skate nights, skating lessons, and much more. The condition of the building is OK which is why i gave it its rating. I learned how to skate at one of the classes, so try it soon.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Love this place for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

For the last two years, our Girl Scout troop has hosted a school wide skate on a half day. The staff couldn't be more accommodating and pleasant. The price is affordable and the kids have an awesome time!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Agilemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Orbit is worth a return trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our family (Two old fogeys, a 6-yr old, and an 8-yr old) enjoyed a beginners' drop-in skate lesson at the Orbit last weekend. What began as a what-the-heck Saturday outing may well turn into a weekly ritual, we had such a great time.
The skating instructor was an older gentleman who led an engaging class full of humor and with a focus on safety. The participants were a hodgepodge of types ranging from energetic preschoolers to wobbly Baby Boomers, and the instructor provided individual attention where it was needed, despite the large number of skaters. He gave lots of encouragement, and his smooth skating style, the result of 50-plus years of practice, made him the envy of all!
We stayed for the well-organized afternoon session, where a live DJ played the mandatory Justin Beiber and Katy Perry hits, but mixed in a healthy dose of Roller Disco and Funk classics. I was unaware that I would have an endorphin rush on hearing the first strains of any given KC and the Sunshine Band track, but I dropped my daughter's hand and left her to inch along with my husband while Mama zoomed around the rink recalling her bygone youth in 1970's Southern California! There were space-themed murals, blacklights, lasers, projections, mirrorballs, video screens, and a fog machine. Add to that the many participants who dressed in Retro Style (Rainbow Suspenders, Neon Lycra, etc.), and that's one heck of a party.
I really appreciated the hands-on involvement of the DJ and the Skate Guard during the session. When any child took a spill, my own daughter included, that skate guard was immediately on the scene to protect against further collisions and assist in any way. He appeared so quickly each time, it's obvious that he must actively scan the floor for accidents and falls. When one child appeared to have a potentially serious injury, they turned up the lights and cleared the entire floor right away to attend to her. (I think she was ok.) Skaters were courteous, in part due to the active participation of the skate guard.
The well-run party atmosphere continued with a wide variety of special games and dances. The DJ maintained great energy, and it was clear through his comments and announcements that he was engaged in the activity on the skating floor, not just spinning tunes in a booth. Again, he had an eye out for safety. And isn't it comforting to know that The Chicken Dance will never go out of style?
The skating floor itself is spacious and well-maintained, but one cramped corridor connects the entrance/exit points, arcade, lockers, skate rental, and restroom area. The combination of small children, high traffic, and unsteady skaters made for a clogged obstacle course, so proceed with caution. However, there was plenty of room in the snack bar, so spectators should settle in that area.
The admission/rental fees are not cheap, but they're comparable to what you might spend at your local cineplex. Orbit did not just pocket your cash and leave you to make your way round and round the rink. I felt like I was attending a well-organized party, and their emphasis on safety is priceless. They have various styles of skates available for rental, and the ones I used seem far superior to what I remember from way back when, just after the invention of the wheel. They have a live organist during certain sessions, which is a very special feature. Can't wait to return.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Square-on-Wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orbit Skate Center also viewed

 

Been to Orbit Skate Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing