We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and friendly, good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly, good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Our visit to this Hampton Inn in Ottawa was very pleasant. It was the first night of our 2 week Western roadtrip. No troubles checking in. The room was tidy and clean, as was the pool and spa area. The pool was a tad cool for our taste, but we got used to it. The Cracker Barrel is only a 20-second walk from the hotel lobby. If you have a chance, drive the 2 miles or so into downtown Ottawa. It's a nice old town with a great main steet and a lot of history to. We enjoyed learning about the Lincoln/Douglas debate that took place in Ottawa. We also had some excellent ice cream at Triple J at 101 E. Canal. The free wireless internet worked fine.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmpatrick63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    69
    28
    17
    3
See reviews for
119
101
18
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peoria,Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

I have to admit, I examine the room to see if it is truely clean. This room was spotless. Love the all white linens. Safe, secure, good area. Walk to Arby's, Cracker Barrel, and Taco Bell. Friendly staff. Hats off to Hilton for this property.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

My extended family lives in the Ottawa area, and over the last year we have stayed at the Hampton Inn 5 times. Each time has been excellent. The rooms are a great size and very clean, and the staff is friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kendra8809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wgc
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

We had a quiet room (304) at the back of the hotel and well away from any main roads. The receptionist was very welcoming and we quickly settled into our room, though the floor of the room did seem to slope which was a bit disconcerting until we got used to it.

We felt that the hotel was overpriced for the facilities and the location. There was no fridge or microwave and very few facilities on the doorstep – we had to travel around 15 miles to get any choice for evening meals. We only paid a few dollars less than at the Homewood Suites where we had a studio suite and evening reception Mon – Thurs (though this had been prepaid this option was not available at this hotel).

We used the pool and it was OK, though a little on the cool side. Coffee was available all day in the breakfast area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joychild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsmere, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

We were traveling to Ottawa for a family reunion over the 4th of July weekend. We had stayed at all the surrounding hotels in the past b/c the Hampton was always "full." We had never had a good experience. This time we got lucky and were able to book a room at the Hampton Inn. We had a wonderful experience. The hotel was exceptionally clean in ALL areas--room, lobby, pool, hallways, etc...Pleasant fragrance throughout the hotel. Pet Friendly. My children loved the hot breakfast that was served every morning---sausage, biscuits and gravy, french toast--everything very tasty! The staff was super friendly, accommodating, and always smiling. The pool was warm so my kids loved it! We will definitely stay here for all our future visits!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justcheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

I tried to organize a goup event at the Hampton Inn in Ottawa Illinois, and was denied because of children. They did not want an event for a child because they thought a child may disturb someone. Then they called a non profit organization and blamed Saint Baldricks for giving a donated free room to a child for a party, and continued to extort money from a volunteer of this non profit organization. Finally if that was not enough the General Manager of Hampton gave out my private information.

The General Manager made it clear if I attempted to reseve a room I would be kicked out.

So the Hampton violated personal privacy, tried to extort money, and treated me like I was worthless and could not be responsible at a hotel.

If you have kids I would never go to the Hampton because they think poorly of children and would do anything to insure that children are not at their hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdlsheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

My vehicle had broken down, and after a stressful day and a half, I finally got into the only motel in Ottawa that had an opening. A new warehouse facility was opening in town, and all lodgings were overwhelmed. This was the last room available that day.

I have a dog, and was pretty much wiped out in the July heat. Further, I was still recovering from surgery (partial amputation of a foot).

What these people did in terms of accommodating us (dog and me) can not be described in adequate terms. The disability wasn't readily apparent given the prosthesis, but the weariness, road grime, and frustration was all too real. They offered help with getting my gear to my room, and good places to have my pet checked out.

When I switched to crutches and the medical problem became obvious, the only room was on the top floor. They volunteered, on a personal level, to get a meal up to me or to help in any way they could.

It was the staff's going above and beyond anything that could be expected of them by corporate that changed a depressing situation into something that can still bring a smile to my face when I remember staying in Ottawa.

  • Liked — The customer service.
  • Disliked — Had no problems
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CommercialDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottawa
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
15.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
13.8 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
9.2 mi away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area

Property: Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
Address: 4115 Holiday Ln, Ottawa, IL 61350-9547
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Ottawa (Starved Rock Area). We feature 64 spacious guest rooms with King Beds or Double Queen beds,and King with Whirlpool. Accessible rooms and adjoining rooms are also available. Guest Rooms feature: Electronic key door locks, Work desk with chair & lamp in King rooms, FREE wireless high speed internet, 32" LCD TV's, Free Cable TV with HBO and ESPN. The Hampton Inn also features an indoor swimming pool & whirlpool and provides a Complimentary Hot Breakfast. Our meeting room can easily accommodate up to 30 people and many restaurants are within 5 miles. Visit Ottawa, and stay enjoy your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa (Starved Rock Area) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing