We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

just completed 5 days in this place - March 2013
Staff are pleasant and helpful, the hotel is clean, breakfast is quite good as a self-serve offer

There is not much around the hotel as Ottawa, IL is a rather small place. There is one good restaurant with a hotel 10% discount and a OK take out both just a few steps away. A 5 minute drive takes you to Walmart, across the Interstate 80 which is very close.

Room Tip: there are 2 types of rooms, so if you want a microwave and fridge make sure you ask for these. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 131 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

While in Ottawa visiting family, we stayed at the Fairfield. It seemed like the nicest in the area and we thought the kids would have fun swimming. The pool was clean and the temperature was warm, but be warned: the pool is VERY small. It's about 15 feet long and goes from 3 ft in the shallow end to 4 ft in the "deep" end. The pool was perfect for my 4 and 7 year olds, but would probably be a disappointment to more advanced swimmers. Our room was clean and my husband appreciated the tall shower head. The beds, however, were not very comfortable. And there was quite a draft by the window. We could feel cold air blowing in right above the air/heating unit, almost as if it wasn't caulked at all around the unit. I shoved one of the bath towels in the space and that helped. We thought the breakfast was good and there was plenty to choose from: belgian waffles, biscuits and gravy, Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches, cereals/oatmeal, bagels, muffins, yogurt, and fruit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Oomsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This was an average hotel with very limited dining space for the number of people it was hosting. When you think of the Marriott you think spacious pools and whirlpools. The whirlpool max capacity was 3 people and their pool was only 4 feet deep and could only fit about 4 people comfortably. No such thing as swimming laps or jumping in. It is just meant for people dipping their feet I guess.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjsrivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel was easy to find as it is located right off the highway. It's very clean and modern and the shower was excellent. Seemed a little pricey for a smaller town though. Unlike some of the other travelers, we thought the breakfast was just fine. Plenty of food to pick from and everything was clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kids04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Had to visit Ottawa for work for a few days and decided on the Fairfield Inn. Seemed like the newer of the hotels in the area and indeed it was. Nice clean property, and comfortable room. If there was area in need of improvement the free breakfast in the morning could be a little better. Overall I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Highwaydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was a very nice, clean, well maintained hotel. The front desk staff was fantastic. Breakfast was the only downfall. Usual cereals muffins Ect. but the hot sandwiches were premade wrapped in refridgerator like the gas station sandwiches, but we didnt really eat there anyways there is a Dunkin Donuts just down the street.
I would definatly stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had no problems checking in and getting situated. The hotel was very nice, clean and up to date. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. (Double Queen - third floor) The breakfast was decent, but could've used more options and variety. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was located close enough to food and downtown. We will definitely stay here again for next years Super Spartan race!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottawa
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
15.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
10.1 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
15.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
9.2 mi away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area

Address: 3000 Fairfield Ln, Ottawa, IL 61350-1020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: $108 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites is located near Starved Rock State Park, Matthiessen State Park, the I & M Canal and so much more. Our hotel offers clean, comfortable and modern accommodations. Free wi-fi, 24/7 indoor pool and hot tub, 24/7 exercise room, 24/7 business center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area Hotel Ottawa
Fairfield Inn And Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing