We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Glenview, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I work in the hotel industry and must say that this was one of the cleanest hotels that I have ever stayed at. It is very new as well as modern and priced very well. They had a nice continental breakfast and the staff was very friendly. I took my children to Starved Rock and opted to stay a little bit farther away to avoid crowds at most of the local hotels. I am very glad that I chose this hotel and would definately recommend it.

While visiting Starved Rock we ate at the diner in the lodge. We were waited on by "Carolyn" and I just wanted to pass on my appreciation for the service she provided. She went out of her way to take care of us and also snuck me some animal crackers to give to my kids after lunch. She definately deserves to be recognized by the Lodge. If you are staying in the area and decide to eat at the Starved Rock Lodge, I recommend asking to be seating at her table. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    57
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
52
34
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We love Starved Rock State Park. It is only 90 miles from Chicago and it feels like it's worlds away. That's why I am so excited about this new Fairfield Inn.

In the past, most of the accommodations in the area are what I would consider a little more rustic. Even the Starved Rock Lodge, while beautiful and historically characteristic, lacks the modern amenities that a picky person, like me, needs when craving creature comforts.

Ok, so while the Fairfield Inn may have NO character, it is BRAND new, it is super clean, and they have free breakfast. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but it was a nice respite to return to after hiking all of the awesome canyons and cliffs at Starved Rock. Also, there was good service.

A couple points:
- Fitness Center is new but could've been better if they invested in better equipment. 2 no-name treadmills plus 1 no-name elliptical. Better than nothing, but I'm worried that in a few years, they will not hold up. Believe me, I am thankful that they had something so it doesnt impact the rating.

- They should put up signs asking people to follow common sense sanitary practices at the breakfast spot. People stuck their hands in to get food out of the containers (ignoring the tongs that were available.). People were literally in pajamas and bare feet. Disgusting!

These are resolvable issues so I think that the hotel is still worthy of the highest rating because of the fantastic service. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed here with my fiance for a weekend away. Brand new hotel, great staff, clean rooms, great location close to lots of fun sites. We especially enjoyed the farmer's market on the square in Ottawa and the local wineries.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FormerHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The staff is so nice and accommodating. The rooms, pool, general areas, etc are very clean. We were able to BBQ in a nice, quiet patio area. If we needed anything additional, there is a large grocery store down the road.
GREAT LOCATION: just 25 minutes to Starved Rock for Hiking...beautiful drive too!!

Room Tip: Show them your AAA card for a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenVim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

It was late and we were all tired. After reading reviews for several hotels in Ottawa we chose the Fairfield inn and suites. We could not have been happier! The hotel was brand new, clean, comfortable, and had great service. Perfect place to stop and catch a night of rest on a long road trip. Were we traveling through Ottawa again we would not hesitate to stay here. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfamilyadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were there for just a one night quick stay over Labor Day. Knew this was just a level 1 Marriott Fairfield so expected it to be clean but basic. From the moment we pulled into the parking lot, entered the lobby, checked in and went into our room, I was very impressed. Clean, bright with great modern decor. Flat screen in the room, large granite space sink, desk with free wi-fi, and most importantly a comfortable bed. This is a very nice hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travelalso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We had ridden our tandem bike here and the manager on duty allowed us to bring it into our room for safekeeping. We had to leave early the next morning and even though the breakfast wasn't technically to be served for another hour we were allowed to enjoy a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomie6962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottawa
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
10.1 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
15.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area
Address: 3000 Fairfield Ln, Ottawa, IL 61350-1020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites is located near Starved Rock State Park, Matthiessen State Park, the I & M Canal and so much more. Our hotel offers clean, comfortable and modern accommodations. Free wi-fi, 24/7 indoor pool and hot tub, 24/7 exercise room, 24/7 business center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area Hotel Ottawa
Fairfield Inn And Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing