We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Portillo's is always good!”

Portillo's Hot Dogs
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Oswego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Home to America's favorite Chicago-style hot dogs, Italian beef, burgers, salads, and chocolate cake.
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Portillo's is always good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I little pricey for my taste, but the food is always fresh and outstanding. Little known tip for you - everyone knows that their chocolate cake is a little slice of heaven, but try the eclair! It is just as good, if not better (if you are an eclair fan).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    31
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good, fast but too expensive!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Ok, we like the food. Every once in a while and in a pinch we go here because we know we won't be disappointed. They do have the best hot dogs in the area hands-down and very good Italian beef. Their salads probably have more calories than a beef sandwich, but at least you enjoy the salad and can tell yourself you're eating healthy. They recently changed something about the burgers because they used to be excellent but now they are just so-so.

On the other hand, it is normal to spend just short of $30 for three people on that quick meal. We can get double the food in the area for what we pay here and sometimes we do simply because the prices have really gotten up there.

If you don't want to drop a fortune there but want comparable food, try Mr Beef and Gyros by Jewel. They have much better fries and, depending on how you like your beef, you just might like the beef better there too for a fraction of the price. I'm not big on the new management and they've cut back on the amount of fries and changed to a Godawful gyro sauce, but it is still a much better value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
“Portillo's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you're looking for a place to get some great (fast) food prepared to order at a reasonable price Portillo's is a sure bet. The service & quality is consistent & the selection is varied enough to please most any person. You can't go wrong with their hotdogs, but it doesn't stop there, Polish sausage, Italian sausage & beef with regular or hot peppers, salads, ribs. fries, & much more. The food here is what people in Chicago grew up on. This is the real deal in a chain restaurant group that cares about how & what they serve.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food and great family fun for all ages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We go to Portillo's in Oswego when we know we want a great fast quick meal that has great tasting food !
Son always gets the ribs ! He said they are "the best!"
Husband got the chopped salad this time ... he has gotten so much on the menu and I've never heard a complaint.
I pretty much stay with my favorite - the Charbroiled chicken sandwich, no mayo, with red onions and honey mustard on the side, Onion rings and chocolate shake. The shakes are the only shakes I will have in Oswego. They're great.
The thing I like about it here is the food quality is always the same. Always good !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kellilori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclenny, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Chicago style hotdogs and Italian beefs!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I literally flew up to Chicago because I was jones'ing for an Italian beef dipped with hot peppers. Flew up on Saturday and flew back to Charlotte on Sunday. Any trip to Chicago would not be complete without a trip to Portillo's. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rdjville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portillo's Hot Dogs also viewed

 

Been to Portillo's Hot Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing