We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service, quaint and interesting”

EMERSON CREEK POTTERY & TEA ROOM
Ranked #1 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Oswego
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: 15 tables - reservations SRONGLY recommended.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, quaint and interesting”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a wonderful place to go with a group of girlfriends, have a baby or bridal shower, or other celebration. The menu is limited, but delicious. The presentation is simple and pretty. The small dining room size adds to the feeling that it's special that you are there. It's a little pricey (we averaged $25/person), but really is a nice place for a special occassion. And, you don't see many men there...mostly women with their girlfriends, or mothers and daughters.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappyMomof3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming and Unique”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This place is very cute and is a great place to have a girls get together lunch. I would say you should plan on going more for the atmosphere than for the food though. Although the chicken salad sandwich was pretty good, we had gotten the chips and mango salsa appetizer which I am almost positive came from Costco. There were 3 of us and we shared the chips and salsa, each had a soup/sandwhich combo,shared 2 desserts, and each had a lemonade and the bill was $75. The desserts were excellent though! I dont go often because the high price, but it is a very charming place to visit as a special treat!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joyful418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My Favorite”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Home cooking at its best. Everything is fresh and flavorful. Simple menu appetizers, salads sandwichs and hot entree. Lush desserts. Since it is fresh you have 2 or 3 choices for each. Large porch with rocking chairs for sitting. A ladies restaurant although gentlemen are welcome ( I have seen 4 in my 5 years ). Nice gift shop and an area for wedding receptions. Very country and rustic but really the best. Reservations are a must.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eej19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a nice place to visit”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

i loved the atmosphere and the food was very tasty. :) i would recommend this place to anyone who love tea rooms :0

Helpful?
Thank denisec73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in the Heart of Oswego”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This great place is located off the beaten path at 5126 Stephens Road in Oswego, just look for the red wagon! You would never guess that the charming tearoom once the same spot that horses dined on less civilized fare. Converted in 2002, the old horse stables on the property seemed to be the perfect spot for a one-of-a-kind café. Their weekly menu offers a variety of homemade dishes and is served on Emerson Creek Pottery. They use fresh ingredients to prepare your meal. Their soups, salad dressings, sandwich fillings, and desserts are nearly all made in-house from scratch. Everything is affordable and delicious and the service is outstanding! The menu changes weekly so be sure to check their website to see what's new! After lunch make sure to check out the pottery shop which is located inside a renovated 100 year old farmhouse. The unique shop offers a wide array of handcrafted gifts and accessories as well as their namesake hand painted pottery. They also offer locally made hand-poured candles, greeting cards and local honey. I can't say enough about this place, except make sure to make a reservation and be sure to visit!!!! ­www.­ecree­kpotteryandtearoom.­com

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EMERSON CREEK POTTERY & TEA ROOM also viewed

 

Been to EMERSON CREEK POTTERY & TEA ROOM? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing