We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love their BBQ”
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #34 of 206 Restaurants in Orland Park
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Griffith
Level Contributor
127 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Love their BBQ”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We drive about an hour away to eat here or we take out at least once a month. Always friendly and always great food. My family always orders the Family Feast and as a family of four we have plenty of left overs for us to enjoy later or the next day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Lenox, IL
Level Contributor
208 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good food quality - awful service”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Went their last night - extremely light crowd.
1st - Waited at the seating station for someone to seat us - Mgr finally showed up.
2nd - Asked our waitress about the sides, and she had to ask someone else about them.
3rd - Waited & waited & waited for our food. Got upset when I saw someone who came in after us, already getting their food from another server. Then the server took it back from them, and went in the back. It looked like what we ordered, and then 5 mins later the other server brought it to us, because it was ours??? Not once did our server return to see how our dinner was or whether or not we needed refils or anything. Why? Because she was at the bar (along with the Mgr) watching TV. She finally came with our bill (30 mins later), and asked us if we wanted any more water. And of all things - she over-charged us! It took her another 10 mins to get it fixed. My wife says I was crazy to leave a 15% tip... she's probably right. All that being said, the quality of the Pork was great... too bad the Service & Mgmnt was awful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob_B_NewLenox_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“All the catfish, none of the bones”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Famous Daves in Orland Park is totally amazing and unique to this area. About this time of year they have the catfish. It is all the catfish with none of the bones. I don't like chain restaurants but this one is incredible. #1 drinks-- big Margaritas or Kendall-Jackson char, it's there. #2 Ambiance !!! I don't know who designs these places but one is overwhelmed by the quality and quantity of artifacts of early - mid century Americana, of the blue collar type. You just have to see it.#3 FOOD-- Catfish was the best. Or you can get the ribs and pour on one of the excellent sauces. What more could one ask for? #4 Service-- They do care.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
142 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not sure what the big deal is”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Was told by more than one person to "...try Famous Dave's if you haven't already." It was NOT the best BBQ in town in my opinion, I'd rather turn the corner and head down 159th Street to "The Patio" restaurant. Now there's BBQ to write home about. I did not taste anything special about Famous Dave's and have to wonder why they would be ranked so highly, when I find their award winning BBQ sauce being sold at Menard's of all places? Very strange.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TwinBritts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delicious....as Always”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Famous Dave never lets me down! Food is always fresh and delicious!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coreyswifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing