We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food and drink”
Review of Osteria Ottimo

Osteria Ottimo
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria Ottimo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 209 Restaurants in Orland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Phone. 1-708-403-3366
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fantastic food and drink”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Friends and I stopped in for dinner and although it was very crowded, the food was great! Amongst the group we had a 8 hour braised pork, risotto and pasta - every dish was fantastic! The pork was amazing and a must have if you see it on the menu as a special! Well worth it! Portions are all a good size and well priced. Atmosphere is quaint and friendly. Service was great! Our waitress Danielle was great despite the crowds! Wine list was very good as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank advisin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    40
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crete, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Actually 4.75 stars”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This restaurant has excellent Italian food at reasonable prices in a large but comfortable setting. Every bite of every item we tried was delicious. I highly recommend the large meatball with the Fontina cheese for the appetizer. The mornay style white cheese over the meat is a great contrast to the marinara underneath. Mixed all together, it is distinctive from other restaurants' meatball offerings.

Our entrees were a scallop special and the tilapia. Both were cooked to perfection, with a very light crisp on the outside with tender, hot meat in the middle. Ottimo does seafood very well. And, I have never had a meal that was served so hot before from start to finish, all of the dishes were hot hot, and stayed hot while they were on the plate. A small detail, but it sure beats food that gets cold quickly.

The reason it is not 5-star... the service was decent, but not outstanding. The server almost seemed shy, or not confident. Maybe it was an off-night. Nothing bad happened, the order was all correct. Service was done in a reasonable amount of time. Maybe the word I'm looking for is "detached".

Go for the food. Stay for the food. Go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at this place. A great selection of Italian items were offered and the portions were big. Large chalk boards displayed the specials of the day. Servers were attentive and helpful when chosing a wine. It is definately worth the trip if you live in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shy0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very good Italian in a more casual setting”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Made reservations for Sat 6:00pm seating, and glad we did. Would not get a seat otherwise.

Nice selection of specials. Good sized portions of food. Did not order appetizers. Chicken parm is a huge portion. Food selection was very good, portion sizes what you would expect, and served hot. Food tasted excellent and was very flavorful.

James was our server and took great care of us. Did not have alcohol or desert, so can't comment on those items.

As this was our first time here, we went to restaurant . Com for a certificate and that made the meal even that much better.

If you want to enjoy drinks and watch sports, they have a good bar. We were able to watch the college football game from where we were sitting. Tables are a bit close together, so it can get loud when people start talking. Didn't bother us, but it was a bit louder than other places.

Bottom line - you won't be disappointed, great Italian variety, good food, and great value.

There is no outdoor seating, but I can't deselect on the review screen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GLMS-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place in the burbs.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I had an event in Orland so I was burning time and wanted something not fast food for dinner. I was pleasantly surprised here. The food was good and my server was knowledgeable and polite. If I'm back in the area, I'll definitely stop back in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cancanthebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Ottimo also viewed

 
Orland Park, IL
 

Been to Osteria Ottimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing