We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location on the river”
Review of Paddle Wheel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paddle Wheel Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oregon
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good location on the river”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I had a good experience. The front staff was helpful. The room were clean and quiet.
The location is very pretty. You are right on the river. You can choose a room on the east side that looks out to the river. The second and third floors have outside covered seating. They have coffee, cold cereal, yogart and maybe bananas for breakfast.
There is a resturant next door only open for lunch 11-2. It was good fresh food. Across the parking lot is a steak place. Good but pricey. Places to stay are limited in Oregon.
I definately would stay here again. It is a nice small town hotel. They do charge $4.00 a day for the use of a refrigerator in your room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justtravelng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    19
    10
    11
    20
See reviews for
33
42
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Gorgeous, quaint quiet place located in a secluded small town in Illinois' heartland. I would definitely come back mainly to eat at the fabulous steak joint -"Blackhawk steak pit". It's literally a stones throw from your room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4dead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had heard about this place from friends and although the view is Great, the Service, accommodations and Managers were a huge disappointment. This is NOT a well run Hotel, the feeling of "Oh, Well deal with it, we have your money" is visable in everything they do, the Amenities for this HOtel are non-existent, The staff is not exactly rude, they just do not care about customer service. It was very sad becuase the location and the potential are there. But currently it is just not worth the money to be treated as if you were staying at the YMCA.

Room Tip: " Stay at the PAtch work Inn, very pleasant people work there, and Know how to treat their gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oregon hotels

Marion, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Paddle Wheel has a beautiful view of the Rock River. This is my home town and I love staying here when I come back to visit family and friends. An emergency prior to this years visit made it impossible for me to call and cancel within the cancellation period. The manager was very understanding and refunded my credit card anyway. Thanks again and see you next year!

Room Tip: Love the river side view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Went to a wedding reception at the Maxson Riverside Restaurant next to the Inn. We had a wonderful time. The staff was great, the rooms were clean and well stocked. I would love to stay here again for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

After having our dinner cruise canceled I tried to cancel our room reservation. Since it didn't fall within the 72 hour notice window, I thought we'd be out the money. Lo and behold, Jethny the dayshift manager made an exception and didn't charge our credit card. I strongly recommend this hotel, not only for the ambience but for the professionalism and consideration they show their guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Paddle Wheel is a lovely roadside Inn, reminiscent of yesteryear with a touch of rustic charm. Not only is it is right on the river, it has a great view of the Black Hawk Statue just across. My 7-year old son loved walking straight out the back deck and right down to the paddlewheel boat ride (separate). The manager Jethny was very helpful and gave us the nickel tour upon checking in. Our room was clean and adequate for the price, let alone the free light buffet in the morning. Take a break from the sameness and plainness of the nearby chain hotels and enjoy this unique experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oregon
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Rochelle
84 reviews
16.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Dixon
Comfort Inn Dixon
#1 of 3 in Dixon
139 reviews
7.1 mi away
White Pines Inn
White Pines Inn
#1 of 1 in Mount Morris
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle
23.7 mi away
Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
24.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 24 in Rockford
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddle Wheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddle Wheel Inn

Property: Paddle Wheel Inn
Address: 1457 Illinois Route 2 North, Oregon, IL 61061
Location: United States > Illinois > Oregon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oregon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Paddle Wheel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Paddle Wheel Inn, prepare to be rewarded with the utmost in hospitality and personal comfort. Located on the scenic Rock River, our River View Rooms offer seasonal panoramic views of the river and famous Blackhawk Statue. We are located next to the authentic paddle-wheel boat, "Pride of Oregon" and Maxson's Riverside restaurant and the Blackhawk Steakpit. We now have fridges and microawaves in every room. We no longer offer a continental breakfast. We have lowered our rates to compensate for no continental breakfast and limited TV stations. We have coffee available 24 hours a day. Inquire about our weddings and group events. Beautiful 39 spacious rooms located on the Rock River across from the Black Hawk Statue. Perfect setting for weddings, class reunions and family reunions. It s a unique setting that offers a rustic feel with modern amenities. The front desk is open from 7am to 9pm Monday through Thursday nights, Friday and Saturday 7am to 10pm and Sunday 7am to 8pm. Please contact the front desk in advance if these hours do not work with your travel plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Paddle Wheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddle Wheel Hotel Oregon
Paddle Wheel Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing