We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view of the Rock River, some nice hiking trails too!”

Castle Rock State Park
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Oregon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named for a large sandstone butte along the Rock River, this park has no camping.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
212 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Lovely view of the Rock River, some nice hiking trails too!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Castle Rock is a nice park for some day hiking. On the side of the park right by the Rock River, there are some stairs to climb for wonderful views of the Rock River. Down along the river is also a nice shady area with picnic tables. We didn't eat here, but I can imagine it would be a great spot.

On the other side of the road and down a bit, we hiked on some of the trails. They were 1-2 miles each and took us through wood and open prairie areas. One con is that the trail maps seemed somewhat confusing. We ended up on a different trail than we started on and therefore didn't loop back to the parking area we started at. We came across another family on the same trail who were also confused and commented about the signs not being the best, so it wasn't just us. Regardless, it was a nice place to hike and we enjoyed our afternoon,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTripfromIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    23
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
511 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Scenic views”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stopped here to get a view of the river from up high and were glad we did. A boardwalk trail takes you up to the viewpoint since many years of feet had diminished the trail. Worth the walk. Just keep your pocketknife and permanent markers in your pocket so the graffiti stops.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Babu2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely View of Rock River”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The view from the top of Castle Rock is beautiful at any time of the year, but there are lots of steps involved! There are some shady spots along the river for picnicking. Be sure to check out the rest of the park on the other side of the highway as there are some nice hiking trails, restroom, shelter house and playground.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great View!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The climb is worth the view of the Rock River. You can also take a short hike away from the stairs. Pack a lunch and enjoy the afternoon with the kids! Find more info. at http://dnr.state.il.us/lands/landmgt/PARKS/R1/Castle.htm

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Castle Rock State Park”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

A great state park in Oregon, IL. We try to get there a few times a year. It's a real nice area that offers some fun things to do along the Rock River. It's worth checking out other places in that area also. Castle Rock has real nice trails for some short day hikes. The trails are well marked and allow you to enjoy dense forest and open prairie hiking. There are several places in the park to have a picnic lunch. The park is always well maintained and seldom over crowded. A great place to spend a day. We always enjoy our time there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jim521r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Rock State Park also viewed

 

Been to Castle Rock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing