We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian food”
Review of La Vigna

La Vigna
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Oregon
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A good restaurant in a rather restaurant-starved area in rural Illinois.
Rockford
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Italian food”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The flavors of northern italy are very evident here. Great service also.

Helpful?
Thank Dawood H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent northern Italian food in a non-rushed atmosphere”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Ate at La Vigna in Oregon, IL in February 2012 with my husband. We come here often and enjoy the non-hurried pace of service and warm atmosphere of the out of the way restaurant. it is certainly off the beaten path, but well worth the drip. The bar makes its own sangria which I highly recommend-very good. Also, the restaurant features a variety of steak, seafood, and pork specials each night in addition to their regular Italian menu. They are always very busy and our food is always served piping hot. It's not a cheap place -plan on spending $15-$25 per entree (some a little more, some a little less), but well worth the large portions and quality of food that you will get in return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovevacations09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We read about the restaurant in a local magazine and it sounded great. Our innkeeper also said it was one of the best around, and she was right. The menu had variety, and there were numerous specials. I had veal tips with portobello mushrooms in a chianti sauce over linguine, and it was wonderful. I would definitely return when I'm in the area.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank 3klompen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLINOIS
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Italian and Steaks”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is a wonderful place to eat a relaxed meal. Italian, Steaks and special dishes. Make sure to get reservations

Helpful?
Thank IWINC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Il.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice Restaurant and great food.”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Very nice Italian Restaurant. We love the way the building was refurbished to create the Italian atmosphere. Great food also.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank talkishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vigna also viewed

 

Been to La Vigna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing