We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven”
Review of Chateau Hostacov

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau Hostacov
Ranked #1 of 1 Hostacov B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We went there for a weekend I was absolutely not expecting anything like this. The staff is very friendly and tolerant, rooms are tastefully decorated with gorgeous antique furniture. We have tried Africa room, Verona room and the white suite room. All of them make you feel like living in your own Chateau. The best thing about this place is the food. The cook should be paid in gold.
After our first visit in spring, we wanted to try it again in summer... which was not a good idea. The hotel was filled with some kind of people who won a huge discount or something ... and it took the atmosphere a bit down, the staff did not pay too much attention to us, the discount people were rude, ... (that is why I give only four stars). Later, we were told that this discount lasts only till autumn, so hopefully it got better. This spring we are about to try it again ... because the first experience was really out of this world.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dauferius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 68 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2011

Thanks to Vojta and Meagan for a fantastic few nights at their wonderful chateau. We found Chateau Hostacov online, and were looking forward to staying somewhere off the beaten track in the Czech countryside. We couldn't have found a better place. The Chateau is set on private grounds, surrounded by forest and an amazing view of the rolling hills at the back. We were checked in to our room which was set up with period furniture, giving the room an authentic chateau feeling. We were overlooking a central courtyard where we later played Croquet in the evening. The service was impeccable and very friendly. All of our questions about the surrounding area were answered in detail by the owners who also live on site. It was very helpful having English speaking staff who also had a high level of knowledge about things to do all around Czech.
I honestly couldn't fault Chateau Hostacov on anything. Our entire stay was perfect from start to finish. Can't wait to come back again and spend some more time!

Room Tip: Our courtyard view room was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 000pete1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Very nice surrounding and the service, amongst the woods and near Kutna Hora, for a special or relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiliK0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

As part of a visit to our son who is living temporarily in Prague, we rented a car and drove off into Bavaria and Moravia for three days. My wife said: "Wouldn't it be fun if we could stay in a Czech castle?" We found Chateau Hostacov online and made a reservation for that same night. Hostacov is not a castle, exactly, but it's the next best thing. The other reviewers captured our sentiments quite nicely, so I will add here the absolutely welcome surprise of delicious, gourmet food. A magnificent cream of carrot soup (I don't even care much for carrots), and a stuffed chicken of the sort we did not find elsewhere in our travels. Breakfast was simple -- scrambled eggs and ham, but the eggs were cooked to perfection, creamy and delightful. Breakfast also is accompanied by a nice array of pastries, bread, cheeses, and fruits. All served in a 20-foot high ceiling dining room guarded by a full-scale model of a knight in shining armor.

We arrived only a couple of days after the inn opened for the season, and so we had the place all to ourselves! We wandered the halls and slept comfortably, again, under that 20-foot ceiling.

Wotja and his family obviously have made a long-term commitment to make the Chateau a destination. The place will be full in the summer as it was last season, so don't chance a last-minute reservation as we did!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommyg2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We found Chateau Hostacov on Booking.com while looking for a speial place
to stay while visiting Kutna Hora in Czech Republic. Finding the place was a little difficult, but once found, we realized that we had entered a fairy tale where we were King and Queen of the castle!

We were greeted at the door by the owner, a young man who, together with his wife, is putting his heart and soul into restoring the chateau . The building itself was very impressive and decorated in period style. The rooms were enormous and the surroundings green and luscious...just begging for a walk!

Our room, besides being large, and with all the comforts of home, had a modern, tiled bathroom which was immaculately clean. The window opened out over
a babbling brook and the sounds of nature were wonderful to listen to while resting and reading. There was fresh fruit, water and coffe/tea waiting for us upon arrival.

The dining room was gorgeous and even though we had a car, we chose to come back and eat at the chateau. The food was well-prepared, home-cooked and warming to the soul. The recommended wines were also delicious. You can even get breakfast served in bed if you order in advance! There were not many people staying there at the time, so we were sometimes alone in the dining room, which made us feel even more royal. The included breakfast was servediin the dining room and included everything needed to prepare you for a day of adventure.

The other facilities are a library/reading room, a well-quiped game room/gym, an air-conditioned film-viewing room,a small swimming pool for those who enjoy a dip in the morning, and bicycles which can be rented for trips into the countryside.

The owner was very knowledgable and eager to share the history of the place with us and give us all kinds of advice as to what to do, where to go and even where to park fo free. I feel that he did everything in his power to make us feel like honored guests in his "home"

This wonderful refuge would be a good place for just about anyone, young, old, families with children, romantic holidays, people looking for peace and quie...they have something for everyone. We will return again and we wish the owners the best in their
on-going endeavor to bring the castle back to its former glory!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissDRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We had a fantastic time where we were treated with first class service. From arrival we were made to feel welcome and at home.We were upgraded to a room that was huge and beautifully set out. The separate bath and toilet was also a plus. There was a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us. The bed was very comfortable and king size.The meals were exquisite as we ate dinner and breakfast here. The service was first class. The games room and cinema were also a welcoming feature. You could hire a bike to travel the countryside at a very reasonable rate. The garden and forest provided a great walk after tea. There was also a grand tour of the chateau. A great base for a week or so at excellent afordable prices.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank stanly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

It's not often these days where I wake up in a massive, stately room, with the sun beaming through huge bay windows and all you can hear is the trickle of a waterfall and the sound of the forest waking up. So far removed from my working life in London, this was exactly the place I need to go to, to relax and just completely download and unwind.

The highlight for me was being able to see how much history there was in the area, and to be in such idyllic surrounds but still fairly close to the centre of Prague. Visiting the fully amazing Zleby castle just up the road really gives an amazing perspective when you then go back to sleep in a similar structure.

In short, highly recommended. You won't find a better nights sleep anywhere!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkspidermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Hostacov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hostacov

Address: Hostacov 59, Hostacov 58282, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Central Bohemian Region > Hostacov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hostacov
Price Range: $79 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chateau Hostacov 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Hostacov is a renaissance chateau hidden away in the centre of the Czech Republic. We offer accommodation in original rooms with period furniture in a very relaxed atmosphere. We are nestled away in our own park which guarantees you peace, quiet and serenity. Meanwhile the fairytale Zleby castle is only 5km away, and UNESCO heritage listed Kutna Hora is 15 min away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Hostacov reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing