We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super cuteness.”

Philippine Tarsier and Wildlife Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.00*
and up
Private Bohol Day Tour with Loboc River Cruise and Lunch
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Corella
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The sanctuary a property of Philippine Tarsier Foundation which primary mission is to save the Philippine Tarsier, its habitat and other wildlife.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Super cuteness.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Just fell in love with these tiny critters.
For the tiny entrance fee, you really get close up to these little monkeys. They don't seem to be phased by humans at all.
Just respect the no flash request.
Much better than expected. Thank you.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TelboyofPeckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    196
    73
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tarsier Sanctuary Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

These delightful creatures are nocturnal. On our visit there was constant noise and clicking to try to wake the tarsiers so that photographs could be taken showing their wonderful huge eyes. Even though guides were close no one tried to stop this. I am sure this must be so stressful for these tiny creatures as they are known to commit suicide when continually stressed I believe that more control should be on visitor behavior. So if you are going to visit please take care how you treat them.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanniemaryc, Manager at Philippine Tarsier and Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you so much for the review. And yes, you are right, the tarsiers need silence. The noise is very stressful to them as they are nocturnal and the guides and tourist must never come to close as this would disturb them.

Just to clarify, was this visit in Corella? Or in the other place at Loboc?

Because Philippine Tarsier Foundation, inc is located in Corella and we make sure things like that, mentioned above (like making lots of noise to wake the tarsiers for the camera) not to happen.

But if it is in Loboc, then, we are not in any way connected with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyogle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tarsier Wildlife Sanctuary a must while on Bohol.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I went there with a friend 6/11/12, and found it to be all i expected and more..Of course the tarsiers are nocturnal so not likely to be very lively during the day, but our guide took us to 12 of the little creatures and explained all he could and answered any questions we had, and was very patient as we took photos of every one. I am looking forward to the new international airport on Bohol so i can go back to see these little creatures again!!! Thank you so much for your hospitality the day we were there and a very special thanks to our guide, who although offered a tip, refused to take it, instead asked me to donate my tip to the tarsiers, which i did!!! (actually now i am not even sure this is the one we went to...we went to one in Loboc) but no matter where it was, seeing these little monkeys (even asleep) is a privilege.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shtaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
217 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“worth seeing the cute Tarsiers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

It's my second time to see them and unlike 10 years ago, you can't hold tarsiers anymore, because they get stressed and apparently commit suicide (according to our guide). You can take pictures but they don't allow flash photography.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ex-globetrottingbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
354 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“loco over tarsiers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I just love the experience seeing tarsiers in flesh, discover how mini they are (they looked so big on textbooks =)) and their habitat. I like also the idea that they have this photo shop wherein they will take pictures of you and the tarsier upclose. You can even have the tarsier on your palm if you want to =)

I hope the people behind this habitat will continue on their job well done and encourage locals to visit the sanctuary for the continuance of the sanctuary for our next next generation.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shan_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanniemaryc, Manager at Philippine Tarsier and Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you so much for the visit Anne. In behalf of the foundation, i'd like to thank and inform you that, your visit help much as all proceeds go to the conservation of the Philippine Tarsiers!

Hope to see you and your friends and family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philippine Tarsier and Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Bohol Island, Bohol Province
 
Tagbilaran City, Bohol Island
Panglao Island, Bohol Province
 

Been to Philippine Tarsier and Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing