We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic country house”
Review of Langford Fivehead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Langford Fivehead
Ranked #1 of 2 Fivehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic country house”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Absolutely charming country house. Rooms are beautifully decorated with a special country style touch. Olli & Becky are amazing host and always available to make your stay as wonderful as possible. The tennis court nearby was an unexpected plus to do some sports after a boozy night.
Stunning view and great breakfast in the morning didn't want us to let go... Definitely a place to come back and spent a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supermeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
99
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have just returned from having a wonderful Easter Sunday lunch with my family at the Langford five head.The manor house is set in beautiful gardens. When we arrived we received a very warm welcome, we had our drink and canapés in a beautiful drawing room.we then had a wonderful 3 course lunch which was excellent,all 3 courses were delicious,very good price we will definitely be returning.Thankyou again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 767Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to The Langford restaurant and it just gets better. Very difficult to choose from such a fine menu and the food was sublime. From start to indulgent finish the dishes were works of art and so delicious. It won't be long before this place gets a Michelin star or 2. We still can't believe we can dine so well for such a reasonable price. Ollie and Rebecca are delightful hosts and really make for a relaxing evening. It's so nice to find somewhere of this calibre without being pretentious. Already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: If you can, ask for Chef's table. It's fascinating watching Chef Ollie produce his works of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippadidoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

The whole experience is exceptional. We are lucky enough to live 12 minutes away but what a find! The service wonderful, food sublime and ambiance second to none. The couple that run it are absolutely lovely and the building an interesting mix of historic with all the contemporary luxuries. Can't wait to go back with family and friends to share ths gem. Not cheap but worth every penny.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Langford Fivehead is a beautiful house and we received a warm welcome from hosts, Ollie and Rebecca. Service was superb and our room was very comfortable. Star of the show was the dinner which was excellent and very reasonably priced. If we lived locally we would definitely be regular diners here. There was a party of six staying overnight and we were the only couple so we did feel a little awkward. I think this would be a great place to come with friends.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BabRig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed an overnight stay here with friends. We relied on SatNav to find the house as no helpful signs up in the area. The house itself is beautiful; tastefully decorated, mercifully eschewing the ubiquitous chintz; and has a warm, relaxed atmosphere. Our room (and bed) was very comfortable, although I might have preferred a pillow rather than the bolster provided.

The evening menu offers three choices per course with an emphasis on ingredients rather than fuss. Our whole party was immensely satisfied with our choices. The selection for breakfast was also simplified but happily includes porridge, and was a delightful start to the day.

Much of the success of our stay must go to our hosts Becky & Ollie, and the team. They were visible but not intrusive and really gave the feel of this being a country house party. I would certainly recommend a stay here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wisewoman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Ives
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Delicious gourmet food and warm welcome in a tranquil haven of comfort and harmony. Our mid week break was perfect. The landscaped gardens are delightful. The snowdrops and hellebores were abundant and beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_and_A_at_St_Ives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fivehead
3.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
5.3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
8.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
7.0 mi away
Devonshire Arms
Devonshire Arms
#1 of 2 in Langport
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langford Fivehead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langford Fivehead

Property: Langford Fivehead
Address: Langford Fivehead Lower Swell, Fivehead TA3 6PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Fivehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fivehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langford Fivehead 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful manor house set in the heart of the Somerset levels, but conveniently located for the A303 or M5. Perfect for quiet enjoyment of the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Langford Fivehead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langford Fivehead Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing