We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Periwinkle Cottage

Periwinkle Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Periwinkle Cottage
Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Periwinkle Cottage
Bedroom
Bath with electric shower
Bathroom
Dining area
Kitchen
Lounge area
Open plan living area,showing stairs leading up to bedroom and bathroom.
A welcome tea on guests arrival.
Cottage patio, steps leading up to first garden.
Summer- house in second garden.
View from summer-house.
Showing guests garden shed in second garden.
View from the top of second garden, looking down towards the cottages.
Stogumber Village Stores and Post Office
The White Horse Inn
Saint Mary`s Norman Church
Swan House on road leading to the Village Stores, The White Horse and the Church.
Stogumber village with the Quantock Hills beyond.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stogumber, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brian A
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed October 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have been coming to periwinkle for 15 years and have always felt that the moment you walk through the door you are coming home .always welcoming and home made scones ready on a tray.the cottage is spotlessly clean and everything you might need is there, even down to spare buttons.the owner is always quick to remedy any problems and whatever suggestions we have made have generally been implemented by our next visit we would recommend this cottage to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and homely feel
Liked least: Nothingqqq
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daffodil2...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautifully presented cosy cottage, full of charm.”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Periwinkle is a truly delightful country cottage, spacious for two, bright, light and tastefully modernized. We found it to be well equipped, clean and very comfortable. The welcome tea of home made scones in the garden was a great way to start our holiday. There are lots of walking guides, tourist information and OS maps of the Quantock Hills and Exmoor.
The gardens were pretty, well kept and tidy. The views from the elevated summer-house and patio, looking out over the village and Quantock Hills were a real pleasure. This is a peaceful village location, with the White Horse Inn, PO and shop being a great asset to our holiday. We loved Periwinkle Cottage and will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness and welcoming atmosphere of Periwinkle Cottage.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trishased
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely part of the world”
Reviewed October 11, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed at periwinkle cottage and were very impressed with this beautiful little village which is very peaceful and relaxing, there are plenty of things to do and we were blessed with beautiful weather. Enjoyed using the west sommerset railway, which we travelled on to visit Dunster castle, well worth the mile long walk to the quaint little station, it was a real trip down memory lane of how trains used to be. The village pub is well worth a visit , with hearty pub food and very good value for money also has a lovely relaxing atmosphere. If you visit stogumber do use the village shop as it caters for every day needs and do try the cakes they are amazing, very tasty had a lemon drizzle cake which was "to die for".
The cottage its self is ok and includes everything you would expect to find in a holiday let, however we did have a couple of issues, firstly regarding parking we arrived on a motorbike and found that we would have to park on the roadside, the problem was that we had specifically mentioned to the owner when booking that we were travelling on a motorbike and asked if there was secure parking, she had told us we could get the bike up the pathway to the back of the cottage, this was in fact impossible, so we the had to leave the bike on the roadside, unsecure and out of sight of the cottage. As motorcyclists secure parking is very important, so we contacted the owner on arrival, about our parking concerns and were advised to speak to neighbours to see if possible to park on their property something we didn't feel comfortable doing as holiday makers visiting for the first time. Also hot water was an issue, running the hot water tap caused a very loud noise, which would only stop after running the cold tap for a considerable time (there is a notice advising of this problem ,the owner suggests boiling the kettle for washing up etc), it would be worthwhile sorting this issue as hot running water is a basic requirement in holiday lets and also advising potential holiday makers of this issue at the time of booking. Unfortunately having travelled 300 miles I really wanted a bath, it took quite a long time to stop the noise and I daren't use the bath again in case the noise disturbed the neighbours . However as we were there for a week we were determined to enjoy our stay, which when out and about we did, visiting Porlock, Lynton and Lynmouth and Hestercoombe Gardens , beautiful and so relaxing, also Dunster castle is worth visiting very impressive from the road and very easy to spend the day exploring the castle, gardens and medieval village.
On the whole we had a good week exploring this lovely part of the world would stay again but not at periwinkle cottage

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2014
I met the guests whilst gardening at the cottage on the Friday. They were full of praise for the cottage, it`s contents, location, and the peace and quiet. I apologised regarding the motor bike parking. A motor cyclist had stayed before and parked his bike off road, maybe his bike had been more manoeuvrable.The guests said parking on the road had not caused a problem, and had certainly not spoilt their holiday.

The plumber will be correcting the recent water noise problem in the coming weeks, now that the cottage is closed for the season. It was at his request to leave it until the closure in case problems arise. Guests rarely use the bath as most prefer the efficiency of the electric shower.

As the guests were so full of praise for the cottage when I met them, I feel this unflattering review is due to what happened after their departure.

The cottage was left in a very dirty state, taking me 5 hours to clean which is excessive. A fork belonging to a set costing £77 was missing, which I eventually found in their refuse for disposal! I do not charge a refundable fee against "breakages, loss or extra cleaning". It is based on trust that the cottage and it`s contents will be cared for, and left clean and tidy as laid out in the Conditions of Hire.

I did write to the couple about the latter, which has obviously influenced the writing of this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepl0w
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Away from it all, but within easy reach.”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Periwinkle Cottage is all that is promised from the location to the quality of the accommodation. It is within easy reach of Beautiful Exmoor and the coast which caters for all from gaudy seaside resort to lovely seaside villages. The cottage is very modern inside with a superb `library` of local guides. For me the only reason it didn`t make 5 stars was the parking situation which is awkward but just about bearable. Well worth a stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very quiet
Liked least: Parking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing