We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Country Pub”

The White Horse Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stogumber
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Horse Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Stogumber B&B and Inns
Royal Wootton Bassett
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Country Pub”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This relates to the pub food and drinks (the pub) and not the accomodation as we did not stay the night! The White Horse almost defines the perfect country pub. Unpretentious, friendly, good service, good food and drinks. Not much more to say except that my wife and I had a fantastic meal and chat with the locals (and their dogs). We enjoyed our drinks, our food, the atmosphere, the decor, the service and the value for money. We hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichMaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The food was amazing when went for an evening meal. The pub has a great feel to it and has some superb photos of old Stogumber on the walls. The owner and barman is lovely and full of information. Stogumber itself is LOVELY :) the dog was also greatly accomodated and was given great attention and a biscuit :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dovelets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were fortunate enough to eat at The White Horse Inn earlier this week when we stayed overnight at Wick House, another lovely find in Somerset!
Although we arrived ten minutes before the kitchen closed at 9pm, we didn't feel hurried as we read through the extensive menu available. The range of cuisine for a country pub such as this is impressive and, although we are not fussy eaters, I have to say, there must have been something to suit any palate.
Ken, the barman, was happy to forgo the cider he had poured himself for a change to 'Cornish Rattler' once I had tasted this exquisite cider and selected it instead! Ken is welcoming and we enjoyed great, relaxed banter with him and the locals as we took our seats in the restaurant. The pub is very cosy and fascinating old photos of Stogumber adorn the walls, adding to the charm of this traditional pub.
We ordered a lamb shank and a chicken in tarragon sauce and these arrived in good time. Both meals, accompanied by generous vegetable portions,were divine and so filling, we felt unable to order a dessert this time. The filter coffee we ordered however was excellent and finished off our meal perfectly.
I recommend this pub to any traveller looking for a warm welcome, great food and a relaxed ambience in a delightful village.
Thank you, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieglue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Wonderful find! Tucked away in the West Somerset countryside is this wonderful hamlet of Stogumber. It has a small station which only has steam trains running on it (West Somerset Railway). The Inn is very homely run by Gina and her husband for a number of years. My hubby and I had book a room for the night and were very pleased with the clean, comfortable accommodation we were given. They have two rooms that they let out, one double and one twin. The food in the pub is of very good quality and variety. They also sell a good variety of locally made beer and ale. We were made to feel very welcome by everyone, very hospitable and didn't feel we stood out like 'sore thumbs' because we were not locals! Thank you, we will be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A lovely setting is a gorgeous village on the edge of the moor. A nice pub, with a good food menu. With daily specials. The lily cider must be tried, as is the beer.

The service was nice an friendly, food was presented well, and very tasty. With some gorgeous puddings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent food and beer. Polite and hard working staff. Lovely small village on the edge of exmoor. Highly recommend a visit. Great value for money Very Homely You can take dogs. Brilliant atmosphere. Some very pleasant walks in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wickford
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from staying 5 nights B&B at this most excellent establishment, in a delightful village.
Our double room was comfortable and bright with two windows of differing aspects, one showing cottages and fields with sheep, and the other opposite St. Mary’s Church (a “must visit” church). Plenty of room also for everything we needed including our yorky’s bed. Access to their two guest rooms was via quite steep steps outside the pub, not recommended for anyone with walking difficulties.
Breakfasts were cooked to order and served in the pub’s pristine dining room. Omitting the varied offering of cereals we ordered a “full English” on our first morning. This saw us through the next 12 hours or so before we found ourselves tempted by one of their excellent EVENING meals. For subsequent breakfasts we reduced quantities but we were never tempted to lunch during the entire four day stay ! The variety and quality of evening meals was such that we found no necessity to eat elsewhere. Excellent wines, beers, ciders etc provided the perfect accompaniment to these meals.
Everywhere was spotlessly clean, and all the staff were friendly, very helpful and eager to please. The locals were the same whether we met them first thing in the morning whilst walking our dog or last thing at night before retiring. We should also mention the village post office and general store next door to the “White Horse” which had anything you might need from birthday cards to bread and tooth brushes to bottled local ale, plus readily available cash during post office hours.
From the main trunk roads all roads leading to the village of Stogumber are winding and narrow (some VERY narrow), which makes for very interesting driving at times - but trouble free. Stogumber is ideally placed for visiting all the sights of Somerset too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MulderWickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Property: The White Horse Inn
Address: High Street | Stogumber, Stogumber, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Stogumber
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stogumber
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing