We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in an Enjoyable area”
Review of Wick House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wick House
Ranked #1 of 3 Stogumber B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed here for a long weekend in August and used Wick House as a base to explore the National Park. On arrival we were greeted cheerful with cake and tea after a long drive. Breakfast was very nice and gave plenty of fuel for the days hiking and exploring. The town is very quaint and quiet so a great place to relax and kick back. The place has character and rooms are tidy but would ask for a room with with shower rather then bath if that's your preference.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shari_Maciej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 77 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

Stayed at Wick House at the end of July. Found the surroundings very pleasant and clean.
The owners are very helpful and willing to cater for your every need. Definitely recommend Wick House to friends. Thank you very much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rach23el
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Wick House was booked for us by friends so we had no idea of what to expect on arrivial. I can now tell you Wick House is an idyllic property set in the beautiful village of Stogumber and more importantly is within a minute's walk of the local and friendly pub. We were greated by Philip (husband of the husband and wife team) who showed us our room and then took us to the homely lounge with an open fire place and plenty of magazines for tea and fresh home made cake which was great. Our room was well appointed, had a nice outlook and spacious bathroom, no shower but who's in a rush on holiday? The choice for breakfast was ample, very tasty (thank you Sheila) and not rushed. What a welcoming and relaxed place to stay, I would describe Wick House as a small country hotel rather than a B&B and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestLondonLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

lovely place to stay away from the towns, great value for money . The food is fantastic and plenty. would stay again if i am in the area, clean and tidy at all times. always felt like home and made very welcome.

THANK YOU FOR A NICE STAY
DAVE B

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonetrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Within a very short time after being greeted on our arrival by mine hosts Phillip and Sheila Gibbs my sister, my partner and myself were enjoying a welcoming cup of tea and complimentary cakes on the terrace. A few days later on our return from touring Somerset and Devon we were again welcomed in similar fashion.
I myself have stayed in many excellent hotels throughout many Countries and have no hesitation on recommending Wick House and it's quiet rural location. Who knows if this is one for you it's just possible we may meet over and ejnoy some of their excellent dinners!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlgernonLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

My husband arranged a break a Wick House as a surprise for my 30th birthday. As we were getting nearer to the house we were already admiring the surrounding countryside and the village of Stogumber is very picturesque. The house itself is very pretty, with lovely gardens and our room was a good size (big enough to fit our travel cot with ease). Sheila and Philip are helpful and welcoming hosts, also helping to find accomodation for my sisters as Wick House was fully booked. Breaksfast was tasty and generous. The only slight negative was the lack of a shower in our room or anything to wash hair with, although I'm sure we would have been given a jug had we asked!
I spent 2 nights in the local pub, one was very enjoyable in a quiet way, the other completely the opposite as it was a kareoke night. I don't know where all the people suddenly appeared from but we had a brilliant night, all the locals were very friendly.
In the local area we can reccommend the steam railway, a trip to Dunster, and (for families) the Exmoor Falconry Animal Farm in Allerford near Porlock, which kept us amused for the whole day.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ettiebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

We have recently returned from having a delightful break at Wick House a few miles from Dunster.
We were introduced to the hosts where nothing was too much trouble for our our comfort during our stay.
The house is from period times and has been sympathetically restored to a very high standard in keeping with modern times
The bedrooms have been attractively finished and one cannot speak too highly of the food provided.
The village of Stogumber is better described as "Chocolate Box"with an interesting Church an Inn and also PostOffice/shop.
We took a train trip on the West Somerset Railway joining the train at Stogumber Station about a mile distant.The steam train brought back childhood memories of a distant past, a walk around the station premises whilst waitng for the train is a must.
We would suggest a trip to Dunster and if walking is your interest the Brendon Hills and Quantocks are nearby.
It is our intention to make a return visit to Wick House in the near future..

Mr & Mrs Brundle Exminster Exeter Devon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Widescreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stogumber
4.9 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
2.9 mi away
Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
The Windmill Inn
The Windmill Inn
#11 of 53 in Taunton
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
698 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#5 of 14 in Watchet
66 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cedar House
Cedar House
#1 of 1 in Old Cleeve
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wick House

Address: Brook Street, Stogumber TA4 3SZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Stogumber
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stogumber
Price Range: $101 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wick House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wick House is a charming old family house in a picturesque West Somerset village.Situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Stogumber nestles between the Quantock and Brendon Hills of Exmoor National Park. A warm welcome awaits you from hosts, Sheila and Philip. We offer a friendly atmosphere and a high standard of accommodation.Disabled accommodation with wheelchair access is available.Breakfasts and evening meals are cooked on the premises using the best local foods available. Try Wick House for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Wick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing