We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful quiet bit of Somerset”
Review of Wick House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wick House
Ranked #1 of 3 Stogumber B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful quiet bit of Somerset”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for only two nights, far too short a stay. We found it by pure chance and what a gem. The house, village and surrounds are all superb. Our hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Tea and cakes on arrival! Breakfast big enough to feed three! And proper sized double beds. Does it get any better?
If you're looking for a relaxing environment with masses of walking, gentle, strenuous and hard, and other stuff as well then Stogumber is a perfect location and Wick House is one of the best B&Bs I've stayed in.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Sheila & Phillip are excellent Hosts. We were greeted with fresh "real" Coffee & Tea and Home - Made biscuits in the cosy lounge.Lovely basket of Refreshment goodies in the Bedroom - spoilt for choice and more biscuits. Great breakfast made to individual order with plenty of fresh fruit salad and more fresh Coffee & Tea.Large TV in lounge as well as small TVs in Rooms.Local Pub great too - within walking distance.The bed was very comfy too.

Room Tip: Go with their advice. You can view all the Rooms on their website to help you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

wow what a wonderful place this is,a lovely village with very friendly people. Had a great stay in room 1 only sorry we did not have time to return - but come next year will be back!
Sheila and Philip are very good hosts cannot praise the B&B,village,people and of cause the only pub.

Room Tip: Room 1 huge and beds singles but so comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I just can't say enough about this B&B in Stogumber. I have never met people more wonderful than Shelia and Phillip the owners.From the moment we arrived they went out of their way to make our stay memorable. My sister and I, from Orlando, Florida were on a quest to trace our ancestors from Combe Sydenham, which is near Stogumber, and had no idea how we were going to get there. With Sheila and Phillips help they arranged a meeting with the current owners,and we were invited to the house. We never imagined in all our life that this would happen. We loved our stay at Wicks Lodge, it's clean, comfortable, everything and more you could wish for.The breakfast is the best ever. I loved this village and the people,especially the owners of Wicks. Thank You Shelia & Phillip for everything. Janet and Frances

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Return visit to the village, first time at this B&B. Wonderfully comfy place, excellent hosts, great breakfast, gorgeous village. Want to go back

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bossybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I usually have at least one negative thing to stay because nobody gets it 100% right but I can honestly say that this B&B is spot on. The village of Stogumber is magical and our stay was perfect. Sheila and Phillip are 2 of the best people I have ever met. All smiles and willing to help in any way- down to doing a load of wash for us! Our room was very comfortable and we slept well. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices- beat the hell out of any hotel breakfast you might get (and pay a fortune for.) I could not praise this B&B any more if I tried. Perfect

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marylanddweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. Cheerfully greeted, groundfloor room which was great for my grandad who couldnt walk up stairs very well.
Room was sizeable, clean and tidy - well equipped too.
Very warm welcome by hosts, looked after very well throughout the stay - and a breakfast to keep you fuelled for the day!
I would recommend anyone stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KieranPilsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stogumber
4.9 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
4.0 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
670 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#5 of 14 in Watchet
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hartwood House
Hartwood House
#9 of 55 in Taunton
107 reviews
4.1 mi away
Washford Inn
Washford Inn
#2 of 5 in Washford
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wick House

Property: Wick House
Address: Brook Street, Stogumber TA4 3SZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Stogumber
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stogumber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wick House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wick House is a charming old family house in a picturesque West Somerset village.Situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Stogumber nestles between the Quantock and Brendon Hills of Exmoor National Park. A warm welcome awaits you from hosts, Sheila and Philip. We offer a friendly atmosphere and a high standard of accommodation.Disabled accommodation with wheelchair access is available.Breakfasts and evening meals are cooked on the premises using the best local foods available. Try Wick House for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Wick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing