We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub, Unique qualities and awesome Food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hallatrow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Station Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hallatrow B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2011

The Old Station has a real 'oldy worldy' charm to its main bar and very special railway carriage restaurant which really does have an amazing atmosphere about it with high back comfortable chairs and authentic finishings. The owners Debbie and Neville have made a huge effort to add extra charm through their menu (which is very extensive with various specials and huge american style portions), Signature dish is a Kilo of pork, highly reccomended. The food really is top notch, far and way the best for this area and better than most restaurants we visit in the nearby cities of Bath and Bristol.

Recently among the existing qualities the owners have added a decked area to the rear which leads to an amazingly large green and best of all a new crazy golf course to the side of the pub....what more could anyone ask for. We have eaten here as a couple, with friends and with family, very friendly and welcoming, loads of querky locals to giggle at too.
weve been about 5-8 times!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaysense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for The Old Station Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 425 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2011

...the day we went to The Old Station Inn. We were in Bath moving our son from one University lodging to another and the three of us stayed and ate at The Old Station Inn. The family room was enormous and very comfortable. Debbie apologised for some cracked tiles in the bathroom - it is due for a refurb. Other than that, it was lovely.
We ate in the carriage which was like stepping back in time - even down to the music. It was delightful. The food was delicious (especially to the son who's used to student food!), the service was good and we felt unhurried. It was very relaxing. Would definitely stay again if son's floor not available!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairsWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

A very warm welcome on arrival - excellent service throughout. The room in the tasteful outbuildings was spacious and comfortable. The pub itself was very welcoming and had a truly homely atmosphere. The pinnacle was the dinning experience. Food was served in a delightful old railway carriage in the garden, creating a delightful ambience.

It looked promising when the chef was seen going into his own greenhouse/ vegetable patch to collect the proiduce for the evenings foofd!
Service was faultless and the food delightful, I have definitely paid much more for inferior meals. There was variety and imagination in the menu, and was cooked to perfection. It's not very often that you can say that dining here was a real experience.
Thanks to all that made it a memorable stay

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kbach61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

What a little gem this place is. I was bought a voucher for this hotel via Groupon as a present. On arriving was met by Debbie who was most welcoming, and had been the many times we had spoken on the phone before i arrived. We were advised of all the things happening at the inn. We dined in the carriage, and felt i could have dressed in something in the orient express era. The food well what can i say. I am a very fussy eater, and after being sent the menu, i rang Debbie with concerns. She was most helpful and even offered to accomodate me when i arrived. On arriving there, i found something to eat off their menu, and wasn't disappointed. large portions and beautifully cooked by a top class chef. I even said to Debbie after the meal that i felt i could go into the kitchen and try anything. We and my sister and her partner who arrived a few days later stated this was the best food we have even tasted. I know they won pub of the year last year and rightly so. Debbie and Neville are a credit to the inn. Their customer service is second to none, they are welcoming and hospitable. I sat in the corner of the bar after finishing our meal and after 10 mins sat with Debbie and the locals as i felt like i ve been going there for years, and it was my local. The bar was amazing, every time you looked around you found something new to look at. I left thinking i made a friend, and am looking forward to going back. I recommend everybody to try this inn. The experience is second to none

Room Tip: Try this hotel. You won't be disappointed
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stopped at the old court and were recommended to eat here.

For dinner we had booked to eat at the Old Station Inn just down the road, we dined in the railway carriage and the whole evening from the food, to the service, to the atmosphere was incredible! Defnitly go there if you want a scrumptious meal and lovely people. The desserts are to die for especialy the lemon tart! We were served by Lucy who was lovely and the owner took her time to chat to us about anything and everything, it really was given the personal touch!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tennicktobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Stayed at the Old Station Inn last night with my wife. All I can say is that this place is fantastic. The welcome from all the staff was great. The drinks were varied and the decor quirky but charming. Our room was large, clean and comfortable and led to a very nice nights sleep. This sleep may well have been aided by the fantastic meal and wine that we were served in the Carriage restaurant. To say the food was excellent would be an understatement. Fantastic starter, mains and desserts. If you have the chance to eat here then don't hesitate. you will not be disappointed!!!!!

Room Tip: Look out for Groupon Deals.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

A fantastic welcome from staff and owners Deb & Neville. We decided to break up our journey with an overnight stay on our way up to Gatwick. We took the opportunity to dine in the carriage restaurant and were not dissapointed. The meal was fantastic. A super start to our holiday. A real country pub feel with a welcome to match. Thank you all for giving our holiday a fab kick start. With the addition of the new crazy golf it makes a great places for couples and families alike.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spiceyrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallatrow
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
1.9 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
680 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Carpenters Arms
The Carpenters Arms
#1 of 1 in Stanton Wick
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 32 in Bath
189 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Parsonage
The Old Parsonage
#1 of 1 in Farrington Gurney
177 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Hunters Rest Inn
The Hunters Rest Inn
#1 of 4 in Clutton
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Station Inn

Address: The Old Station Wells Road | Hallatrow, Hallatrow, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Hallatrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hallatrow
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Old Station Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing