We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Harold's House B&B, Cheddar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harold's House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Draycott
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harold's House B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Draycott B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Harold's House B&B, Cheddar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Such a beautiful house! And Patty is a lovely host! We felt very at home here last weekend. Very spacious sitting room, kitchen and stunning garden! Amazing breakfast! Very comfy bed, and powerful shower. Would definitely recommend, especially is you like dogs, the house is named after Harold, Patty's labrador.

Room Tip: We had one of the double rooms, very comfy, sea theme! My brother and his girlfriend had a very spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineL997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

What a great start to a night stop after 60 miles of cycling on a hot summmer's day: tea and cake - brilliant! Lovely friendly welcome, nice room, wonderful refreshing shower in spotless bathroom, super comfy bed and the following morning a fabulous breakfast to power us up the gorge to the Mendip summit. Rodney Stoke Inn (15-20 minutes walk) serves top-notch ales and pub food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldNick49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a really wonderful place to stay - everything is perfect, spotless, friendly and just lovely, would really recommend, much, much nicer than a premier inn! Stayed with my husband and children when visiting for an event nearby and was delighted to have found such a gorgeous place - there is a lovely pub just down the road for dinner too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

my partner and i stayed here end of may when we had the most brilliant hot weather,we are seasoned bikers and have stayed all over england & europe so we have had the pleasure of staying in many B & Bs over the years but i have to say we have now found one of sommerset's hidden jems! Harold's House is beautifully furnished, clean and has an instant relaxing feeling like you've just come home,patty the owner welcoms you into her home like you've been friends for years and of course so does Harold the most adorable golden retreaver dog. we stayed in the double en suite which was spotless,cool,and the most comfortable bed dressed in crisp white linnen,Breakfast was fab again to a high standard (even down to propper butter knives which i perticularly loved) patty makes sure you have all you need and then some.Any bikers wishing to use this b&b will be happy to know that there is ample off road parking & patty will open her garage to use if required,BIKERS DEF WELCOME, only 3mins down the main road from cheddar and just behind the mendip hills.

Room Tip: biker friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoom42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We have never stayed in such a lovely B&B, it was spotless, comfortable and the welcome from Patty was second to none. An ideal spot for exploring the area including the gorge and the seaside. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the ensuite sitting room - it is so spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night when going to a wedding nearby. The room we had was beautiful with a lovely en-suite bathroom. The welcome was warm and we were made to feel at home straight away. The service we received could not be faulted, tea and cakes on arrival and a fantastic cooked breakfast in the morning. The location is also great for Cheddar Gorge, Wells and the Mendip countryside. We will definitely stay here again when we next come to Somerset.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We can't rate Pattie and Harold's House highly enough. We have stayed here twice (in 2010 and 2011) whilst attending the British BMX Championships at Cheddar where our son races. We are about to book for a 3rd time for the 2012 race!! Pattie is incredibly welcoming and kind and we have always been made to feel totally at ease in her charming house. The choice at breakfast is truly mouth-watering and sets you up for the day nicely. All the bedrooms are furnished to a very high standard with lots of luxury bed linen, cushions and throws. Indeed – the quality of Harold’s House is far superior to many hotels we have stayed in throughout the world! We would have no hesitation in recommending a stay here and can't wait to return in 2012! Thanks Pattie, you (and Harold the dog!) are terrific hosts. Good luck to you for the future love from Tracy, Gary and Jamie Phillips.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AztecUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Draycott
3.2 mi away
Reservoir View Motel
Reservoir View Motel
#2 of 2 in Axbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nyland Manor
Nyland Manor
#5 of 11 in Cheddar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gordons Hotel
Gordons Hotel
#2 of 11 in Cheddar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bath Arms Hotel
Bath Arms Hotel
#1 of 11 in Cheddar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Westbury Cross House
Westbury Cross House
#1 of 2 in Westbury-sub-Mendip
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harold's House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harold's House B&B

Property: Harold's House B&B
Address: 5 The Binnings | Draycott Cheddar, Draycott BS27 3UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Draycott
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Draycott
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harold's House Luxury B&B. Upon arrival you will be greeted with a wag of the tail from Harold our dog and of course a warm welcome from his owners. All rooms are furnished to a very high standard with your comfort in mind. Set in an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and nestling at the foot of the Mendip Hills, the pretty village of Draycott offers an ideal base for exploring, walking and cycling. Come and take in the breath taking scenery of the Mendip hills and the Somerset levels. From Harold's House you have access to plenty of scenic walks from the Mendips to the Moors. Draycott is situated between the village of Cheddar and the historic cathedral city of Wells. If you are a pilot attending the Bristol Ground School we are just a 5 minute drive away by car. Ample and secure parking is available. Draycott is the ideal base from which to explore the nearby cities of Bath and Bristol which are approximately 25 miles away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing