We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mekong Riverside Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cai Be
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“go now”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I spent the last 3 days (originally booked 2) of my holiday here with my partner and another ouple and we were all delighted by our discovery. The setting is quite naturaistic, as can be can be seen from the accurate photos. The location next to the Mekng is fantastic and it is only 2 kilometres from Cai Bai. We explored the little town on the free hotel bikes and what it lacks in tourist facilities it repays in charm and authenticity - friendliest locals I came across.
The facilities are fine, maybe not quite 4 star but good enough for me. The bungelows are sup with air con, comfy beds and a delightful shower room. Not massive but adequate. All have balconies, which you can fish from.
Restaurant was good ad you should try their set menu with speciality fish and amazing sweet sticky rice served in a sort of pastry balloon. However, food did get a bit samey after 3 days. Pool was adequate if a bit plain. Service needs improvement insofar as lacked initiative and some language comprehension barriers. The GM is American so he should be able to sort this out.
We were very happy that the hotel was nearly empty but the GM reckons they are 70% tour operator booked next year. The spa is yet to open.

Room Tip: Lakeside bungalows cheaper and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 755martinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    79
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
49
109
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had the most amazing lunch here. The staff were superb. It's way out but fantastic location if you want to tour the Mekong delta and cai be is an amazing place to visit to see the real Vietnam.
The place was spotlessly clean and the staff so helpful.
River trip is a must do

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LandBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Influenced by reviews on Booking.com and Tripadvisor.com, we selected this resort for a 2-day stay and were not disappointed. We traveled by private car with driver, booked in HCMC. Nice location of the bungalows, directly along the Mekong river. Boat trips can be arranged by the hotel to visit the Cai Be floating market nearby. Bicycles are available at no charge. The reosrt has a nicely landscaped garden (with own organic production of fruits, vegetables and fish! used in the restaurant). Very friendly staff, although English language capability is limited and some patience required. Between our stay in Can Tho - Victoria Resort and the Mekong Riverside Resort, we preferred the latter, due to its location, natural surroundings, and better value for money. Cai Be village is some distance from the resort, about 20 minutes by bicycle, and the village is much smaller than Can Tho. The spa facility was not open during our stay. The swimming pool looked nice, but we did not use it.

Room Tip: Recommend to choose one of the riverside villas, close to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowPower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The resort is run very well by a hands-on GM who is always visible and around and very customer focused. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Location is great for experiencing the Mekong Delta and its surrounding. Food is very well presented and delicious. Great pool. Rooms are clean with several villas being directly on the river with great views and unforgettable sun sets. Overall an impeccable experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Helmut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This place is quite far off the beaten track but it is worth the detour. It is quite new (hence parts, like the spa, are a work in progress and the staff are just getting to grips with the horrors of the English language. The wifi is a bit wobbly) but it sits well in the landscape, right on the edge of the river, and surrounded by lovely trees and gardens. We had one of the bungalows on the river's edge so we had a grandstand view of the working river - boats and barges, large and small, 24/7 but not intrusive because the sound proofing works.
The pool is good, there are bikes and kayaks for the adventurous and trips out and about available. Food is fine and reasonably priced (although don't expect a cheap wine list - this far out wine has to travel a long way and bulk buy isn't an option).
Charles, the young American manager, is the only westerner in the village - and beyond - and he is working hard to bring in the visitors. Selfishly, we really enjoyed it at a very quiet moment!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallbearLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This past January, 2013 I desperately needed a break from the craziness of Hanoi where I was living at the time. I knew I wanted to head somewhere in southern Vietnam; somewhere with sunny skies, warm days, and a lot less people.
I'm not really even sure how I stumbled upon the Mekong Riverside Resort, but I am SO glad that I did!
The resort is tucked away in a tropical forest-like atmosphere, just a few miles from the small town of Cai Be (a very cool, non-touristy town). The minute I arrived I knew I would find the relaxation I was looking for. The bungalows all offered a view of either the Mekong River or of a beautiful lily pond that is surrounded by flowering plants and trees. The staff was very welcoming and helpful with all my questions and needs. At the time of my stay, the only westerners working (and living) there were Charles, the General Manager, and Courtney, the Marketing Manager, otherwise it was a completely Vietnamese staff - this, I really liked.
The resort offered free bikes to use if you would like to ride into the town of Cai Be (which I highly suggest), kayaks to use either on the pond or the river, and fishing poles to see how good you are at catching your own fish for dinner. I only used the bikes, and was lucky enough to be able to join the GM, Charles, on a ride into the town. Cai Be is not a tourist town at all, so you really get a feel of the "real" Vietnam. Amazing.
I was disappointed to learn that the spa was not up and going yet. They still needed to find a massage therapist, from what I understood. I was really looking forward to that, so that was a bummer, but was at least happy to see that their pool was inviting; I spent many hours at it's side.
The restaurant has a great atmosphere as well. It looks out onto the Mekong River, with interesting boats going by all the time. It was so relaxing to sit on the restaurant deck with a cocktail, watching the life of the Delta go by. The food was fab! I was never disappointed with anything that I ordered, and I was there for a full 7 days. The service was a bit lacking; the restaurant staff seeming like they really weren't sure what to do next - they really look perplexed quite often (however, always with smiles on their faces). Even tough I didn't mind this too much, I could see where some people might get a bit impatient with them. Apparently, much of the staff was still in training at that point, so that explained a lot. I actually was served the wrong dish a few times, like completely wrong, but decided to keep it anyway - and it would turn out to be delicious! Again, I could see how this may annoy some people, but I was just happy to be out of the craziness of Hanoi, and in this tropical paradise with people smiling at me, and the sun shining down on me....even if I had to wait too long to have the wrong dish served to me.
Even though I was there solo, it seemed like a great place for couples, and for families. I strongly recommend the Mekong Riverside Resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prataria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked a riverside bungalow, what a perfect way to experience the Mekong, we simply sat on the balcony and watched the people of the Mekong go about their daily routines.Our bungalow was beautifully decorated, clean, the attention to detail was incredible, and appreciated. The restaurant and staff were lovely, food was good and surprisingly inexpensive, the banana leaf salad was a hit. I would advise booking your floating market tour through the resort, we did, it was very professional & informative, they also took us through the local village. This place is an absolute credit to the management.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cai Be
19.0 mi away
The Island Lodge
The Island Lodge
#1 of 10 in My Tho
279 reviews
23.4 mi away
Ben Tre Riverside Resort
Ben Tre Riverside Resort
#3 of 11 in Ben Tre
75 reviews
23.2 mi away
Mekong My Tho Hotel
Mekong My Tho Hotel
#2 of 10 in My Tho
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mekong Lodge
Mekong Lodge
#1 of 3 in Cai Be
616 reviews
2.5 mi away
Happy Family Guesthouse
Happy Family Guesthouse
#2 of 14 in Vinh Long
50 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mekong Rustic Lodge
Mekong Rustic Lodge
#4 of 5 in Cai Be
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverside Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverside Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Mekong Riverside Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: Hoa Qui Ward, Hoa Khanh Subdistrict, Cai Be, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Tien Giang Province > Cai Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cai Be
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mekong Riverside Boutique Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mekong Riverside Resort is an environmentally friendly boutique resort located in the famous “floating market” town of Cai Be Vietnam, two hours south of Ho Chi Min City. Positioned directly on the Mekong River, guests are able to view and experience the local life of the Mekong Delta while enjoying all the unique amenities the resort has to offer. For example, on the property there is a 7-hectare garden that services the resorts Medley Restaurant, thus ensuring that only the freshest ingredients are offered to our guests during their visit. The menu offers an eclectic variety of customary Vietnamese and Western cuisines. Cooking classes are available by our chef and you can always walk through our garden to see the produce in its natural environment before it goes to our restaurant. Day and night tours are offered by boat, bicycle, or by simply walking around the local town and market with our friendly staff who are native to the area. Therefore, they are very knowledgeable in assisting guests and providing detailed information about the Vietnamese customs and culture. Our conference room can hold up to 100 people, and is available for Weddings, Meetings, Private Parties, Presentations or Banquets. At the Mekong Riverside Resort we are committed to staying as environmentally friendly as possible. From our windmill powered irrigation system that allocates water from the Mekong River to our garden, to solar powered walkway lights, we want to make the smallest ecological footprint as possible. We are proud to say that we are pioneers in this “green movement” in Vietnam.The Mekong Riverside Resort is a peaceful property where people are encouraged to relax, reflect, and embrace the beauty of Vietnam and the Mekong River. We hope you will come visit us soon! The Mekong Riverside Resort is an environmentally friendly boutique resort located in the famous “floating market” town of Cai Be Vietnam, two hours south of Ho Chi Min City. Positioned directly on the Mekong River, guests are able to view and experience the local life of the Mekong Delta while enjoying all the unique amenities the resort has to offer. For example, on the property there is a 7-hectare garden that services the resorts Medley Restaurant, thus ensuring that only the freshest ingredients are offered to our guests during their visit. The menu offers an eclectic variety of customary Vietnamese and Western cuisines. Cooking classes are available by our chef and you can always walk through our garden to see the produce in its natural environment before it goes to our restaurant. Day and night tours are offered by boat, bicycle, or by simply walking around the local town and market with our friendly staff who are native to the area. Therefore, they are very knowledgeable in assisting guests and providing detailed information about the Vietnamese customs and culture. Our conference room can hold up to 100 people, and is available for Weddings, Meetings, Private Parties, Presentations or Banquets. At the Mekong Riverside Resort we are committed to staying as environmentally friendly as possible. From our windmill powered irrigation system that allocates water from the Mekong River to our garden, to solar powered walkway lights, we want to make the smallest ecological footprint as possible. We are proud to say that we are pioneers in this “green movement” in Vietnam.The Mekong Riverside Resort is a peaceful property where people are encouraged to relax, reflect, and embrace the beauty of Vietnam and the Mekong River. We hope you will come visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mekong Riverside Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing