We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aura surf camp”
Review of Aura Surf Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Simeulue
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aura Surf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Aura surf camp”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

A southern summer surf trip to Indo carries a few potential benefits. Escape from the dreaded south easterly [the devil wind], flat swells and lots of people in the water. There are risks too; flat swell and being stuck on a boat charter with 8 of your best mates which after 10 days can get twitchy; or on a small island; same problem but a slower dissolve.
So having though about that I looked north of Nias and came across the Banyaks and Simulue. The Banayaks got bounced as having too small a swell window; and so it was left to Simulue and the only Aussie camp which is called Aura.
Simulue sits really at the epicentre of the quakes; not so bad as the tsunamis don't get a chance to build in height and in any case there's a large hill to run up just across the road. No damage to Simulue in the Baa Aceh, Nias or 2006 quake. The reefs do change a bit in potential but that's all to the good. Some get worse some get a lot better. And there is no shortage of swell in the off season. well for me any way. I landed to 2-3 ft at the peak and left at 2-3 ft with swell hitting 8 ft in the meantime [sufficient to snap a board] and all of this at a time when I thought it would be a lot of sitting around waiting and doing road trips.
Aura sits on a very open coast, about a 200 deg swell window so anything can come in there and hit the quake elevated lump of reef which forms the peak... the lefts are hollower than the rights but both are super fun and hassling is a no no. Around the place; by motor scooter are a lot of waves; I surfed 3 right hand point breaks [wear booties for Thailand's] and two left handers. One of the outer islands features a dredging irritable right hand reef called Tepak. Check yr health insurance before this one. And if you don't like it sit on the astounding beach nearby, snorkel, fish or follow the trails. There are more waves to be discovered and I didn't get to surf all the known ones. But got a lot of them in my 3 days as then only guest with 4 days with 4 Victorians. Really nice blokes and so were the surf guides. Sonny was brilliant in finding waves to my ability and watching that ability stretch, and then pushing me some more. Ross, Ryan [resident photo wizard] and Eckers were just great back at camp. Nothing was too much trouble. Lodgings were fine, and clean, lots of security around and the food good...and lots of it.
Were there any negatives? Maybe if the fans could be positioned at one spot cos it gets hot up there. The best was cruising on bikes though wilderness and stopping to find a beautiful right point going off with no one out...or a left point or another right point. Waving at the kids on the way back and eating at a warung built over the water.
Such a good vibe in the water lots of waves and if the wife wants to do stuff; there is epic snorkelling, cruises to find water falls and other touristy bits. You might come back in the black with marital brownie points.
You can't go past Aura ; I'm in two minds about telling you ,but I want these guys to be in business for quite a while.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tornasuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
3
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My advice is this - get out there and get out there now....this place is AWESOME.

First and foremost, this place is about the waves and surfers will NOT be disappointed. The Peak (right out front) works almost every day and offers up amazing lefts and rights - perfect for intermediate-to-advanced surfers (beginners could handle it on a lot of days as well). If The Peak isn't working, the Crew at Aura have the island pretty well dialed-in and will take you wherever the waves are working (even on stormy days at The Peak, there are protected waves that work). You should expect to score 90%+ of the time you are there (at least that's what it was in late-March) and the Crew will make sure of it. If there's a wave (and there almost always is), they will find it.

Your Hosts - the Crew are an amazing bunch. Hopefully this group will stick around for awhile b/c they really were some of the nicest, most accommodating and helpful staff I've ever encountered. I really don't even want to call them "staff" b/c they were more like good friends. These are NOT "surfer dbags who are just there to surf." They are there to make sure you have the most amazing experience possible. This goes for both me (surfer) and my non-surfing spouse. They were incredibly helpful and interested in our well-being in and out of the water....I cannot thank them enough in this regard.

Accommodation - I would call this "rustic." If you are looking for the 5-Star Lagkawi Style All-Inclusive, this is not your place. It is called a "resort" but it is more like "cabins." That being said, they are perfectly acceptable, well-maintained and cleaned daily. They are fan-cooled which is all you really need. You do have to share a shower and bathroom w/ your next-door neighbor, which some folks might not like so much. However, because everything is cleaned daily (and cleaned well) it was not a problem for us. I will say this - if you are going on your honeymoon, you are not likely to have as much "privacy" as you might want. But, I still think it was a great place to be for a couple - we had a wonderful time.

Food - good, hearty meals - lots of rice & veggies. It gets a little "repetitive" after 10 days, but it was always prepared fresh daily and had enough variety to keep it interesting. And, there is always plenty of food after those epic surf-sessions....and if you stay in the water a little longer than mealtime, the Crew will keep your meal hot for you. I have no complaints at all in this regard.

Other - Andy was amazing in the booking-process from start-to-finish. He was completely on top of the situation and made this process completely stress-and-worry-free. He's definitely got it together in that sense. Drop him an email and start the booking process.

Non-Surfing - there are things to do other than surf (waterfall trip, visit to town, boat-trip to local island), so you won't be bored if the ocean is flat (which is rare) or you want to do something w/ your non-surfing partner. There is snorkelling (no idea if it is good or not) and spearfishing (no idea again)....or the Crew can rent you a car or motorbikes to tour the island.

You'll love the rugged, untouched beauty of Simeuleu and its people....so get out there!!

Room Tip: Just email Andy and he'll get you straight
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingDood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Drop everything and go now before you die !

Perfect isolation without compromising any comforts

From the start Andy sorted out everything pre and post arrival, all questions answered with simple solutions.

All the drama of internal connections with boards and bags were handled by Auras professional transfer connections. All transfers were smooth and painless.

The small plane ride a highlight to deliver you to the island which took us over the sumatran jungle to paradise Aura.

The onsite aura team made it an truly unforgetable experience from pickup to final tearful drop off .. well i was was crying..

As we were welcomed to aura the first priority was getting into the surf !

If you wanted - Ross organised the admin and technology challenges to get you online with any device thrown at him and any other weird and wonderful request as required. There was no problem unsolved at anytime of the day or night !

Surf guides and boatmen Ecca and Sunny talked us through conditions and options with the wind and waves on offer. Conditons and wave options were discussed all day and night so we made the best decisions with conditions in front of us.

No surf check or mission was a problem at any time. By road or boat the boys sorted us out with drinks and snacks and dropping us in and out the line up with skill and ease..

Absoultely nothing was a problem or a drama for these guys onshore or on the high sea.. cool calm and collected and so much knowledge of the area and conditions.

I cant describe the boat trips to nearby breaks you have to experience it ..awesome!!!

The waves delivered almost everyday and if the peak right out in front wasnt firing we moved around the island to get the right wind direction.. It was not hard to figure out. We surfed every day as long and many times as you body could handle

Food was always ready for us after a surf session and always awesome.. fresh cut coconuts anytime, papaya and fruit juices, banana pancakes ,fresh fish, noodles eggs it was endless and awesome. There was always more than required. Me belly full everyday.

Accomodation is private if you want it with your own room and verandah or communal back at the main house and kitchen to sit back and watch the waves roll in with the crew.

This stay at Aura and surf trip is going to be hard to beat. This truly is the place all surfers dream of spending their waking hours trying to get to.

Zero crowd factor perfect waves awesome food easy transportation... oh did I mention zero crowds !@#$

Dropping in your mates isn't required either as there are heaps of waves to go round

To top it off professional photographer Ryan Williams onsite in and out of the water to capture those moments in time forever trevor !

Great local staff that look out for you and with a nothing is a problem attitude made it an absolute pleasure to stay at Aura

Everyone at Aura wants you to have the best trip ever and they make sure it happens..

A month later and I still think of Aura everyday ...

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect - on the beach with private verandah to watch the waves and buffalo !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you want a cool place to hang out,surf,eat,surf,eat,explore surf, eat and then a few bintangs with your mates THIS IS THE JOINT!
A filthy peak straight out in front with no booties!
Built by a surfer with every detail sorted,heaps of good food,surf movies,wicked music,guitars,scooters,beast of a surf boat,onto it guides,mean massage,wi-fi, comfy bed,cool après surf sessions,talented photographer,amazing staff all centered around one of the hottest waves in Indo.
Just paddle out from your bed, no dramas!

Room Tip: All rooms look straight in to the peak!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rusty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Simeulue
0.0 mi away
Kita Surf Resort
Kita Surf Resort
#1 of 6 in Pulau Simeulue
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playground Surf Resort
Playground Surf Resort
#2 of 2 in Pulau Masokut
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sumatra Surf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Freddies Santai Sumurtiga
Show Prices

Been to Aura Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aura Surf Resort

Property: Aura Surf Resort
Address: Simeulue Island, Pulau Simeulue, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > Aceh > Pulau Simeulue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Simeulue
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst 15,000 sqm of beachfront parkland with an epic Peak break right out the front. Aura is the only resort on the island to have a wave directly at its doorstep without any travel needed. Watch the Peak barreling from the comfort of your verandah deck chair. Aura has been in operation since 2010 and our knowledge of the various secret waves is unrivaled. We are situated on a long pristine clean beach ideal for surfing and swimming. Amazing mountainous jungle backdrop. All bungalows have direct view of the peak. ‎You are able to check the surf without leaving your bed. We are the only resort with EXPERIENCED surf guides and a comprehensive knowledge of the waves and the conditions required. Aura has the only fiberglass speedboat to get you and your friends to world class waves comfortably and fast. Also in our fleet is our 3 meter rigid hull zodiac with 25hp motor able to do tow ins and get close for filming in the lineup. Scooters, cars and a 9 seater van readily available to explore the island on your own or with your experienced guide. Our accommodation encompasses 3 traditional bungalows and main building restaurant. Able to house up to 14 surfers at any one time. The resort is fully equipped with modern luxuries including bar, dining areas, cable tv,games room including pool table, table tennis, mini golf, tree house looking onto the Peak. Serving the best food on the island with a buffet style mix of western and local dishes, fresh juices, meat and seafood and plenty of healthy vegetarian meals. Aura is run by Surfers for Surfers! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing