We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff ! ”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cumnock
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

There was a crowd of us staying here as we were at a wedding near by, and were met by a nice welcome and and got our room key. The room and bathroom were lovely and bed very comfortable ! But my main reason for this is to the lovely staff Liz and Rhona, who couldn't have been more helpfully when I tried on my new dress and it had came away at the seam ! Panicking I went to reception where they were looking for a sewing kit, but Liz then took my dress to a seamstress shop across the road and had my dress sorted and brought back to my room in 10 minutes ! She really didn't need to do this, but it was very much appreciated, thanks again :) x

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Larry300515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Five star review.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Hotel Cumnock. Feedback is most important to us it’s great to read such a fantastic review. I am delighted to hear of the high levels of customer experience you received.

Hope to see you back in the future,

Kind Regards


Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 129 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have breakfast here at least once a month. The cooked scottish breakfast is delicious. The bar area where the breakfast is served is modern but comfortable. There is a larger room next door where lunches and dinner are served.
The breakfast includes a round of toast and tea or coffee. They also have a good selection of cakes/ scones at the bar.
Service is friendly but can be a little slow at times, I think this is due to there not being enough staff on duty rather than the staff themselves as they are always busy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynseyanddaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Five star review.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visits to the Royal Hotel Cumnock. Feedback is most important to us it’s great to read such a great review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoy your breakfast and will pass your comments on to the Head Chef.

Hope to see you back in the future,

Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms are spacious, immaculate, and very comfortable. The bathrooms are lovely, but the water pressure is dismal! (My only complaint!) We had dinner in the bar - the food was excellent and the service was very good. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was exceptionally good and again, nicely served. extra care was taken with the presentation and preparation. A very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely words regarding our hotel following your recent stay at the Royal Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate all feedback.

Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Travelling up from Nottingham to Scotland on motor bike weather was horrible so my wife and I decided to break the journey by stopping off at the royal purely by chance.we could,nt have made a better choice,got rid of the leathers and hit the bar.in the evening we had a meal in the hotel resteraunt ,the meal and service were excellent. Room was spotless as I always check on top wardrobes for dust because that,s where I usually put the crash helmets, next morning had cracking breakfast then on the road again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith1300gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is always great to get such fantastic feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words, we will pass this on to the team at the Royal Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

stayed here for 1 night for a wedding close by and was very impressed. the room was very spacious and clean. i would have marked the hotel excellent if it wasnt for the poor shower but apart from that everything was fine. breakfast was very hot and tasty and the staff very pleasent.
would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmima63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Great Review! Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay at the Royal Hotel Cumnock, fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay and would visit again!

Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

At arrival we received a double room instead of a booked (4 person) family room. As we were with three persons the reception quickly fixed this problem by giving us an extra room.
The rooms were nice and spacious with a large en-suite bathroom. The shower of this bathroom however had little water pressure.

WiFi should be available and showed as a network but all of us were unable to connect to it.
Breakfast was included, offering a wide range of dishes.

We also had dinner in the hotel the first night, whilst prices were low the food wasn't that special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reinier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay at the Royal Hotel, we welcome all feedback and thank you for all your comments.

Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a quick stop over. The room was spacious and clean. Dinner in the restaurant was a pleasant surprise and good value for money. Breakfast also good and served quickly. Staff all very pleasant. I have nothing negative to say, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomokoAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is always great to get such fantastic feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words, we will pass this on to the team at the Royal Hotel.

Kind Regards,


Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumnock
0.1 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
501 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,148 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
13.9 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 5 in Prestwick
680 reviews
22.1 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 1 Glaisnock Street, Cumnock KA18 1BP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Cumnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cumnock
Price Range: $96 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel was built in 1892 by Mr R J Barrowman, and has proven over the years to be a figurehead of Cumnock Town Centre. The hotel with it’s Victorian Façade has been extensively refurbished by the current owners, Mr & Mrs Kyle, with a few of the original features retained creating a more contemporary feel with a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All those who have frequented the Royal, past and present have welcomed the results. The refurbishment was culminated in 2006 with the completion of the Royal Sports Bar located on the ground floor, which has a spacious bar, area air conditioning and TVs, showing most major sporting events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing