We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dumfries House Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hotel(Cumnock)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Railway Hotel(Auchinleck)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ayr(Ayr)(Great Value!)
$47
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Kilmarnock(Kilmarnock)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foxbar Hotel(Kilmarnock)
$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveler rating
291
11
6
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
291
11
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoodlands restaurantthe main housefour poster bedwalled gardenroll top bathprince charlesself cateringchippendale furnituregrand tourbig housebreakfast is servedhouse tourbreakfast roomtwo nightsprivate tourfirst classbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 311 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were unlucky enough not to realise that this beautiful, comfortable, luxurious accommodation was available when we started organising our trip. On the other hand we did spend one night in Room 4 in the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The Lodge is an 18th century building, refurbished with stunning attention to detail. The room we had was huge with a lovely large bathroom. Both rooms were exceptionally clean and furnished very tastefully. We have spent holidays in Spanish Paradors and until now had considered those historic buildings to be the best hotels we had ever stayed in. Dumfries House sets a new standard for the use of historic buildings as hotels. Mark was the perfect host and cooked us a lovely breakfast. We also enjoyed the Grand Tour of Dumfries House. We will try very hard to visit the Lodge again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPVTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We look forward to meeting you again here at the lodge. Kindest regards Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hubbie and I stayed here for one night while visiting family in Cumnock.

The area has only a few hotel options, of varying quality. They are either good but quite expensive, or so-so but quite expensive. Dumfries House Lodge is a much needed and welcome addition, and will definitely be our base for future visits.

The Lodge rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished - the perfect combination of comfort, luxury and elegance. It's not stuffy or intimidating though - very laid back and welcoming. From what I could see, the bedrooms are in separate areas of the house with no shared walls, so they have good privacy.

We booked into room 2, which is on the corner overlooking the entry drive and the main road. We were initially worried about road noise, but I can honestly say that I barely heard it.

The room is not huge, but has everything you need - storage space for clothes, LCD TV and a coffee tea maker. The bed and pillows are very comfortable, and the sheets were the softest I've ever slept under - I should have asked where they buy them from!

The en-suite bathroom is also beautifully decorated, and equipped with an amazing rain-head shower that I could have stood under for an hour.

The price includes breakfast, which provides everything from fruit and yoghurt to the full cooked Scottish, which is made there and then in the adjacent kitchen. It's a great arrangement, because you can chat to Mark and his staff while they potter about - very personal and friendly.

I think the little things make or break a hotel, and they have all been taken care of here. Proper china cups, proper coffee and tea in the rooms, being given a thermos of fresh milk instead of having to use UHT, handmade jams at breakfast, and so on. My mother would approve!

The Lodge provides two living rooms for guests to use. One is a quiet room for those who wish to read. The other has a TV, and a large table that would be good for games etc. Both have real fireplaces, and are very cozy.

We will definitely stay here again whenever we go back to Cumnock.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sielah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

thank you for this wonderful review. its good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the lodge. Hope you come to stay again soon Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Staying at the Lodge is a wonderful experience. The rooms are superb, the ambience of the house is that of old-time elegance but with all modern facilities and beautifully furnished. Mark is an excellent host and his breakfast is a delight. A tour of Dumfries House is itself rewarding and topped off with a stay at the Lodge makes it really memorable. Overall a very special experience to be remembered with much pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review. I hope to see you again soon here at the lodge. Mark and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed in the lodge for a night with friends to celebrate my birthday. We had full use of the Lodge and had a tour of Dumfries house followed by dinner in the Library Restaurant.
Rooms are fantastic,the estate is well worth exploring and the staff were warm and welcoming. Particular mention should be made of Mark who provided superb service throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitchpluseight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

A big thank you for your great review. We were all pleased to be apart of your special day and we hope you come back for many more. mark and the Team here at the lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

A wonderful place for anyone to visit. The bedrooms are superb and the bathrooms were sublime ! Especially the room with the four-poster bed! Mark was a lovely host and he put on a lovely breakfast for us all.

We also visited Dumfries House for the second time and would definitely return again. We had lunch in Dumfries House Library which was delicious and the tour of the house is a must see.

Anyone visiting the Lodge will definitely wish to return !!

Room Tip: The four poster bed room was fantastic - the bathroom was amazing / huge and the bedroom next to this one was an exceptionally spacious, airy room. Not sure if these were rooms 3 and 4 but they were certainly the best in the Lodge ! Amazing!! And a lovely coffee maker too provided in all the rooms!!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alis0nDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your Kind words in this review. I hope to see you again very soon..Mark and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews