We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cumnock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Had an evening meal here and the standard of food was excellent. Lovely surroundings.Staff were extremely nice and helpful. The only thing of mention was the slow service. The hotel is is of excellent standard and very well appointed. Will return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cab23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 518 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as a family and with friends whilst my son was doing some local filming in Cumnock.

This hotel is fantastic, with superb food (best seabass I have ever tasted) and very comfy furnished rooms. Staff were great, excellent service and always talking to us as people rather than another guest.

Better than most hotels we have stayed in... wish it was closer to home

Thanks again

Martin, Lisa, Layla and Neil (Little Ant)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I was looking forward to spending Hogmanay with friends at the Hogmanay dinner dance . It's a lovely hotel inside and out . The room was set up of round tables . Looked lovely . When it came to dinner , orders were taken you had a choice of 2 on each serving . So you would think easy everyone at the table will eat together . To start we all ordered soup . Well it was more like a bowl of coloured water . You would have expected the bread to come out before or at least with the soup . We had to ask for the bread . Main course chicken was ok . We all got the mains at different times . Rather coming out and serving a table at at time they would walk from table to table asking who was having chicken who beef . Desert ( not that good )was the same we all were eating at different time . Very poor service not impressed . Music started ok band not sure the right music for kids . We are coming up to the bells you would think countdown and old lang syne . NO .The band stopped what they were playing done 10,9,8 ....... And carried on playing what they were playing . A disappointing night .

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank cats68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

excellent hotel... rooms very comfortable and modern,, food is of high quality and a good menu in restaurant and breakfast,

the party and meal was also very good 260 people were there so reception told me, 4 course traditional meal was to a good standard and it was served at a steady pace, the party was family originated with a typical Scottish theme throughout as you would expect and good variety of modern and Scottish traditional entertainment all evening,

the staff were very efficient and all made effort to communicate with the guest,,, this made the hotel stand out.

i would visit again and at any time of year

Room Tip: front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laidlawstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We attended a wedding here in October, the wedding was 1st class from start to finish, everything and I do mean everything was absolutely perfect.
The meal was delicious and piping hot, the service was efficient, friendly, well organised and very professional at all times throughout the whole day.
We had booked a room to stay and again from booking in to checkout everything was very efficient, the room was beautiful, comfortable with a lovely bathroom and great toiletries.The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. Breakfast was as good as everything else we had experience at this hotel. We would not hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChazBroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my now husband got married at the beautiful Dumfries Arms in November this year! From the first time I visited the hotel I loved it and found the reception area stunning! The wedding coordinator Gillian is a true angel and on the lead up to the wedding she could not have been more helpful! The wedding was amazing and all the staff did a fabulous job! With special thanks to Gillian and Evan. The food, service and venue was amazing! We had guests in every room and all raved about how clean, comfortable and stylish the rooms were! So to sum up whether you are looking for a quiet meal, night away or big event we could not recommend the Dumfries Arms highly enough!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Emmspems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We planned an overnight at The Dumfries Arms to visit some relatives nearby. The hotel has been upgraded to a very good standard and the staff are attentive and welcoming. There are a few missing details that you would get in other hotels decorated to this standard - music docking station in bedroom, facial tissues, directory of services/room service options. We also arrived to a freezing room as the window was open and the heating turned of. That said, the room was spacious, beautifully clean and the bathroom tasteful.

My "gripes" relate to information I think we should have been told about at booking - especially when this was done by phone only four days before arrival.

Firstly, the hotel is designed around a double-storey atrium with open staircase. A lovely first impression with gleaning ceramic tiles everywhere. However, over room entrance was on the balcony overlooking this and the hotel had a very large function on which opened into the atrium. We were therefore treated to the live band until very late and the departing, merry dinner-dance guests until even later; nicely magnified up by the vast space. Secondly, in order for the kitchen to cope with the function, we could only access dinner if seated before 5.45 or after 8.00pm. This required a hasty rearrangement of dinner plans with aforementioned local relatives.

As stated above, I would had been less disgruntled if these issues had been highlighted in advance but it meant what was thought of an a relaxing night away into something rather different.

The food - dinner and breakfast - is casual and of good standard.

I would go back but would be very particular in requesting my room

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJGscotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumnock
3.8 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
134 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,138 reviews
9.5 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
14.6 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumfries Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumfries Arms Hotel

Address: 54 Glaisnock Street, Cumnock KA18 1BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Cumnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cumnock
Price Range: $132 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumfries Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully renovated in 2011 the Dumfries Arms is a contemporary, stylish boutique Hotel with 26 stunning guest rooms, stylish restaurant and function facilities that ensure its place as one of Ayrshire's largest and most stunning wedding and events venues. Rich in history, The Dumfries Arms Hotel has stood at the heart of the ancient burgh of Cumnock, Ayrshire since the early 18th century and even predates nearby Dumfries House, saved for the nation by HRH The Prince of Wales and now one of the nation's most stunning heritage attractions. Over its 300 year history the hotel's guests have included some colourful and well known characters including our national bard, Robert Burns and Sir Walter Scott, who made reference to his stay in Old Cumnock..."Where beds are as hard as a plank, sir". Much has changed since! However, as an important part of our heritage, due homage has been accorded with these historic words being embroidered on soft furnishings within our guest rooms. We should add that our beds are magnificently comfortable! We look forward to welcoming you to one of Scotland's newest, privately owned boutique hotels whether as a resident, diner, or to view our stunning function facilities if you are planning a very special event. A warm welcome is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dumfries Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing