We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cumnock
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here when attending a birthday party ! My twin room turned into a suite , large bathroom , living room and bedroom. 2 Tvs , shower and bath. Prob an upgrade did not see ordinary rooms. Service good and friendly. Breakfast good choice and lots of it. certainly well worth a second visit if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellamac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    123
    47
    24
    18
See reviews for
115
230
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cumnock
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

terrible table service standing waiting for table for over 20 mins and the boy came back had obviously forgot we were waiting and huridly tried to phone the dining room which i must say was empty at the timeto get our table!!!! too late too long we left!!!!

Room Tip: service terrible waited more than 20 mins to be seated in empty dining room left and went to pub up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lothians
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Despite being in Cumnock, not New Cumnock, this hotel was a delight to find. It has been refitted to a very high standard. Right in the centre of Cumnock, plenty free parking. Room was a little on the small side but beautiful furnishings. Food was great (ate in the restaurant several times and was never let down, and it is good value for money too, a really decent main course for less than a tenner.) I was only charged £50 per night for the room which I thought was great value, I have paid four times that in Aberdeen and received a lot worse. Interesting the previous comments about service - this seems to have been resolved, I found the staff attentive, polite and cheery.

Downside? Tiny minor gripes - the freeview TV could not get ITV channels, but there were plenty of others. Also it has free wi-fi but you have to be in the lounge to get it, it really would be so easy to supply it throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cauldcoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumnock
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I first reviewed the Dumfries Arms restaurant back in November 2011 and I said that the service left a lot to be desired. However, I've been back twice recently and what a difference. Service was topnotch and food excellent. It would appear that it was just as I thought, initial teething problems and lack of training. Don't be put off trying again if you visited last year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audbodCumnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Modern and attractive rennovation, comfortable rooms but the overall service left a lot to be desired. No-one on reception, no answer to telephone for room service and service at breakfast was extremely poor. A party of 7 received breakfast on a 2x2 basis, it took nearly 20 minutes to get tea and coffee for everyone, cooked breakfast contents varied despite all being ordered as the standard full breakfast. What a shame this poor service let down what is a beautiful hotel and meant we did not get value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is not the hotel my husband & I remember growing up in Cumnock.What a change! Rooms nicely decorated,lovely meals & bottle of wine not too expensive.Staff friendly especially Evan.What a nice young man.He will go far in hospitality.If you like whisky there's 50 kinds to try.View from hotel not great but we already knew that being ex Cumnockians.We will certainly stay at hotel again.
Trip advisor please note Dumfries Arms Hotel in Cumnock & not New Cumnock.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 which overlooked the hotel entrance.Some rooms may overlook the petrol station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RitaWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

A fortune has obviously been spent on upgrading this former town centre pub into what should be a top grade hotel. The entrance is certainly impressive (although it would help to staff the reception desk). Unfortunately first impressions of the public restaurant were not good - its dark, suffers from poor ventilation with overpowering cooking smells and has an unattractive view of a petrol station across the road. Lacking in atmosphere and ambience, there are far better places to go to in the area

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumnock
3.8 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
124 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Western House Hotel
14.6 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
858 reviews
23.6 mi away
Popinjay Hotel
Popinjay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosebank
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumfries Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumfries Arms Hotel

Property: Dumfries Arms Hotel
Address: 54 Glaisnock Street, Cumnock KA18 1BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Cumnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cumnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumfries Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully renovated in 2011 the Dumfries Arms is a contemporary, stylish boutique Hotel with 26 stunning guest rooms, stylish restaurant and function facilities that ensure its place as one of Ayrshire's largest and most stunning wedding and events venues. Rich in history, The Dumfries Arms Hotel has stood at the heart of the ancient burgh of Cumnock, Ayrshire since the early 18th century and even predates nearby Dumfries House, saved for the nation by HRH The Prince of Wales and now one of the nation's most stunning heritage attractions. Over its 300 year history the hotel's guests have included some colourful and well known characters including our national bard, Robert Burns and Sir Walter Scott, who made reference to his stay in Old Cumnock..."Where beds are as hard as a plank, sir". Much has changed since! However, as an important part of our heritage, due homage has been accorded with these historic words being embroidered on soft furnishings within our guest rooms. We should add that our beds are magnificently comfortable! We look forward to welcoming you to one of Scotland's newest, privately owned boutique hotels whether as a resident, diner, or to view our stunning function facilities if you are planning a very special event. A warm welcome is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dumfries Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing