We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hospitality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Laigh Tarbeg Farm

Laigh Tarbeg Farm
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laigh Tarbeg Farm
Ranked #2 of 3 Cumnock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Overnight stay on a Saturday night . We arrived at 7 and Alastair welcomed us warmly and acquainted us with our room and the farmhouse. This is a working farm and he was off to do farming work and would be out till much later but left his telephone number if we needed "anything".

We filled in our breakfast menu and it was ready by the lovely morning for us at the arranged time in the morning. There was a wee extra of lovely fresh home made pancakes. The breakfast was excellent. The bed was really comfortable and the linen was lovely. The room and ensuite was spotless.

Moira and Alastair were kind and attentive hosts and the b & b deserves its 4 stars. Well done.

Room Tip: We had an ensuite and the shower was very good though we were told the shower off the corridor was b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaulineGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
27
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

My Wife and I were visiting friends in the area,we decided to book 2 nights at the Laigh Tarbeg.
We were not disappointed, we received a warm welcome from Moira and Huw as we we checked in. The rooms were was spotless and well presented. The Breakfast was Excellent a good selection of food to eat, from cereal, porridge to a full cooked fresh breakfast. I would recommend this B&B and look forward to re-booking again when we visit our friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We received a warm welcome to this comfortable B&B. A genuine farmhouse, immaculately furnished and maintained. It was good to be greeted with a good cup of tea and shortbread. Breakfast was excellent. There was a good range of options to choose from. My porridge was lovely. The full Scottish breakfast included local sausages and lean back bacon, potato scones, tomatoes and so on, all cooked well. Homemade Scottish pancakes were a welcome addition. Very good value and an enjoyable stay. There is plenty in the local area to keep visitors occupied but it is also conveniently situated if you are just passing through en route to Arran or another west coast destination.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Elisabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumnock, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Laigh Tarbeg is a farmhouse bed and breakfast based just outside of Ochiltree on route to Coylton.
We had visitors from Poland and Cyprus over the weekend for a business trip. We could not source accommodation in the popular hotels in our area but found this wonderful haven. Moira was a complete ambassador for Ayrshire and welcomed our guests with a very high quality homely but professional service. Wonderful fresh cooked breakfast to set our visitors up for the day and a Lovely comfortable clean bed, to help them sleep to regain their energy for the next day. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janicehendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I were holidaying in Scotland and had booked this B&B before we left Australia. Always a bit of a worry booking in advance so far ahead. It was great to arrive and find a great B&B.
Even though there were other couples staying there we never heard anyone until breakfast.
Our host, Moira was great and gave us some great recommendations for evening meals.
Best Breakfast ever, cooked fresh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cliff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for four nights whilst visiting relatives in the area. Both Hugh and Moira made us feel extremely welcome. Mollie was a delight and was great friends with our son by the end of the stay. The room was spotless and the breakfast amazing :) My son had homemade pancakes with strawberries everyday for breakfast and has said that Moira's shortbread is the best that he has ever tasted! We had a tour around the farm and the found the new robotic machines amazing. We felt extremely relaxed the beds were lovely and comfortable and having tea and coffee facilities in the room was an added bonus. We will definitely be making a return visit and highly recommend a stay at the farm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thewhite2013s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a lovely evening in the B&B last weekend. The hosts are so helpful and had tea, pancakes and cake for us when we arrived in addition to drinks for the children. The children took a real liking to the dog :)

Moira was great with my daughter who never stopped asking questions on Sat night and then was screaming as she was so tired Sunday. Breakfast was lovely and Moira got the children strawberries (and had to refill them :)).

We had a great time and would definitely stay again (although not so sure Moira would want our rowdy bunch!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumnock
4.9 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
4.7 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
18.8 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laigh Tarbeg Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laigh Tarbeg Farm

Property: Laigh Tarbeg Farm
Address: Laigh Tarbeg Farm Ayr Road, Cumnock KA18 2RL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Cumnock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cumnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Laigh Tarbeg Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Laigh Tarbeg Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing