We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great off the road adventure”

MJ's Walnut St Pub & Grill
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Oglesby
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: MJ's Pub & Grill is where you'll have fun while enjoying the home cooked meals, indoors or on the patio. Our full stocked bar to serve you one of MJ's Specialty drinks or martinis. 5 TVs for all your sports plus a big Screen and video gaming so you can win some money while you're here. Our friendly service hours are 7 days a week, 10 am to midnight Sunday thru Thursday, 10 am to 2 am Friday & 10 am to 3 am Saturday. And we have weekend entertainment.
IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great off the road adventure”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My friend and I were hungry and just took the edit off the highway and drove until we got a "feel" for good restaurant. We enjoy Pubs so this was a likely pick. We were immediately welcomed to the bar like atmosphere when we walked in the door. The atmosphere was comfortable and clean. The menu had many options and it was apparent that customer service was a priority as our waiter was very attentive. We had the stuffed portobello mushrooms (delicious), tortellini in red sauce.....good portion but not special! and the homemade chicken tenders ( good portion and tasty). I would return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freedom63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and delicious”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

From the moment we walked in the door when we were greeted by the friendly demeanor of the proprietor, Jackie (the "J" in MJ), we felt comfortably at home in this restaurant and pub in the small town of Oglesby, IL. Indeed the hot and delicious homemade soup along with the freshly made bread only reassured us in our decision to traverse only a mile or two off the interstate into town for an enjoyable experience of local hospitality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twodomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olla
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had the tenderloin sandwich and the meat was tough. Atmosphere was very nice! Televisions were awesome. People very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLWoodOlla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere and service”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place is owned by a family and they run it also. Always very friendly and awesome service. The food is great, they have a good selection of burgers, chicken, pasta and turtle on Friday's. Their tenderloin sandwich is amazing and huge! For starters, try their french onion soup, it's really good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sankey1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent Burger and Stella on Tap!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The is a genuine tavern in a small town, with "regulars", and the ball game on the (small) TV. Burgers were tasty, Stella Artois and other great ales on tap, and they even made a tasty martini for my picky father! Staff were incredibly nice and attentive to us.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MJ's Walnut St Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to MJ's Walnut St Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing