We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent atmosphere and service”

MJ's Walnut St Pub & Grill
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Oglesby
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: MJ's Pub & Grill is where you'll have fun while enjoying the home cooked meals, indoors or on the patio. Our full stocked bar to serve you one of MJ's Specialty drinks or martinis. 5 TVs for all your sports plus a big Screen and video gaming so you can win some money while you're here. Our friendly service hours are 7 days a week, 10 am to midnight Sunday thru Thursday, 10 am to 2 am Friday & 10 am to 3 am Saturday. And we have weekend entertainment.
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere and service”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place is owned by a family and they run it also. Always very friendly and awesome service. The food is great, they have a good selection of burgers, chicken, pasta and turtle on Friday's. Their tenderloin sandwich is amazing and huge! For starters, try their french onion soup, it's really good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sankey1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent Burger and Stella on Tap!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The is a genuine tavern in a small town, with "regulars", and the ball game on the (small) TV. Burgers were tasty, Stella Artois and other great ales on tap, and they even made a tasty martini for my picky father! Staff were incredibly nice and attentive to us.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family owned, family friendly!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stopped mid afternoon for late lunch/early dinner! The kitchen doesn't normally open until 4 so we were about an hour early. The owners opened the kitchen for us and made us feel very welcome. The atmosphere was great-decorated nice, great music and very clean! The food was really good-large portions and made fresh for us. My husband loved the Italian Stallion. We will visit again next time we are in town!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Had lunch at this great Midwestern pub. Very clean and well managed. We're lucky enough to be able to dine with the owners. Good food and excellent service. Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, WI
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly place with great sandwiches.”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is a hangout for locals, but the bartender/waitress made us feel like "one of them". Just wanted a quick sandwich and a beer. Good food, prices and service!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MontanaDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MJ's Walnut St Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to MJ's Walnut St Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing