We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT A HOLIDAY INN EXCEPT IN NAME”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed at this Holiday Inn a year ago and was told of changes that were to be made. NOT!
Same problems exist but a MAJOR new problem has come up, vibration/drone from the elevators is heard in many rooms on the 6th and 7th floor. It was loud enough and continuous enough to be a major annoyance and my sleep quality was affected.(had the droning in a dream!).
Front Desk: gave me a placard for special parking spots but failed to tell me that there were special parking spots. Staff Pleasant throughout hotel.
Breakfast Buffet: Problems last year not resolved. for $12.95 hotel should have a staffer continuously checking to what needs replenished. Many items empty, glasses needed for juice, etc. NOT WORTH THE $ 12.95
Snack/Sundry Shop: Open Sporatically, no set hours..Cannot count on getting the things you want. Was supposed to be changed since last year , Nope! Employee working in little snack.sundry shop tried to overcharge me both times..Had no idea how to use register. Tried for $6.00 overcharge first time, $1,00 overcharge second time.
Furniture in sleeping rooms and wood in elevator are looking worn, chipped.
Last, 2 days before my arrival Chicago had 4-6 in of snow. The parking lot was snow covered and especially ICE covered making getting luggage out of trunk and to hotel door treacherous.
In my opinion and as much as i travel, this hotel should downgrade to a lesser brand or start charging hotel rates of a lesser brand.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that do not get the elevator drone/hum, ask for one of them. Executive King ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pghsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear PghSteve,

Thank you for submitting a review of your stay at our hotel with us. We appreciate all feedback whether it's good or bad as it helps us grow as a hotel. We are sorry that you did not have a good stay and thought changes were going to be made from your last stay. We are always looking to improve and take your concerns with high regard and will pass them on to the proper manament so that changes will hopefully be made.

We are disappointed that you didn't have a good stay but do hope you will come up and try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 348 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

Meeting organizers, do not dismiss this Holiday Inn for your small meeting occasions. In addition to the larger venue settings on 1st floor there are 2 smaller executive type board rooms on the 2nd floor that comfortably seat up to 12 people. Large conference table and executive type chairs all the way around with large flat screen TV and whiteboard. Had 2 days of meetings and it was all I could ask for.
My team stays at this Holiday Inn when in the Chicago suburbs and the location is outstanding. Rooms are comfortable and employees are great!
True sports bar on site with Hi-Def TV's everywhere.The surrounding area is loaded with great restaurants of all cuisines and shopping areas all around.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Paul P,

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay with us. We value your feedback as we take all feedback with high regard. We are glad that you enjoy everything about our meeting spaces and think our rooms are comfortable. We take pride in displaying great service and rooms not only to our guestroom guests but to our meetingroom guests too.

We hope your team and you continues to come to our hotel as we love hosting you all every time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a great location if you need to be in the western suburbs of Chicago. It's just off I-88 and right at Oakbrook Mall. Great shopping. Great restaurants. There is a Bar Louie in the lobby. No free breakfast room at this location. Breakfast is available at Bar Louie and is over priced. First place I have ever seen designated parking for IHG Club members. They are not the most convenient parking spaces but I suppose the restaurant patrons get those. The room was clean and comfortable with all the typical amenities for this IHG brand. The toilet in our room ran all night. I tried to fix it but no luck. Was not going to call maintenance that late so just closed the bathroom door. I know stuff happens so it was not a big deal. Hopefully they got it fixed for the next people since we told them when we checked out. If we're in the area, we'd stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Ken L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your comments and we take them seriously as help meausre how we are doing. We are happy you enjoyed the great location and friendly staff of the hotel. We loved hosting your stay so it was our pleasure. Unfortunately, we are not happy about the toilet running all night. We did it get fixed after your checkout. We do appreciate you telling us about it so we could take care of it before the next guest.

We would love to host your next stay very soon. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Reallt nice, restaurants and shopping close. Clean room, large bathrooms and quiet. Hotel staff very courteous. Lounge is reasonably priced. Skyline view from upper floors is nice. I would enjoy staying there on personal time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear M J,

Thank for posting a review from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and use it to better our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your room, the very courteous staff, the view from your room, and the convenience of the hotel to shopping stores and restaurants. We took pride in making your stay a success.

We hope to see you again in the future whether it be on business again or on your personal time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I spent a nice weekend with my wife and kids. The room was nice, clean and quite although we had a busy road on out side. The breakfast was very good and generous and the receptionists were very kind. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pibus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Pibus G,

Thank you for letting us know how your recent stay with us was. We appreciate your feedback and value it highly. We are happy that your stay was a good surprise and that you enjoyed it. We are glad that you enjoyed the room and our ront desk staff.

We hope we get to host your next stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Holiday Inn Oakbrook has a great location. The Breakfast Service by Liz and Amy is excellent. Nice, pleasant and professional way to start off your day!!!
Overall the hotel is good, serves its purpose for location, security and cleanliness. The staff is very accommodating. Bar Louie Service in the evening is sub par - unless you are male chances are you may wait awhile to get service....

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lclaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Lclaus,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast service, location, security, and cleanliness. We do our best to provide a great overall experience for all our guests. It looks like you enjoyed everything but the sub par service in the evening. We apologize for that service and will let the restaurant management staff know about that.

Again, thank you for your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because we were caught in a snow storm. Needless to say it wasn't planned. We booked it online while eating dinner, scoring an exceptional deal. It's a mile west of Oak-brook Mall. When we arrived the staff was friendly and helpful. They gave us tooth brushes and tooth paste and coupons for breakfast because it was our first visit. The room was clean, well lit, and welcoming. The beds and pillows very comfy. Bar Louie is in the hotel and looked like a lively place for fun. It is used to serve breakfast in the morning. The buffet was exceptional for a hotel. French toast, crispy potatoes, eggs, bacon, sausage links, all fresh and delicious. Our only issue with this hotel is the limited parking available on a Saturday evening. Apparently Bar Louie draws the locals and created a shortage of spaces. But the front desk did their best even offering an employee space to us. We only waited about 10 minutes till some one left. Not to mention the snow added to that issue. Overall I think it was a great value. We will stay here again because of its location, staff, rooms and breakfast.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank JohAnna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear JohAnna C,

Thank you for your review from your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate any feedback from our guestsl, good or bad. We here at the Holiday Inn Oakbrook Terrace are delighted that you had a great hotel stay with us. We are proud that you enjoyed the staff, breakfast, and room you stayed in. Unfortunately you had to wait on parking due to the Bar Louie guests and we want to apologize for that. We know of the overcrowding parking lots on the weekends and are always looking to improve that experience for our guests.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakbrook Terrace
1.1 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
1,046 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakbrook Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakb...
#2 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
783 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
#4 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terrace
Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terra...
#3 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
239 reviews
1.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook

Address: 17 West 350 22nd Street, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oakbrook Terrace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oakbrook Terrace
Price Range: $76 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oak Brook Hotel represents the best of both worlds by offering an upscale stay, at a not so upscale price. The Holiday Inn is a premiere full service hotel and is ADA- and FEMA-approved. Our guests are provided with an experience not found anywhere else in the city. The hotel is centrally located off I-88 between I-294 and I-355 in the beautiful Oak Brook western suburb, nestled in the shopping and restaurant district. The hotel features complimentary shuttle service to all local corporate offices. The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oakbrook is centrally located for all Chicago corporate business. Nestled in the middle of the Chicago in the suburbs between Midway Airport and O`Hare Airport. The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oakbrook hotel is the best choice for lodging when working with companies alike: IBM, Com Ed, Crowe Horwath, Inland Real Estate, McDonalds, Perkin Elmer, Sara Lee, Joint Commission, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Mid America Plaza Businesses and many more in the Oakbrook, Lombard and Oakbrook Terrace Area. Our meeting rooms also come complete with audio-visual equipment. Cattails Restaurant and Lounge showcases an extensive menu, as well as a comprehensive daily hot breakfast selection, in a cool and comfortable atmosphere. All 217 beautiful decorated rooms are appointed with everything required to ensure your stay will be an enjoyable experience which includes complimentary high-speed Internet access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook Hotel Oakbrook Terrace
Chicago Oakbrook Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Oakbrook Terrace
Oakbrook Terrace Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing