We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe but unexceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I got a room at a real bargain rate on a "no name" deal, so was hoping for something a bit better than the motels I usually stay at in the same price range. In that I was a little disappointed. The hotel was clean and the rooms were comfortable, but no better than in many mid-price motels. Breakfast would have been extra, but was eye-wateringly expensive (as was the in-house restaurant) - better to walk through the parking lot to one of the alternatives nearby.

The pool was OK, though I felt a little self conscious waling back to my room in a dripping costume, and there were signs prohibiting swimming alone (which I am afraid I ignored). The fitness room marked as being next to the pool in the information brochure in the room had been converted into a space with a table and a couple of chairs; it was only when I commented on this when checking out that I was told it had been moved to the second floor. Not very useful to know then...

So if you can get it for a great price then go for it, but I wouldn't want to pay the rate it's normally advertised for on the main booking websites.

Room Tip: Although rooms on the front overlook the main road, they are quite well sound-proofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKMapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear MKMapman,

Thank you for letting us know how your stay with us was. We appreciate you taking the time to do that. I am sorry that your stay was not exceptional as you wanted. I apologize that you did not like the wet walk through the hotel from the pool, pricing of our restaurant menu, and the information brochure not being updated. Your feedback helps us out by letting us know how we are doing. We take all feedback with great value and we will improve our hotel with feedback like yours.

We hope you choose to stay with us again if in the future you need a hotel in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 348 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed here in Oct 2013 when I was visiting Midwestern University for a pharmacy school interview. Aside from my GPS not being able to find the hotel (I called and they gave me the Costco address across the street) I had a great stay. From the time that I stepped in the lobby to the time that I got to my room was mere minutes. Check in was so easy and I was recognized as a rewards member. They upgraded me to a king executive suite from my standard king room which is on the 7th and top floor. I could hear the car traffic on the street when I had the drapes open but I suspect that once I close them I will not hear the traffic at all. There does not seem to be a lot of people here at this time but Im sure that will change since it is coming into the weekend. I also received a voucher for breakfast. I intend to order it and have it delivered to my room.

Room Tip: If you can it seems that the rooms on the top floor are very quiet. I cannot say about the ones on l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Becky870,

Thank you for taking the time to review your hotel stay with us. It looks like you enjoyed it and were really taken care of. We value all of our guests but even more our IHG Rewards Club Members like yourself. You reward us with your business and loyalty and we reward you by taking care of you the best we can such as the complimentary upgrade and breakfast voucher. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the near future if you need hotel accommodations in the Oakbrook Terrace area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

heavily stayed hotel but well maintained. Both nights were packed to the gills, was disappointed in the room only because of its location in the building, 2nd floor, above the bar. We stayed in the presidential suite, affordable, spacious and comfortable otherwise. Will return on another visit but make sure we are on the other side of the hotel or higher floors. Breakfast was great.

Room Tip: stay away from 2nd floor rooms on right side of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nagib F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Nagib F,

Thank you for letting us know how your stay with us was. We truly value your feedback. It helps us grade how we were doing and lets us know if any improvements are needed. We are sorry that you were disappointed due to being above the bar. Unfortunately, sometimes we have to place guests over the bar. We do try to limit the noise in the bar when we know guests are above it.

We are happy though that you thought your stay was good overall and would stay with us again. We think we can do a better job the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked a college student group through Hotels.com and the front desk staff worked out the problems and made things right. Clean, comfortable rooms at a reasonable price with great staff. What more do you need?

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadWarrior817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear RoadWarrior817,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to let us know. We are glad the front desk staff got things right at check-in and got every one to their rooms.

We hope if you are in need of rooms again in our area that you choose to come back. We would love to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The ambiance of the hotel was very good.The campus also had a very nice swimming pool and area around where I could a have a refreshing morning walk. The rooms are comfortable, neat and clean;provided with all the amenities which would be needed for a visitor. The service was quick and satisfying. The location was good for shopping lovers as shopping hubs like costco, wall mart, Messeys were near by. The restaurant served good food. The hotel staff was very helpful, cooperative and prompt. They guided us well about the sight seeing. The cab service and bus service in connection with the hotel is very good. So we could get a cab at reasonable price. Also with the bus service for Air-India crew we could go to wallmart, messeys easily. Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: Select rooms facing the road you will get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anushree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Anushree M,

Wow! It looks like you really enjoyed everything about our hotel. That is fantastic. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay. It means we did our job as we wanted to. I will pass on the review to our staff so that everyone can see what a great job they did.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We really appreciate your thoughts on our hotel.Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Based on old reviews, I have not stayed here for the past several years. However, with a low rate, I decided to give it a try this weekend. I could not be more pleasantly surprised. As a platinum member, I was upgraded to the executive floor, given free breakfast buffets, and given extra bonus points. Front desk staff was so friendly and gracious. I believe her name was Fiona, and she was absolutely a delight. Not a problem granting late checkout for my last day. I was wary about the lack of TV channels (seen in previous reviews), but there were just as many channels as I have on my cable at home. Room was clean and comfortable and the bed was delightfully soft. Also, I always request top floor, in a quiet area with no adjoining door. The room I was given was exactly what I requested... even in the corner which was nice and quiet. I do plan to be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEGGROOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Leggroom,

Thank you for letting us know how your stay was with us. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed it. It was a pleasure hosting your stay. As a Platinum Rewards Club member you are a very important guest to us. Your loyalty with IHG is very appreciated.

Again, thank you for your feedback as it measures how we are doing. We can't wait to host your next stay when your in need of a hotel in our area.

Anthony Quitno
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

my trip started out bad. My computer monitor was broken during flight. The general manager loaned me one, and hooked it up for me. I was so tired. I was upgraded to a huge quiet room. I wanted to watch my son play football on ESPN 3. The front desk tried to find it for me, and we decided I would watch it on my laptop. I was grouchy. They were not. I had dirty clothes and was going to be gone another wee. They had a guest laundry. They honored a great rate and threw in breakfast. I love this team and this property. They earned my loyalty and future Chicago stays

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Suzanne B,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We value your feedback as it measures how our hotel is doing. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. You are valued as a guest of our hotel and that is why we went the extra mile. We took great pride and making your stay a success.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to display our service to you again if you come back to our area and are in need of a hotel in the future.

Anthony Quitno
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakbrook Terrace
1.1 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
1,038 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
#4 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
242 reviews
1.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terrace
Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terra...
#3 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakbrook Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakb...
#2 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
773 reviews
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace
Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbro...
#7 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook

Address: 17 West 350 22nd Street, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oakbrook Terrace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oakbrook Terrace
Price Range: $75 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oak Brook Hotel represents the best of both worlds by offering an upscale stay, at a not so upscale price. The Holiday Inn is a premiere full service hotel and is ADA- and FEMA-approved. Our guests are provided with an experience not found anywhere else in the city. The hotel is centrally located off I-88 between I-294 and I-355 in the beautiful Oak Brook western suburb, nestled in the shopping and restaurant district. The hotel features complimentary shuttle service to all local corporate offices. The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oakbrook is centrally located for all Chicago corporate business. Nestled in the middle of the Chicago in the suburbs between Midway Airport and O`Hare Airport. The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oakbrook hotel is the best choice for lodging when working with companies alike: IBM, Com Ed, Crowe Horwath, Inland Real Estate, McDonalds, Perkin Elmer, Sara Lee, Joint Commission, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Mid America Plaza Businesses and many more in the Oakbrook, Lombard and Oakbrook Terrace Area. Our meeting rooms also come complete with audio-visual equipment. Cattails Restaurant and Lounge showcases an extensive menu, as well as a comprehensive daily hot breakfast selection, in a cool and comfortable atmosphere. All 217 beautiful decorated rooms are appointed with everything required to ensure your stay will be an enjoyable experience which includes complimentary high-speed Internet access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook Hotel Oakbrook Terrace
Chicago Oakbrook Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Oakbrook Terrace
Oakbrook Terrace Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing