We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Based on old reviews, I have not stayed here for the past several years. However, with a low rate, I decided to give it a try this weekend. I could not be more pleasantly surprised. As a platinum member, I was upgraded to the executive floor, given free breakfast buffets, and given extra bonus points. Front desk staff was so friendly and gracious. I believe her name was Fiona, and she was absolutely a delight. Not a problem granting late checkout for my last day. I was wary about the lack of TV channels (seen in previous reviews), but there were just as many channels as I have on my cable at home. Room was clean and comfortable and the bed was delightfully soft. Also, I always request top floor, in a quiet area with no adjoining door. The room I was given was exactly what I requested... even in the corner which was nice and quiet. I do plan to be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEGGROOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Leggroom,

Thank you for letting us know how your stay was with us. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed it. It was a pleasure hosting your stay. As a Platinum Rewards Club member you are a very important guest to us. Your loyalty with IHG is very appreciated.

Again, thank you for your feedback as it measures how we are doing. We can't wait to host your next stay when your in need of a hotel in our area.

Anthony Quitno
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 345 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

my trip started out bad. My computer monitor was broken during flight. The general manager loaned me one, and hooked it up for me. I was so tired. I was upgraded to a huge quiet room. I wanted to watch my son play football on ESPN 3. The front desk tried to find it for me, and we decided I would watch it on my laptop. I was grouchy. They were not. I had dirty clothes and was going to be gone another wee. They had a guest laundry. They honored a great rate and threw in breakfast. I love this team and this property. They earned my loyalty and future Chicago stays

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Suzanne B,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We value your feedback as it measures how our hotel is doing. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. You are valued as a guest of our hotel and that is why we went the extra mile. We took great pride and making your stay a success.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to display our service to you again if you come back to our area and are in need of a hotel in the future.

Anthony Quitno
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Booked this through priceline. Two adults with 2 small kids. Was disappointed that we could not get a smoke free king, but that is the chance you take with priceline so we did get nonsmoking double, which was fine... Room was pretty updated and clean. Unfortunately we were next to work out room so some noise with door opening/closing - again possibly drawback of priceline booking... but we had a baby (who cried) so I was not that upset... There was a bar/restaurant that looked pretty busy and maybe would have been good to check out sans kids. We chose to walk next door to the Chicago pizza restaurant! Otherwise no walking as this is a busy street. Parking was pretty crowded. We also used the pool which was fine although a bit cool. Probably would not choose this again but would not be disappointed to secure via Priceline. The vibe for me was not too kid-friendly.

Room Tip: Reserve non-smoking if important to you. Ask to not be next to work out room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadwarriormama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Roadwarriormama,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am glad that our room accommodations were sufficient for your needs. I regret the discomfort the noise levels may have caused you.

Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the time you enter to the you leave. Good food, comfortable rooms, great breakfast and friendly front office. All this affordable prices. Interesting to note that Air India considers this good place for resting their teams. Enjoy the cosco opposite with complimentary member cards.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravishanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Ravishanr,

Thank you for providing your thoughts on your stay with us. They are truly valued as they let us know how we are doing.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are an important guest to us and we try our best to accommodate all needs of our guests. We are continually thinking of new ways to do that and feedback from guests like you help us do that.

Hope to see you again soon so we can continually show how important a guest you are.

Anthony Q
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a very good hotel with big rooms, great beds and pillows. Their buffett breakfast, is really dissapointing, they do not offer many things to choose from. Although, there are better places to have breakfast really near. Also they are close to the Oakbrook Mall. There is an excellent Giordano restaurant at walking distance. Best thing of this hotel for me, was their front desk, really efficient and polite staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54lillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear 54lillian,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. You are a valued guest of ours and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we did.

We pride ourselves on our friendly guest service so we are happy that you enjoyed our staff. Unfortunately, you were not happy with our breakfast and the the number of options. We are sorry you were disappointed in that. We are looking into having more choices so that all of our guests are happy with our breakfast and do not have to go elsewhere for meals.

Thank you once again and we hope to host you again.

Anthony Q
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have been staying at the Holiday Inn and other IHG group hotels for over 5 years now and have had a consistently good experience barring one or two aberrations.

I stayed at a IHG group hotel in July 2013 after a gap of almost 18 months and I was happy that they continue to provide excellent value for money.

What I liked:
- Free WiFi, free parking
- Great location (most amenities within walking distance or less than 2 minutes of driving - Costco, shopping, gas, restaurants, pharmacy, Starbucks)
- Microwave and refrigerator provided on request (we got both at no extra charge)
- Swimming pool
- We had two rooms for 10 nights, so they put us up in two adjacent rooms that were in a secluded corner; this helped from a privacy point of view as well as ensuring that we did not disturb or get disturbed by other rooms on the floor

What could have been better:
- They had only one washer and one drier in the guest laundry room
- Bar Louie which is their attached restaurant has limited options for vegetarians

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the second floor - most guest amenities other than the swimming pool are on this floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suhasmallya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Suhasmallya,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in what you liked and thought could be better about our hotel. We greatly appreciate your thoughts. We are glad you have enjoyed IHG hotels now for over 5 years. I am also glad you enjoyed our hotel and had a lot of likes for it.

We are sorry that you did not like us only having one washer and dyrer and not enough vegetarian items. That something we will look in to as we want to provide the best stay for all our guests. We are continually striving to for complete guest satisfaction.

We hope if you come back to our area that we can again provide a comfortable stay for you.

Sincerely,

Anthony Q
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Bar Louie was very good for both drinks and food. Customer service was great depending on who you worked with at the hotel. 3 of 4 employees I dealt with were fantastic and very knowledgeable. The other gave me the Wifi password from a week ago, didn't give me any of the priority club benefits I got the next day when I asked someone else for it AND seemed overall uninterested in helping me.

Great location in a very nice suburb of chicago. 15-20 minutes away from just about anything.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brs14ku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Brs14ku,

Thank you for review on your recent hotel stay with us. We value your opinions and they are very worthwhile. They help us measure how we are doing.

I am sorry that you were not given the Loyalty Rewards benefits the second day and that we seemed uninterested in helping you. That is not how we normally do business so I greatly apologize for that service.

We would like to show you our staff can serve you better if you give us another chance in the future.

Tony Quitno
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakbrook Terrace
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
#4 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
241 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
1,021 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakbrook Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakb...
#2 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
1.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terrace
Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terra...
#3 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook

Address: 17 West 350 22nd Street, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oakbrook Terrace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oakbrook Terrace
Price Range: $84 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oak Brook Hotel represents the best of both worlds by offering an upscale stay, at a not so upscale price. The Holiday Inn is a premiere full service hotel and is ADA- and FEMA-approved. Our guests are provided with an experience not found anywhere else in the city. The hotel is centrally located off I-88 between I-294 and I-355 in the beautiful Oak Brook western suburb, nestled in the shopping and restaurant district. The hotel features complimentary shuttle service to all local corporate offices. The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oakbrook is centrally located for all Chicago corporate business. Nestled in the middle of the Chicago in the suburbs between Midway Airport and O`Hare Airport. The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oakbrook hotel is the best choice for lodging when working with companies alike: IBM, Com Ed, Crowe Horwath, Inland Real Estate, McDonalds, Perkin Elmer, Sara Lee, Joint Commission, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Mid America Plaza Businesses and many more in the Oakbrook, Lombard and Oakbrook Terrace Area. Our meeting rooms also come complete with audio-visual equipment. Cattails Restaurant and Lounge showcases an extensive menu, as well as a comprehensive daily hot breakfast selection, in a cool and comfortable atmosphere. All 217 beautiful decorated rooms are appointed with everything required to ensure your stay will be an enjoyable experience which includes complimentary high-speed Internet access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook Hotel Oakbrook Terrace
Chicago Oakbrook Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Oakbrook Terrace
Oakbrook Terrace Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing