We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but had ants in our bathroom and adjoining bathrooms- cold pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
Hortonville, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice staff but had ants in our bathroom and adjoining bathrooms- cold pool!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Upon arriving the hotel is very nice inside. We checked in and got changed to head to a local event. Upon coming back we decided to swim, as there was nobody in the pool. The thermometer said 81 degrees but it did not feel like 81 as the water and pool room was so cold. Upon being in the pool another gentleman arrived with his little child and the child refused and they also said it was cold. Upon getting back to the room my daughter was in the bathroom of our adjoining room and kept saying yuck, upon looking she had ants crawling all over her and the floor. I went and looked and we also had ants all over the floor/walls and one on the toilet. Yuck!! I did let them know and they said they would take care of it but I will not be back. FYI expensive breakfast/food and coffee in the lobby was roughly 3.50 for a small. Overall nice staff and comfy beds but not a good experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuciKrych, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Katie S,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and bring your concerns to my attention. I would love to discuss your stay further and can be reached either at 630-691-1500 or by email: luci.krych@marriott.com
Respectfully,
Luci Krych
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    92
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
59
40
13
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed here for business recently. Close proximity to a lot of local chain restaurants. Layout was the conventional square building with a courtyard. Room itself was small, and while it was clean it didn't smell fresh/clean. Not sure if it was because the bathroom floor wasn't cleaned properly or what. The AC was quiet and the bed was fine. Also, the Courtyards in general have done away with complementary lobby coffee (not happy about that!).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuciKrych, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
gregc1982,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Oakbrook Terrace. We certainly appreciate your feedback and will keep your suggestions in mind as we look for ways to enhance our guest experience.
Thank you again for choosing Courtyard by Marriott.
Respectfully,
Luci Krych
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Due to a mix up in booking for a conference ( not the hotel's fault ) we were informed no room and no availability. After the front desk did some digging and even called another property which was also full, they took the time to ANALYZE the bookings and determined they should have rooms based on typical cancellations and were able to accommodate us without impacting other customers. All the staff, including one of the maintenance men who was involved in some renovation with windows, were very pleasant, courteous, and professional. Restaurant/bar staff was very friendly as well. Would stay here again if business in the area.

Room Tip: Depends on your preference....I like to be near the elevator/lobby. My room was 352 and that is A L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuciKrych, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
J L,
Thank you for your positive review and for taking the time to post it on our Trip Advisor page. I am happy to hear that our staff was very helpful during your stay. We work hard as a team to ensure each guest has an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your positive review on our hotel's services and amenities We look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.
Respectfully,
Luci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

What I liked most about this hotel was the value. I've used other websites to book hotels, but at this point I prefer booking directly when I can find a decent hotel at at decent price. This is that kind of place. The hotel was clean and relatively quiet. There is a lot of shopping and restaurants nearby as well. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICNiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuciKrych, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
ICNiT,
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post on our TripAdvisor page. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our amenities and the location of our property. You sure can get carried away in our area with all the different options available to you. We look forward to seeing you again.
Luci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Reserved with Oakbrook shopping experience - $50 gift card plus free breakfast for two. Updated hotel (even smells good). Clean, quiet and comfortable room. Really nice bedding! Professional and helpful staff. Excellent value for the price!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micheletc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuciKrych, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Micheletc,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience here at the Courtyard by Marriott; Chicago Oakbrook Terrace. We are thrilled to see that you found our beds; comfortable, our staff professional and your room was clean and comfortable. We work hard as a team to ensure each guest has an enjoyable stay. We look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.
Luci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Two night stay for business. Hotel is tucked away off a very busy street which makes finding it a little tricky but a real bonus since it is away from the traffic and all. Landscaped grounds makes it a very inviting hotel. Lobby very open and inviting as was the staff. Hotel is in close proximity to a ton of great places to eat and drink. I may go back just for a pleasure trip sometime.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are going to be good, but 2nd floor is my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadisonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuciKrych, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
MadisonBob,
Thank you very much for the awesome review. We're glad your stay was so enjoyable and we were able to provide all the services and amenities you needed. Our team is very passionate about service and truly goes above and beyond for every guest, every day.
We are a secret gem and glad you found us and look forward to seeing you here again.
Regards,
Luci Krych
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Yes, it's a Courtyard and exactly what you would expect...consistently pleasant. This one has an especially nice staff. My only complaint was that though my meeting was within a 2-3 minute drive, shuttle service could not be provided because it was a weekend and no shuttle was available. I had to take a cab to and from each day (a $3 fare that you hate to get a driver out for) which was kind of a pain. Bed was comfortable...really liked the bedding and the walls are well sound-proofed, so it was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuciKrych, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Stacey H,
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post on our TripAdvisor page. Thank you especially for mentioning our staff. We work hard as a team to ensure each guest has an enjoyable stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable new beds. As part of the Marriott family we strive to make our hotel your home away from home. We do hope that you visit our hotel again.
Respectfully,
Luci Krych
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakbrook Terrace
2.0 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
1,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakbrook Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakb...
#2 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook
#5 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
#4 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
231 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terrace

Property: Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terrace
Address: 6 Transam Plaza Dr, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181-4254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oakbrook Terrace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oakbrook Terrace
#3 Business Hotel in Oakbrook Terrace
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oakbrook Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Oakbrook Terrace Hotel Oakbrook Terrace
Courtyard Oakbrook Terrace
Oakbrook Terrace Courtyard
Oakbrook Terrace Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing