We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL IN THE AREA FOR THE $”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great stay overall. Never had a chance to see the pool. I got great value shopping online. my room was very clean. Need some update.Flat screen TV's thru out the rooms.Very comfortable king size bed with plenty of pillows. a/c nice and cold. no mayor problems with room.

Room Tip: corner rooms are more spacios
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BENDITOPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesOBT, Manager at Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear BENDITOPR;

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are truly pleased you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to hosting your future lodging needs.

Happy Travels!

Geri Mulso
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 242 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

Pros:
comfortable bed
acceptable amount of space in room for two people to sleep
acceptable amount of space to entertain about five or six people in living room area


Cons:
-DISGUSTING swimming pool - that was a major letdown because we purposely stayed overnight to enjoy a pool; we couldn't even bring ourselves to get in pool or stay in that space

-we were part of a block of rooms and were told (by the hotel staff when we booked directly over the phone) that check in could happen at any time on the arrival day....WRONG! we were not allowed to check in until 2:00, our event was at 2:30, and we (adults, children) had to change into dress clothes in the dark, dungeon lower level in order to make our event on time

-breakfast - more tables needed in rooms; cooler temps are needed because it was hot and smelled badly in all breakfast rooms; I tried to ask for more syrup at one point and the hotel employee literally looked at me and ran away

-room keys are constantly not working, even when kept away from magnetic strips and cell phones

-shuttle van - drives way too fast; has windows open!!!! rather than AC on; it was like being on an amusement park ride but there was no amusement in this ride

End result:
Would never stay here again. Would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Would never stay at a Comfort Suites again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patterson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesOBT, Manager at Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Patterson4;

Thank you for taking some time to share your experiences during your stay at Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace. I am pleased you enjoyed the layout of your suite.

With regard to the pool, we use a chemical called Bromine instead of Chlorine. Bromine is gentler on your skin than chlorine and doesn't have such a strong aroma. Bromine will also leave the water with a bit of a cloudy appearance. I do apologize for the confusion this may have caused.

I am truly sorry for confusion with regard to the check in time. In the contract executed by the bride it was stated clearly that check in time is any time after 3:00. This is also stated in all email confirmation letters several times as well. We are happy to Pre Register guests prior to the check in time and hold their luggage until their suite is ready. It is regrettable that this information was not relayed clearly to the group by the group contact. Our check out time is not until noon, an entire hour later than the majority of the Oak Brook area hotels. Our housekeeping staff cleans the guests staying over in the morning and begins the checkout rooms around 11:00 a.m. so our departing guests do not feel as though we are trying to chase them out. All suites go through a final inspection by the head housekeeper between 2:00 and 3:00 in the afternoon, after which they are released for rental.

Our main breakfast area is able to accommodate approximately 25 people. During high occupancy times we have an auxiliary breakfast area connected to the main breakfast area that accommodates and additional 50 people. We also post signage in the main area where additional seating is available. Again, it is regrettable that this information was overlooked. As far as the temperature, we simply cannot please everyone, we always try, but some days that is not possible. What is too hot for one is too cool for another so we keep the area at a constant 69 degrees. Temperatures are bound to elevate when so many people are occupying the same area.

And lastly, the Shuttle service. The shuttle is not an advertised amenity and is only used for groups and corporate travelers with pre-arrangements through the sales department. In the contract, the shuttle was pre-arranged for pick up only from the event. Again, information was not relayed correctly to the group from the group contact and guests were given information from the group contact that were not previously agreed upon, nor in the executed contract. However, our Chief Engineer was on staff at the time and in the spirit of good customer service, was able to accommodate the unscheduled shuttle run to the event. At that time is was discovered that the air conditioning was not functioning properly. The options, with everyone in their dress clothes was to ride with the windows up in sweltering heat or to open the windows for air circulation. The majority of the passengers opted for the open windows. As far as the speed of the van, the route to the event was mostly on major highways with a posted speed limit of 55 mph.

It is unfortunate that the information relayed by the person that set up the group differed from the executed contract and wish you luck on future endeavors.

Sincerely,

Geri Mulso
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Not spectacular. Upgraded to from standard to bus sines suite at a cost of $103 before tax. Rooms reasonably clean but somewhat outdated. Shower low pressure and hot water takes forever to reach the room, which was on the second floor, away from street. Ok for a one night stay. Breakfast good. Overall better than average for the price in this area. I booked online with rewards membership.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelshamurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesOBT, Manager at Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Michaelshamurphy;

Thank you for taking some time to share your travel experience. The suite that was originally booked was for one of our Standard Non-Renovates Suites. Our entire second and third floor have been newly renovated within the past 2 years. The first floor suites (the one you first had) are slated for renovation in 2015. Thank you for noticing the difference.

Comfort Suites, Oakbrook Terrace is considered a 'green hotel' and all of our shower heads are water savers which will save approximately 7 gallons of water per shower. One of the unfortunately results for being more ecologically responsible is a reduction of water pressure. I apologize if that was an inconvenience.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

Sincerely,

Geri Mulso
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Over all, my stay was OK. We booked two rooms, one across from the other. Strange as to why one room was more expensive than the other. My one complaint, confusion regarding the breakfast hour. Literature in the room did not agree with the info given by desk attendants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DelawareLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesOBT, Manager at Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear DelawareLA;

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The breakfast hours are posted at the desk and in each suite stating Monday - Friday 6 a.m. - 9 a.m. and Saturday and Sunday 7 a.m. - 10 a.m. I apologize for any confusion.

With regard to the price difference in suites, you had one suite with a king bed maximum occupancy 3, and one suite with two double beds maximum occupancy of 5. Suites with double beds are typically $10.00 more since the occupancy is almost double that of a king, leaving double the laundry, double the utility usage etc.

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with other travelers.

Sincerely,

Geri Mulso
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel is old and out dated, the rooms are not very welcoming, with plastic amenities and bed TVs. initially they gave me a first floor room facing the main road. when i asked to move, they charged me extra per night to get a second floor facing the back room. if you just need a room for a night, it is ok, but for a long stay it might not be a positive experience.

Room Tip: dont agree to stay on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesOBT, Manager at Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Eran O;

Thank you for taking some time to share your experience. Our first floor suites have not yet been renovated like the rest of the hotel. We have them priced at a lower rate for our budget minded travelers. The second and third floor suites have all been newly remodeled which is why they are at a slightly higher rate than the 1st floor suites which is why there was a rate increase when you moved rooms to one of the newly renovated suites from the first floor.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of the amenities that our property has to offer such as the complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free Wi-Fi and 24 hour fitness center.

Sincerely,

Geri Mulso
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel isn't bad for a short stay. I came in to town to celebrate a birthday so I needed something simple and this was everything I needed for a very short period of time. I'm picky about certain things, but if the room is clean and in good condition, I'm good. My suite was equipped with a living room with a refrigerator, microwave and flat screen tv, separate bedroom with a king size bed, sitting room and bathroom. The suite was clean, there was no mold or cracks anywhere. The bed was comfortable and there was no noise considering there was some sort of gathering or reunion that weekend. I didn't have to request anything extra. The AC worked great and all appliances were in working condition. The hotel offers free parking as well as free breakfast. I have no complaints. Thank you for everything.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Tashakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesOBT, Manager at Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear TashaKane;

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with Comfort Suites, Oakbrook Terrace.

We look forward to hosting your future hotel needs when you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Geri Mulso
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

my suite was 2 beds with living room and balcony.

As you enter room, there is a small living room followed by a tiny bedroom with 2 double beds. There is very little space in the bedroom to move around. The balcony is just symbolic. 3 people can hardly stand there (no more space to move then). Heater fan is near bathroom and its very noisy. The vent in the room keeps buzzing and its very annoying. I had weak WiFi connection. Bathroom was super small. I was surprised to see that comfort suites can have that sort of bathrooms! Shower was in a bad shape. Tap pressure was very bad.

As there were many issues in the room and it was late night, I didn't try to bother front desk and request corrections. It was not easy for me to switch room with kids as all were very sleepy. However, my overall experience was NOT nice with this property.

Room Tip: This is not traditional "Comfort Suites". Look for better hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannyboy-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesOBT, Manager at Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear DannyBoy-NJ

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with Comfort Suites, Oakbrook Terrace, IL. I agree with you that it IS odd that the actual balcony for the suites that have them are approximately 3 feet deep. I have no idea what purpose the original architecht had in mind. Unfortunately there are no cost effective options currently available to to expand the solid concrete 'balcony'.

Each of our suites is approximately 400 square feet not including the bathroom, depending on the size of your family I can definitely understand you needing more room. There are other hotels in the area that offer much larger suites but those also come with a much larger price.

We are considered a 'green hotel' and all of our shower heads are water savers which will save approximately 7 gallons of water per shower. One of the unfortunately results for being more ecologically responsible is a reduction of water pressure. I apologize if that was an inconvenience.

We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and the other amenities that we offer such as the complimentary hot breakfast buffet, indoor swimming pool and fitness center.

We wish you luck in you future travels.

We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

Sincerely,

Geri Mulso
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakbrook Terrace
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakbrook Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakb...
#2 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
773 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
1,038 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook
#5 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
348 reviews
1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace
Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbro...
#7 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Waterford Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace

Address: 17W445 Roosevelt Rd, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181-3526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oakbrook Terrace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oakbrook Terrace
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oakbrook Terrace
#4 Business Hotel in Oakbrook Terrace
Price Range: $76 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Suites Hotel located in the heart of the Oak Brook business district, offers 100% smoke free accommodations in all 2-Room suites. All suites have french style doors seperating the bedroom and living room. Each room has a flat screen TV (32" and larger). Each suite has 2 flat screen TVs. The hotel offers a full cooked hot breakfast daily, free Wi-Fi, indoor pool, dry Sauna, 24 hour fitness center, Business Center, 24 hour coin-operated guest laundry and more. The hotel has a lounge featuting a bar open some weekday evenings - come join us and mingle with other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace Hotel Oakbrook Terrace
Oakbrook Terrace Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing