We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 15, 2008

This is a nice hotel with a decent price about 20 minutes from downtown Chicago. The room is large with a fridge and microwave. There are French doors separating the two queen beds from the second TV with a queen sofa bed. The hotel is clean and the complimentary breakfast was very good. The pool was small but also nice. What we really liked was the staff. The front desk lady with dark hair had worked there for a few years and knew how to help us with directions. She made our trip go very smooth.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank huskertravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 242 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2008

My husband and I and our two kids, 10 and 7 years old, stayed here for a few days. After looking online, we decided this was the best value for our money and somewhat close to Chicago. The front desk staff was very nice and when we discovered they gave us a room with 1 King bed instead of 2 doubles, they fixed the issue right away. The rooms were clean, the bedding was nice and the beds were comfortable. Even the pull out sofa was not horrible. There was some noise from the busy street in front, but it was not horrible. Every day the maid would make a swan out of a towel and the kids loved that.

Pros- Clean rooms with a nice sized fridge/freezer/microwave. The free breakfast is a big money saver. It comes with waffles, pastries, fruit, cereal, yogurt, eggs, toast and bagels. It was good and free. The front desk staff is very helpful with directions and suggestions on things to do around the area. They also were very helfpul in figuring out the best way to naviate Chicago once you get off the train at the train station.

Cons-The lines for the breakfast are terrible on the weekends and the room that the breakfast is served in is way too small and hot. People who were sitting down to eat had a constast stream of people hovering direclty over them while they tried to eat their meal. You are better off going down there yourself, putting on the food on a tray and taking it back to the room. The pool is in the basement, so there is no natural daylight. It's also pretty small and seemed to have too high of a chlorine level. It was also too deep for my 7 year old, even in the shallow end, so families with small kids will not be able to enjoy it very easily.

Overall, it was very nice and the savings was tremendous compared to staying in Chicago. It was well worth saving literally hundreds of dollars and riding the Metra into the city. The staff really wants your stay to be the best it can be and thei helpfulness and kind attitude made the cons not seem that bad!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougpower0472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2006

If your goal is to get a 2 room suite at the lowest possible price, this is your place. I wish I had spent a little more and stayed elsewhere. It was a little old and dumpy, but generally clean and well maintained. The whole place just had a weird feel, like the little "lounge" in the basement open for a couple hours on weeknights. The breakfast was nothing special and generally very crowded. They offer an upgraded breakfast for $4/person that was starting to look good...but with 4 people in the room, we could have gotten a better hotel for that kind of money! The neighborhood was a little seedy. I didn't feel threatened at any time, but we felt it best to be very alert when out and about. Getting downtown from here was more tedious and time consuming than I had hoped.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smingebrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2006

This is not a five-star hotel but the price was right! Chicago hotels get really pricy within the city and to stay outside was well worth it.
The breakfast that is included with the room price was great - You can make your own waffles, have coffee, juice and pastry as well as fruit. For just $4 you can have a hot meal prepared on the spot.
The rooms in overlooking the rear parking lot were quiet. The decor is not fancy, but again, this accommodation is also less that $80/night.
I would go back again and recommend it to everyone who is going to Chicago on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catty96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2005

Just stayed one night at this hotel and paid $79 to listen to major traffic noise and whistling windows. Not to mention the floors that squeaked with every step I took, or the worn out mattress that squeaked every time I rolled over (and how can I forget the rock-hard pillows?). A tired old property in a not-very-good location. Wouldn't stay again, even if it was free. Best avoided...

2  Thank rossbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Rochester, MI
13
Reviewed June 27, 2005

We were traveling with a 90 lb black lab, which they were able to accommodate for only $10 a night. The rooms were decent, typical suite, nothing special, but clean and comfortable. (Which is more than I can say about other hotels I've stayed at.) Bathroom is quite large.

The breakfast is great, made to order eggs, or pancakes or french toast, hash browns, bacon or sausage. The hot breakfast is an additional $3. There is also just the continental breakfast, which is cereal and toast and fruit, or something like that. Go for the hot breakfast!

Only problem... I don't think they have enough parking for all their guests. It seems as though there was only one available spot on the first night, which we took. This was at midnight, so I can only assume someone arriving back later had to park somewhere off-site.

Overall, quite satisfied with my experience!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SuperConstellation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakbrook Terrace
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakbrook Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakb...
#2 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
771 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
1,038 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook
#5 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
348 reviews
1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace
Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbro...
#7 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Waterford Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace

Address: 17W445 Roosevelt Rd, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181-3526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oakbrook Terrace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oakbrook Terrace
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oakbrook Terrace
#4 Business Hotel in Oakbrook Terrace
Price Range: $76 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Suites Hotel located in the heart of the Oak Brook business district, offers 100% smoke free accommodations in all 2-Room suites. All suites have french style doors seperating the bedroom and living room. Each room has a flat screen TV (32" and larger). Each suite has 2 flat screen TVs. The hotel offers a full cooked hot breakfast daily, free Wi-Fi, indoor pool, dry Sauna, 24 hour fitness center, Business Center, 24 hour coin-operated guest laundry and more. The hotel has a lounge featuting a bar open some weekday evenings - come join us and mingle with other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace Hotel Oakbrook Terrace
Oakbrook Terrace Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing