We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cannoli, Food, Wine & Service”
Review of Volare - CLOSED

Volare
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Old 22nd Street
Des moines
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Cannoli, Food, Wine & Service”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Volare had good food, fast friendly service and great desserts. My wife and I thought the gnocchi was incredible! Seating outside is enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank Miami D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    17
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Here for midweek lunch with another couple. Delicious seafood and pasta entrees. Very nice menu, very helpful waitress. Decor is a little extravagant, a little over the top, but still nice. Very pleased.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LCEguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great for Drury Lane Patrons”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

A very good Italian place near Drury Lane. Nice specials, wine list. Very good desserts, too! Excellent seafood.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Smudgecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, Excellent Service”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We arrived, and there was an offer for valet. The spots for parking were close so we chose not to use it. We entered the location and I noticed that all was dark, dark woods and smoked glass in the location. The bar was to the left and we went in for a drink to meet our friends. I had a wonderful martini (Gin Hendricks they did not have Tanqueray 10) the drink was chilled and tasted excellent. My wife had a lemon drop martini that she really enjoyed as well. We finished our drinks and went to our table. We were greeted by Viktor our waiter. He asked if we would like drinks I asked about the Merlot, and he recommend one and the table agreed to a bottle. The merlot recommended started with Tre something sorry cannot remember. We ordered some appetizers of back clams that had a sauce that was amazing. You could make a meal of that sauce and bread. We also had the mozzarella with tomato, wrapped in prosciutto with balsamic drizzled on the top. Outstanding flavor and melted in your mouth. My wife had the risotto with chicken and peas. She loved, and the size so large she was able to take some home. The other guest had the Braciole which thought was great. The other guest and myself had the veal chop. It was about an inch and a half thick. We each had it cooked medium and it was cooke to perfection. There was a light wine sauce with cooked mushrooms on the chop that we cooked perfectly. It was served with a side of risotto that was al dente that I enjoyed. We had dessert off the menu that Viktor recommended of a dessert pizza of nutella and fruit that was very tasty. We left and went into the bar for an after dinner drink. They had a couple who were singing 70's hits they were good, but for a small place the music was a bit loud for conversation. Over all had a great time and would go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Kid_John_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Quality experience @ Volare”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

In some ways, Volare has the look of a tired, outdated Italian restaurant. The interior is not the most inviting. However, the food and service was inviting.

We started by making our own antipasti platter of cheeses and sides. We selected three cheeses and appropriate accompaniments. The grana padano and pecorino sardo were stars. The olives, peppers and sun-dried tomatoes were delicious.

There was a stuffed artichoke special which was ok. I am not a fan of high maintenance foods and pulling and peeling and eating artichoke leaves is a little too much for me. My guest loved it.

We took a pass on the pizza. It looked quite inviting as we saw several tables have it. Classic Naples’s style pizza. We would definitely try it on a return visit. There are several salads worth trying just based on the description and we plan to do a pizza/salad combo next time. The rape salad we had with roasted beets, pistachio dust and creamy dressing was delicious.

We kept the meal light and small though there are several other menu options definitely worth a second look and try. Some standard, classic Italian dishes you see on almost every Italian menu (with the chef’s “twist”). Still worth a try.

Quality wine list, albeit a little on the pricey side. The verdicchio we had came in at about $34/bottle. You can find it for easily under $30 in many restaurants.

We had the pot de crème and a pistachio gelato for dessert. Both very good.

And the service was exceptional. A worthwhile visit and we would return for more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volare also viewed

Oakbrook Terrace, DuPage County
Oakbrook Terrace, DuPage County
 
Oakbrook Terrace, DuPage County
Oakbrook Terrace, DuPage County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing