We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lamb”
Review of Papaspiros

Papaspiros
Reserve with OpenTable
Papaspiros is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 132 Restaurants in Oak Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
usa
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lamb”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I love lamb & this place has some of the best around! I do have a problem here as every time I go people want to taste my dinner & want more. It is greektown in Oak Park. The service & wine were great. We have been here for family dinners & next time I intend to get 2 dished (one for me & one to share). I can't wait for spring & al fresco dining (even if it is rather small). We have never been dissapointed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rufusrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
earlville, ny
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“great food awesome people”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

welcoming! right from the start you are made to feel at home- very attentive waitstaff. food is very very good, much more than just gyros.they are authentic! can be a little pricey but not out of reach. very relaxing setting, wonderful food, nice selections- ask waitstaff for recommendations! would go again! Also in a nice section of Oak Park to do some walking and shopping!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lorri p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun girls' night out on New Year's Eve!”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My friends and I wanted to go out for dinner on New Year's and didn't want anything too casual, but neither did we want to spend megabucks on an expensive dinner package, so we opted to go to Papaspiros.

We shared two starters: the flaming saganaki and the kolokythakia, which is thinly slices of zucchini. lightly breaded and fried and served with skordalia, a garlic mashed potato spread. We loved both choices: the zucchini was so thin and crisp and the garlic dip added just the perfect accompaniment to it.

One of my friends had the spanakopita, which came with oven roasted potatoes, both of which she enjoyed. Another friend had the vegetarian mousaka, which is layers of fresh vegetables topped with a bechamel sauce with a side of peas in a tomato sauce. I opted for my usual, the chicken souvlaki (kebabs), which are served with rice.

The bill came to about $35 per person, which is a good deal for a nice dinner on New Year's Eve. Though the restaurant was crowded, the service was good, and I appreciated our server's knowledge about the Greek wines on offer. While I always prefer going into the city to Greektown, this is a great option just minutes from home.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amethyst23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent service and superior Greek food.”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I have visited this restaurant twice in the last two years. Each time the food and service were superior. My daughter and her husband go there often - it is only a mile from their Oak Park home - and have never had anything but excellent food and welcoming service. They have a way of making the children welcome without affecting the pleasure of those dining without children.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew20850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Go to Greek town for Greek food”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

This is a facsimile of real Greek food. Their liberal use of salt does not change the mediocre taste of the dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Attar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papaspiros also viewed

 

Been to Papaspiros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing