We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect accomodation for Frank Lloyd Wright visitors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harvey House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Harvey House Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   107 South Scoville Avenue, Oak Park, IL 60302   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Oak Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect accomodation for Frank Lloyd Wright visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and I greatly enjoyed staying at this perfect bed and breakfast. Service was impeccable, very friendly and with a personal note. Harvey House is a fantastic historic property in great shape. Attention to details is breathtaking. Do not miss the best pancakes you could ever expect for breakfast. Oak Park historic city center and many Frank Lloyd Wright mansions are within walking distance. You can not go wrong staying at Harvey House.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    17
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
81
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Forget staying on the Magnificant Mile! Harvey House is a wonderful place to stay and the commute to downtown is easy. The rooms are very comfortable and elegant. The Garden Room is charming. Beth serves a delicious breakfast to order and provides great homemade treats. Bicycles make travel around Oak Park easy and fun. A great place to use as a base to see Frank Lloyd Wright homes and Art Institute.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I just spent the most relaxing weekend getaway at Harvey House. We stayed there for 2 nights in the Jimmy Stewart Suite and were delighted with our room and we could not have been be more pleased with our experience. The room was spacious with modern conveniences.The bed was fabulous!! I have not slept in a more comfortable bed. Once you sleep in it you will definately want the sheets (they were awesome and you can order them!)

Harvey House is in a great location in Oak Park, close to dining and entertainment and a short distance from downtown Chicago (less than a half hour to North Michigan Ave). Beth did a wonderful job of showing the property and recommending places for dining and exploring. Both mornings she cooked us a fabulous breakfast, everything was fresh and the service was wonderful. You can tell she puts her heart and soul into her B&B. I appreciated her attention to detail, down to the fresh make-up washcloth on the vanity (nice touch). By the way, be sure to take a look at the Harvey House folder in the room, it has everything you would need to know. We will definately be returning customers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_MrsKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Unique B&B located in a beautifully updated old brick home in trendy Oak Park . All is within walking distant including Unity Temple, studio, and home of Frank Lloyd Wright, Hemingway Museum, fabulous restaurants of every flavor, shops of every kind, and two blocks to the "IL" to zoom into downtown Chicago. I know....who knew?
Innkeeper Beth will grant your every wish, while she is whipping up something from scratch day and night ( the raspberry coffee cake was "divine"!!!) the rooms are spacious, clean, and the Jacuzzi tub for two was perfect after a long day of sightseeing. Two glasses of wine....just ask. Would not think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spiritress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Harvey House BB the weekend of 4/14/12. We booked the Jimmy Stewart room, and it's even more comfortable than the website photos suggest. A king-sized bed with plush bedding and linens... the jaccuzi in the bathroom (fits 1 comfortably)... and the chaise lounge by the fireplace. I enjoyed all three. Breakfast is a delicious affair, with homemade granola (generously laced w/almonds and coconut), oven pancakes (aka, Dutch Baby --WOW), eggs any way and bacon if you want. Beth, the innkeeper, is friendly and informal, and she does a great job of anticipating needs. This is our second stay, and my husband and I will definitely be coming back. Btw-- the 'L' is a 5-minute walk from the B&B, and we took it everywhere.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely. The Jimmy Stewart Room has plenty of windows,but these have shades for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryJZemper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Fabulous B & B, comfortable, very clean,large luxurious rooms, and bathroom. Beth is a great host and fixes a wonderful breakfast. The location is great, a nice neighbourhood with many good restaurants within walking distance. Train close by to downtown. Overall would definitely return.

Room Tip: Jimmy Stewart room faces the train track (in case a light sleeper)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed at the Harvey House B&B while I attended a program at the Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio. While it is a bit of a hike to that location, it was just around the corner from the charming Oak Park downtown area, and two blocks from an el stop that provided an easy ride to downtown Chicago, so I felt the location was great. The B&B itself looks like a stuffy Victorian from the ouside, but inside has been completely renovated and opened up to create a lovely, contemporary atmosphere. My room, the Golden Chest, was beautifully furnished, the bed was comfy and the bathroom shiny, spotless and well lit. Breakfasts were delicious and bountiful, and the host and her helpers were wonderfully hospitable. Some people may be bothered by the periodic roar of the train whizzing fairly nearby, but I found I got used to it quickly and all the assets far outweighed this minor issue. I would stay at the Harvey House again and again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesigningWoman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Park
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 184 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 184 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Harvey House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 107 South Scoville Avenue, Oak Park, IL 60302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Oak Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's most luxurious inn featuring fireplaces and oversized luxury baths with jucuzzi tubs, gourmet breakfast. Suites that are Ideal for Romantic Getaways, and also rooms ideal for the business traveler. Combines the best of luxury hotels and botique inns. Perfect location with supurb access to downtown and airports. WIFI, garage parking, great for romantic getaways, mini breaks, and ideal for the discriminationg business traveler that prefers great furnishings,great matresses and great food. Walk to dozens of shops and restraunts. Chicago Trib calls Harvey House Best Kept Secret and an architectural and design triumph! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Harvey House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing