We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for kids!”

Oak Park Public Library
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Oak Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place for kids!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We love our library! They really cater to children in creative ways. In the main entrance there is a room called the idea box, it changes from month to month with new themes. This summer they had it set up like a beach with sand and sand toys, and also had it set up like a campground with tents and lanterns. The children's area is on the first floor, and has a small aquarium when you walk in. They have an amazing selection of books, a pet gerbil, a toddler room with toys, a wooden pirate ship, and much more. Not to mention they just redid the park and playground outside. Great place for a rainy or lazy day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent facility”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Long opening hours, helpful staff, a very good stock and air conditioning that worked well when the temperature was in the 90s

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“a beautiful library with permanent Hemingway collection”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I love to go there for art exhibits and special events Great for visitors of all ages and next to a newly redone Jens Jensen park -- with a gorgeous WWI memorial status.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobertaOakParkIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OP library - one of the greatest resources. !.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

If you have an image in your mind of an old, stuffy, quiet, dry, stodgy place to visit - this is not THAT place. Oak Park has three total options - the main, Maze (south Oak Park), and Dole (north Oak Park). All are great, beautiful, resourceful places to visit. Having utilized all three, but mainly the main and Maze, I can attest to the power of this resource. Years ago when I was transitioning between jobs, the librarians were great help, and chock-full of ideas. That was 2006, and it started my trek back to using the library. Who knew it was this great?! Now they have a great online presence - very user-friendly website and much more. Love the expanded inter-library loan system they're a part - opens up the realm of possibilities for getting what you need. Architect wise, these buildings are beautiful, worth seeing and experiencing in person. You can not go wrong in any area in visiting in person or online. By far, the best staff people you'll encounter..of course I'm biased, I'm an Oak Parker!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BurtB312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the Library”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Oak Park Library is beautiful inside and out. It is a great place to take a rest. There is free wi-fi so if you need to catch up on your email it is very helpful. They have many computers available but I am not sure how to access them if you are not a library card holder.

Check the website for exhibits and programs. There is always something going on there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sapo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Park Public Library also viewed

 

Been to Oak Park Public Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing