We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“And when I smell this stench...to me it makes a lot of sense!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Lawn
Certificate of Excellence
Northwest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“And when I smell this stench...to me it makes a lot of sense!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2008

I am HH Honors Gold VIP member, and this truly the worst Hilton I have ever stayed in! In it's defense all other Hotles in Oak Lawn look far worse.

I have to agree with the majority of prior reviews. This hotel leaves a lot to be desired.

1. Screwed up reservation.
2. Unclean room.
3. Outdated furnishings (circa 1984).
4. Restaurant is absolutely horrible. The worst pasta dish I have ever ordered. I have to admit that to this day I have never seen flame broiled fettucine (LOL).
5. Service is subpar, and then some.

The place truly needs to be completely renovated.

  • Liked — Checking Out (i'm outta here baby!)
  • Disliked — Flame broiled fettucine (totally serious.)
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WineAuctioneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    201
    125
    50
    43
See reviews for
202
86
52
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

There was not air in the hallways, no air on the elevator, the tolet was broke had to open the top to flush the toilet, the room service calling was horrible had to make 5 calls before anyone would pick up, no blinds on the window to keep the sunlight out, the tv in the room is not up to date, for the price you charge there should be a refrigerator, we had a late checkout at 2 they were calling the room at 1:45 to see if we were staying.

At this point i would not refer anyone to stay at your hotel until some major changes are made.

  • Liked — It was easy get to
  • Disliked — the room service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank finelisa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROOKLYN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

Basic Hilton hotel...nothing outstanding but also not some nasty motel.

Notes:

***Smoke Free Hotel
***Starbucks in lobby
***Big rooms, clean linens
***Free wireless internet
***Free shuttle to Midway airport
***Decent room service, nothing special
***Comfy bed
***Located in a boring neighborhood full of fast food joints
***Right by a train track...heard the train about once an hour, but not loud or annoying

  • Liked — comfortable room with a nice bed
  • Disliked — location, if you are planning a Chicago trip, skip this hotel and pay more to be closer to the action
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ANDYH428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Level Contributor
600 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2008

The hotel is in a good location, a short distance from Midway. They offer shuttle service, scheduled, until 10:30 p.m. The hotel is in need of a facelift and has smelly hallways and is dated. The area of the hotel is questionable but I had no problems. Overall the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Oh, I guess I should mention the train that blows its horn right outside the window of the hotel room. Bring earmuffs.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cokerbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglasville GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2008

The Hilton located 9333 S. Cicero Oak Lawn IL is convienent to Midway Airport & rather unique in that it is a round building that allows rooms to be a little oversize. Free parking & check-in is easy & a bellhop is on duty to assist w/luggage. Bath has 2 sinks stocked w/toiletries & oversized towels befitting a Hilton Hotel. An upscale bar & restaurant is on premises that was just OK. An excellent Italian eatery is located just west of Cicero ave on south side of 95th st that I highly recommend ( the name escapes me). The Hilton does not have a free continental breakfast & at $15.00 I would eat at one of the many local restaurants. There is an indoor pool & exercise room but I did not use these facilities. Definately recommend for the business traveler but not for a family on a budget.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank armyguy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2007

Two words....bed bugs. The Hilton Oak Lawn should be condemned.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelers1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2007

Stayed one night with family on a pass through Chicago trip - the hotel overall was nice, clean, friendly staff. Our shuttle driver from the airport was great - very informative. Check in was quick and easy, room service was fast! The room was OK but a few cosmetic issues - not expected at a Hilton. The only real issue was vanity area was very tiny and several times if you turned around the coat rack shelf was bang! right there and will smack you in the forehead if your not careful - tricky spot to manuever in so be careful! Breakfast was good and the service was excellent. Easy check out and great assist in helping us get out of town. Not sure I would stay here again but that's my personal preference to have a little nicer room.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank jacksmom505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Lawn
4.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago Midway Airport
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites - Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crestwood
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport
11.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tinley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn

Property: Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
Address: 9333 South Cicero Avenue, (Cicero Avenue at 95th Street), Oak Lawn, IL 60453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Oak Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Lawn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Midway Airport hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers. Our Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn offers complimentary airport shuttle with house phone at baggage claim. All guests can take advantage of our complimentary WiFi, and access to our indoor swimming pool and fitness center. Just 4 miles South of Midway Airport and Orange Line train to downtown Chicago. 3 blocks to Chicago Metra Commuter Rail Train. Easy walking distance to area shopping, dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Oak Lawn Hotel Oak Lawn
Hilton Hotel Oak Lawn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing