We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion Trip”
Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Lawn
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family Reunion Trip”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here for four nights while in town for a family reunion. The entire staff is very friendly and accomodating. The property is not new, yet the room was totally comfortable and clean. The beds were very nice and the air conditioning was better than some five star hotels I have stayed in. Frig and microwave in the room came in very handy since we were there for more than a day. We chose this motel due to it's proximity to family and will definately use it again when we are in town. Very reasonably priced. While on a major street the noise was never an issue. Breakfast each morning was a pleasant surprise! You can tell the family owners take pride in their product and want to make their guests happy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    30
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
22
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Davie
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here and really liked it. It is very basic and clean. Didn't want to stay in the city due to cost. We drove to the Midway park and ride to go into the city. $5 at park and ride and ticket was $2.75 each way.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here serveral times one time for a month last time was in june 2012 alway have a nice comfortable rest staff is very friendly .will stay here again in june of this year would like to think I could get some kind of Discount. I have been coming here from Georgia sense 2006. An this the only place me and my sister feel comfortable staying. Thanks to niceness of Sherrie an the cleanest of this place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Love staying here. This was my second time. Stayed in the same room both times. Room has been updated since my first stay and looks great. Super clean and a great rate. Beds are very comfey. The Gateway Motel is close to Portillo's too. Great access to Cicero and the Toll-ways too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xzor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

So wish I could gush. Service here was that good. Unfortunately, room smelled a bit moldy and kicked off my allergies something fierce. Traffic was noisy. I read reviews about both so prepared myself w/a room freshener and "white noise" machine. Couldn't have slept without them. Loved the staff; sleeping was on the challenging side. TIP: no blow dryer. Bring own coffee as the room had large coffee maker but like most hotels/motels now: supplied enough coffee for one (!) cup of regular. Breakfast served in front office has more coffee, but nice to have in own room too. Fridge in my room was convenient.

Room Tip: Room 25 was on second floor but was musty, noisy from street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVinWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritaonthelawn, Owner at Gateway Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
So sorry the traffic kept you from sleeping, that is a problem we are currently working on.
We are so happy the staff made you feel comfortable, and we are also almost done with
entire make over the the hotel.

So please come back for a second try, and this time we are serving hot coffee, hot waffles,
and so much more.

Sincerly,
Bob and Rita, the Gateway to Oak Lawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

After a terrible night at another motel with an uncomfortable mattress that was way too old, we looked at Trip Advisor to find an alternative and found the Gateway. We loved the new mattress, friendly service and comfortable room. Yes, this is an older motel, but it is a good location for us to visit family. The street is noisy at night, but turning on the A/C helped drown out the traffic noise. Good continental breakfast with hard-boiled eggs, bagels and cream cheese, cereal and bananas. Good wi-fi signal. We will be back!

Room Tip: Kitchenettes are available if you need more than a microwave and mini-fridge. However, no dishes or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just would like to thank the owners of the motel for being very accomodating. We stayed there this past weekend and the room was very nice. The flat screen tv and cable, air conditioning, bed, and bath were clean. We will gladly stay there the next time we are here visiting our Chicago family.

Room Tip: If you need a first floor, make sure you request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowavisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Lawn
0.2 mi away
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
#1 of 4 in Oak Lawn
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Midway Inn & Suites
Midway Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Oak Lawn
18 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites - Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip
4.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Chicago/alsip
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Property: Gateway Inn
Address: 4657 W 95th St, Oak Lawn, IL 60453-2529
Location: United States > Illinois > Oak Lawn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Lawn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, super clean and affordable. Great location near Advocate Hospital, Little Company of Mary Hospital, Midway Airport, downtown Chicago, metra station. We offer a free breakfast, HBO, ESPN and more....we are a great stop as a real at-home Mom and Pop inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing