We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Chicago Southland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Chicago Southland
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here during the Christmas-New Years holiday while visiting family. I was very surprised at how nice it was. Rooms are huge, among the biggest I've seen in a non-suite hotel (I swear we had two kings instead of the two queens that were listed). Everything was clean and new, easy to use WIFI and nice breakfast. There was an incident with some rowdy guests that had to be escorted away, but it was New Years Eve and it was handled quickly so I won't downgrade them for that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gjames80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwchicagosouthland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chicago Southland, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review! I am so happy to hear that you were pleasantly suprised and loved our clean rooms! I personally would like to apologize for any trouble you had with the guests that had to be escorted out. After one complaint and the guest not cooperating we did call the police and have them take care of the situation. Thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    75
    26
    9
    6
See reviews for
85
37
16
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Clean, Clean, Clean. The rooms are very comfortable and did I mention clean? Great people that want to take care of your needs and put you at ease. Kick your shoes off and enjoy. If it had a bar and grill I don't think I would leave.

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwchicagosouthland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chicago Southland, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Best place I've stayed, it's my favorite! What a great review title. I am so happy to heard that you enjoy our very clean hotel and get to kick your shoes off and relax whenever you stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we look foward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I drove in for a family emergency, I had stayed here earlier in the year for a family celebration in the area, so I was familiar with the property. The location is in a quiet spot, far enough from the freeway to be free of traffic noise but centrally located for our needs in the southern suburbs.
Once again the beds were fresh and comfortable.
The breakfast attendant was cheerful and efficient, as was the desk staff.
Check in was quick an easy, the cost was easy on my budget. Overall a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwchicagosouthland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chicago Southland, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Julie thank you for continuing to stay with us when you are in Chicago. I am happy to hear that you once again enjoyed your stay with us. We get many compliments about the comfort of our beds and the cleanliness of our hotel. We will be seeing you soon in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is tucked away in a quiet little corner but still right near the expressway. It is hidden a bit and I can see how some reviewers find it a little hard to find but it's quiet and far enough away from the expressway to not be noisy in the rooms yet close enough; just a minute or two to just jump right on the expressway to get around. The hotel is quite stunning. It's got vibrant colors and is very modern. Fresh baked warm Otis spunkmeyer cookies as you check in were sooo good!The indoor heated pool and hot tub was very welcoming after being in meetings all day. I didn't use the exercise room even though I had planned on it but I just didn't have the time but it looked really nice. I didn't need to use the business center because I bring my laptop everywhere but the free wireless was great. The free breakfast was my favorite.. It had hot items like sausage, egg and waffles plus so much more. Very great value for the money and wonderful customer service too. The girls at the front desk were very outgoing and funny and made me laugh every time I was in the lobby. I was very impressed with this hidden gem and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geanine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwchicagosouthland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chicago Southland, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your time to leave us a great review! We are conveniently located right off interstate 57 in a quiet business park. We have signs to help our guests navigate to our hidden gem. All of our free amenities add up to a great value. I am thrilled to hear that my front desk staff was outgoing and made you laugh every time you were in the lobby. We hope to see you back at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Southland next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Using GPS, I had no trouble finding this Best Western, and there was plenty of parking upon arrival. The room was clean except for some strange red stain on the carpet. We had been told a roll-away bed could be obtained on arrival (or at least by bedtime), but once we arrived, we were told none were available; however, they moved us to a room with a pull-out sofa bed - which felt like lying on a thin box spring (more so than a mattress), so there was no way we could sleep on it comfortably. The queen beds were too soft, and the two adults lying on them rolled toward the center unless they put pillows between them. The televisions were nice and there was a variety of channels to chose from. The desk chair was very uncomfortable and dropped back when sitting in it (no back support). The breakfast was advertised as a "breakfast buffet," but a more accurate description is "deluxe continental breakfast." They had generic fruit loops, frosted flakes, and what appeared to be raisin bran in plastic dispensers, milk in pitchers (I would prefer unopened cartons or bottles), juice, cheap-looking pastries, cheap-looking bread, bagels, and english muffins, a couple of yogurt choices, a belgian waffle maker, and a container of rubbery sausages and another container of fake eggs (patties one day, scrambled another day). After 2 days of eating it, we just had to find a restaurant to eat our remaining breakfasts at! The pool was functional (whereas before it had been closed for remodeling). The staff was friendly and gave us extra shampoo and a free newspaper. It was a roof over our head and clean, but the furniture needs a major overhaul (bed firmness and supportive desk chairs), and the breakfast should either be properly advertised as "deluxe continental breakfast," or they should upgrade their food items to be a real breakfast buffet (which would include bacon, sausage, ham, biscuits, gravy, real eggs, quality bread, fruit, waffles, pancakes, french toast, brand-name cereals, etc.).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S1V2A3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwchicagosouthland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chicago Southland, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent visit with our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you were very disappointed and would like to apologize for any issues you had during your stay. We can never guarantee a roll-away bed, I will be reinforcing this with my staff. I am happy to hear that my staff was able to upgrade you to our Queen Suite to sleep the extra person in your group. All of our guests enjoy our flat panel TV’s and channel options we offer. I hope you give us another chance to serve you and I can guarantee you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
280 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

While I experienced this Best Western to be a little difficult to find, overall I will rate it a "10" out of "10." There was no problem finding a parking space. The check in and check out were fast. All the staff encountered were friendly and courteous. The room was clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable. There was plenty of hot water upon taking a shower in the morning. The exercise facility had a good treadmill, and all the equipment in the small gym worked. The free breakfast was not a continental breakfast, but a full breakfast. There were scrambled eggs and almost everything to fill you up. I enjoyed reading the complimentary USA Today newspaper that is available to the guests at this hotel. I will definitely be staying here again when in the Chicago area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrLorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwchicagosouthland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chicago Southland, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for being our guest and leaving us an awesome review! I would like to apologize if you had any difficulty finding us but I am glad you enjoyed everything else about your stay. Our hotel offers many amenities that guests enjoy during their stays (free breakfast, complimentary USA today newspapers, swimming pool and the fitness room). We hope to see you back soon at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Southland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 days in the Chicago area visiting my family and taking some time away from home. The Room we had was very clean, we LOVED the comfort of the bed, nice breakfast every morning. The night shift front desk lady was so so friendly....even gave us copies of directions to local restaurants that she knew were good. We will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwchicagosouthland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chicago Southland, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us an awesome review. My staff and I at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Southland are so happy to hear you and your husband enjoyed yourselves while in Chicago. I am glad you enjoyed our clean and modern rooms. The staff is very familiar with the area and we all have are favorite restaurants to recommend to our valued guests too. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Forest
4.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tinley Park
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Tinley Park
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/Tinley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Tinley Park IL
5.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Orland Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
7.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tinley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Chicago Southland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Chicago Southland

Property: BEST WESTERN Chicago Southland
Address: 4375 Frontage Road, Oak Forest, IL 60452 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Southland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Oak Forest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Chicago Southland 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Chicago Southland is a brand new completely revamped property featuring double queen, king rooms and jacuzzi suites. All rooms have flat screen TVs. There is a free pool, hot tub, fitness center, business center and breakfast buffet! Make your reservation now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, HotelsforEveryone and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Chicago Southland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chicago Southland Hotel Oak Forest
Oak Forest Ramada
Ramada Oak Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing