We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic business hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Oak Brook
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Oak Brook
Reviewed September 23, 2006

About what you would expect from a traditional business hotel. The facility was in pretty good shape, but the lobby and public areas look better than the guest rooms which don't appear to have been updated in quite some time. Service was pretty good, and the fitness center is better than most. All that said, the location across the street from Oak Brook Center is very good. If you're curious, check out the McDonald's across the street toward the right on the corner, which is a functioning test location on McDonald's corporate HQ campus. It has a very different design, and it functions perfectly.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KenInSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 321 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2006

This is an average to below-average Marriott property with a bright, renovated lobby but older-style Marriott furniture and decor in rooms that is showing its age. Carpeting in my room was worn, faded and dirty with visible debris on the carpet, including nail clippings, dried flakes of human skin, dog fur and caked mud (why is it that hotels don't provide hygienic disposable slippers like they do overseas?). Pillowcases were stained and not fresh-smelling. Wallpaper appeared to be peeling from water damage.

Desk height was incorrectly calibrated with chair height inducing backstrain when typing. Upholstery had ghastly stains, so I had to put a towel before I felt comfortable sitting. Also, hotel has Marriott's usual annoying noon-to-noon internet service, but internet service comes free with our corporate rate, so I was willing to tolerate this obnoxious policy, despite checking in at 1am and checking out at 4pm.

Bathroom consisted of room with tub-shower and toilet; done in old-style institutional beige tiles. Shower had insufficient water and the drain was clogged resulting in dirty-water build-up in tub. Wash basin was in the main room; surface was cracked. Soap dishes were very faded, worn and scratched. Towels had a brittleness (too many chemical washes?) to them making them uncomfortable to the skin.

The hotel seemed to have some sort of problem with their fire alarm system, which resulted in it ringing loudly and unpredictably throughout the day. There were flyers at front desk alerting guests but no practical solutions like earplugs or room discounts. Also, since the hotel knew about this problem, they should have posted it on their website, so people could make an informed decision about whether to stay at the hotel before getting there.

I used the hotel's coin laundry and was told the dryer had not been working for some time (and the front desk also volunteered that they had no idea when it would be fixed!). Again, these sorts of things should be posted on hotel website so guests can make informed decisions before making reservations -- I had emergency laundry that had to be done. Coin laundry rates were quite reasonable by hotel standards -- $1.25 for wash and $0.25 for dryer, if it had been available.

Elevators were dirty with litter on the elevator floor for several hours.

Staff was friendly and upbeat -- the only positive note in this otherwise unpleasant hotel experience. If you are satying in Oak Brook, I would suggest you choose from the many other hotel options in the area, including several Marriot properties. In fact, after my terrible experience at this full-service Marriott, I stayed at the nearby Courtyard by Marriott which had substantially nicer, newly-renovated rooms -- at a much lower price!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2006

Had a wonderful stay at this Hotel for the New year with a group. Room was comfortable and the hotel staff were very friendly. The catering for vegetarian food was lovely. Longing to return.

3  Thank Netsanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2005

I had an excellent stay at the Marriott Oak Brook. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our stay, and one of the front desk associates (Dennis), when asked if he knew anywhere to go dancing not only recommended us to a fabulous nightclub, but also arranged for the doorman at the club to give me and my boyfriend comp admission and a few free drink coupons! I was highly impressed!

As far as the previous posts, the hotel had two wedding receptions the weekend that we stayed, however the noise was minimal on the room floors and we kinda liked the lively feel to the lobby.

I will never forget my stay at the Marriott and recommend everyone to stay there at least once.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Spaceace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Champaign, Illinois
110
Reviewed June 28, 2005

We just stayed here and it turned out to be nicer than I was expecting. What drew this apart from the crowd for me was the promise of pillowtop mattresses, and they proved to be well worth it. The room was good sized, and the duvet looked newer. Plenty of elevators, and all the furnishings looked very well kept and clean.

The next morning we were awakened by the fire alarm going off; turned out that someone had accidentally pulled it. It took awhile for the fire department to arrive and turn the alarm off, but about an hour later, I found a letter from the manager had been slipped under the door, apologizing for our inconvience--for something that it wasn't the hotel's fault! That was nice. We ordered up breakfast and found the portions to be generous and delicious.

Service was also excellent. When I ordered room service, the woman who answered the phone greeted me with a "Good Morning, Ms. xxx, how can I help you?". Another time when I called to ask what time Oak Brook Center opened, the person knew immediately and didn't put me on hold for a second. The room service staff did a terrific job; we returned to find our things around the sink neatly arranged and very clean with new toiletries.

The hotel's location is one of it's best assets. It's right across the street from Oak Brook Center mall. I wouldn't advice walking to it, but it's a quick trip across the street to a wonderful mall. It's also within easy reach to I-88.

This hotel is also going through some exterior renovations at the moment, so you can only enter through the side and not the front, and you have to drive around the back of the parking lot. It's not a big deal at all, though.

Pros: Location! Right across from Oak Brook Center mall. Service is terrific, pillowtop mattresses are wonderful. Ample parking.

Cons: the towels has a very faint weird smell, sort of smoky--not cigarette smoky, but like fuel oil smoky. Also, yes, it is a magnet for conventions, so if you want a very quiet weekend, you might want to ask the front desk what's going on that weekend before you book.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
andover
18
Reviewed February 12, 2005

This place was quite nice in general. It is not a Four Seasons luxury resort, yet what do you expect from a hotel in a quiet, suberban area. Yes, conventions, and events etc. will be going on there on weekends from time to time, yet they are not that loud, and you will not hear them at all if you are on a higher floor. You can't do anything about kids. It is one thing if they are misbehaving, but just being kids, come on give em a break! All hotels are a little noisy if you dont want to be in a deserted motel.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2004

Stayed here the the weekend of july 31. Hotel is fine. Just beware, if you're looking for a quiet experience, this may not be the place. Hotel caters to groups, meetings etc. Weekend we were there had a teen and preteen dance competition. We were on concierge level and it was reasonably quiet. But kids tied up elevators and some of the floors were full of youngsters. You might want to call hotel before you make reservation to determine what's going on that weekend.

4  Thank BeenaroundRj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oak Brook hotels
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chicago - Oakbrook Center
1.4 mi away
Hyatt House Oak Brook
Hyatt House Oak Brook
#5 of 8 in Oak Brook
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Hyatt Lodge at McDonald's Campus
1.3 mi away
The Drake Hotel - Oak Brook
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Oak Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Oak Brook

Address: 1401 W 22nd St, Oak Brook, IL 60523-2009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oak Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Oak Brook
Price Range: $97 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Oak Brook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Depart from ordinary hotels in Oak Brook, IL, to discover exceptional service and luxurious accommodations at the Chicago Marriott Oak Brook hotel, situated near Lombard, Naperville and Downers Grove. From shopping at Oakbrook Center to visiting Brookfield Zoo, discover all there is to do during your stay. Revitalize the body in this Oak Brook, IL, hotel's over-sized indoor swimming pool or relax in stylish guest rooms featuring plush bedding and deluxe amenities. Indulge your taste buds at 1401 West Restaurant, this Oak Brook, Illinois, hotel's premier dining establishment featuring sumptuous menu options. Or, for those on the go, the on-site Starbucks(R) serves freshly brewed coffee and delicious pastries. Providing the perfect atmosphere for a professional conference or sophisticated soirée, this hotel in Oak Brook, IL, provides the latest in technological enhancements and contemporary décor. Whether traveling for business or leisure, let Chicago Marriott Oak Brook envelop you in sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chicago Marriott Oak Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Marriott Oak Brook Hotel Oak Brook
Marriott Oak Brook
Oak Brook Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing