We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good second choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Oak Brook
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Oak Brook
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good second choice”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at this Marriott for a business meeting in early June. It was the hotel selected by the meeting organizers since the preferred hotel was booked. It's an average hotel, good for meetings and within walking distance of a nice restaurant (Italian) and the mall is across the street.

A plus is on site car rental (Hertz) and Starbucks on site. We spent a lot of time at the bar and enjoyed it. They were well stocked with everything members of our team wanted and the appetizers were tasty.

The room was fine but I do agree with other posters that they should offer free wifi in the rooms. Most people are not working on confidential business documents/emails in the lobby where they have free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatWomanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    114
    87
    20
    12
See reviews for
64
35
14
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I hadn't stayed at this Marriott for a number of years as it had become run down and neglected. Decided to try it again since it received a significant make over not long ago. My stay was disappointing. Room appointments were OK, bed was comfortable, bathroom small and still dated in appearance. The lobby had puddles of water in several area's and badly stained carpet. I notified the front desk about the water spills and they had it cleaned, but clearly did not give the impression that their standard was to maintain a superior appearance nor cared much for my comment. Overall, this hotel is nothing special. Adequate for a business over night but nothing more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VoyagerFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Your average Marriott, with mattresses that slide off the box spring. Tiny bathroom, awkwardly large desk and chair that needed to be navigated around. Great location. Expensive as well, With big internet fees, altho that is standard Marriott practice.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpeacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Perhaps the best property in the immediate Oak Brook area, this is a fairly standard Marriott - a little older footprint, but all the similarities. The major problem is one that I am starting to see in many hotels during these economically challenged times - the mattress was worn out. Only the middle of the kind sized mattress was comfortable - and in fact, you needed to sleep in the center to avoid falling out of the worn out sides.
There is not a well developed concierge lounge and the restaurant is average (although with the ample choices of much better in the immediate area - including Tuscany in the building next door, this is understandable). Breakfast in the restaurant one morning was below average in terms of service and food quality on the buffet. Room service menu is a newer choice than the typical Marriott room service - which is a pleasant break - Marriott does need to make big changes to the same offerings that have been on the dinner room service menu now for over ten years. Room service staff are average; if you need billing detail for the bills, you must remember to push the morning wait staff for this; evening staff bring this. Hotels would do well to learn that these days business travelers require a copy of the detail of room service ordered for expense accounts and routinely provide this. Location of this property is good. All in all, a good hotel - would take it up a notch if the mattress was not worn out and the food facilities were better. Note that the price does reflect Oak Brook - higher than norm.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerONE2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on business. Lobby and restaurants are all very nice but the rooms are pretty standard and are showing their age. Bathrooms are very old and there was mildew all over the shower. WiFi is not free as well which should be especially for a business hotel. Also the freeway is right behind the hotel so it is very noisy at night if your room faces that direction. Cant comment on price as my company paid for it but overall this place is ok for a night or so.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our family stayed at the Chicago Oak Brook Marriot for the weekend for a wedding that was held there. This Hotel is located in a great location. Accross the street is a great mall for those of us who love to shop. Apparently this hotel is very popular for Weddings and Family reunions. There were about 3 different functions going on that weekend so if you are planning on staying here for a quiet stay you might be out of luck. It was fine for us since we were there for a wedding. So if you would like to plan a function of any sort This location is the place to go...the decor and the food was excellent! The rooms were clean and the beds were comfy. I hope our family reunion is held here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Business facilities were nice enough. The room, on the other hand, was ok, but the way desk and desk chair were situated made it impossible to get around in the room. If you want internet, add another $14.95 per day to your bill. You drink the bottle of water sitting out in the room next to ice bucket and glasses, add another $3.95 AND you want breakfast? No complimentary breakfast here! You pay $17.95 for the breakfast buffet in the restaurant. No small fridge, no microwave. TV quality was fuzzy and remote didn't work right. Not one of our finer stays at a hotel :( Location was good for the Oak Brook Center Mall.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mountaingirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Brook
0.9 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
994 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chicago - Oakbrook Center
0.7 mi away
The Hyatt Lodge at McDonald's Campus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Drake Hotel - Oak Brook
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Oak Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Oak Brook

Property: Chicago Marriott Oak Brook
Address: 1401 W 22nd St, Oak Brook, IL 60523-2009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oak Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Oak Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Oak Brook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Depart from ordinary hotels in Oak Brook, IL, to discover exceptional service and luxurious accommodations at the Chicago Marriott Oak Brook hotel, situated near Lombard, Naperville and Downers Grove. From shopping at Oakbrook Center to visiting Brookfield Zoo, discover all there is to do during your stay. Revitalize the body in this Oak Brook, IL, hotel's over-sized indoor swimming pool or relax in stylish guest rooms featuring plush bedding and deluxe amenities. Indulge your taste buds at 1401 West Restaurant, this Oak Brook, Illinois, hotel's premier dining establishment featuring sumptuous menu options. Or, for those on the go, the on-site Starbucks(R) serves freshly brewed coffee and delicious pastries. Providing the perfect atmosphere for a professional conference or sophisticated soirée, this hotel in Oak Brook, IL, provides the latest in technological enhancements and contemporary décor. Whether traveling for business or leisure, let Chicago Marriott Oak Brook envelop you in sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chicago Marriott Oak Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Marriott Oak Brook Hotel Oak Brook
Marriott Oak Brook
Oak Brook Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing