We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleeping in the Office Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Oak Brook
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Sleeping in the Office Park”
Reviewed October 13, 2005

If you love the suburbs and need a place to stay, this place is for you. For the price its better than a Motel 6 or Super 8. Across from the Mall, its great if you are in town for business. Close to the highway, its accessible to Ohare and downtown. Service was good.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    327
    175
    57
    22
See reviews for
182
138
56
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 23, 2005

I love doubletrees but this one was just OK. I looks like they just purchased this Hotel from the Hyatt (I could see Hyatt on the phone). We checked in very late (after the U2 concert) and the front desk person was rude. He wasn't very friendly and not at all helpful. I had reserved the Dream special which included breakfast but he said I didn't. The next morning I did confirm this with the front desk and got the breakfast we wanted. The hotel definitely needs to be renovated to meet the Doubletree quality and reputation. Beds could be better.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2005

Just returned from a weekend in Chicago. Had a 40th celebration at Maggiano's Italian restaturnat at Oak Brook center and chose to stay at the Doubletree for its proximity to the mall and earning Hilton pts. The property is truly in need of updating, but they are aware of this and a major overhaul starts in Oct 2005. Spring 2006 all new decor.
Anyway, rooms are average in size, baths are avg in size, brkt buffet 'excellent'. For an extra $10 per night 2 adults and 2 kids could eat "wow".
Ample parking in garage and they have a wonderful staff. Doorman very helpful, desk staff took a picture of us. Just felt like they were happy we stayed. Looking forward to staying here after the renovation, hope the will add microwaves to the suites.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joynell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 1, 2005

The Doubletree had the most uncomfortable sleeping accomodations! I would have been better off sleeping on the floor. The staff was friendly and I understand that they are undergoing renovations but renovation should start with a decent bed.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2005

My boyfriend and I just stayed at the Double Tree and we loved it! We were greeted at the front desk with two cookies straight from the oven and music playing from a player piano in the lobby. There's even an Avis right in the hotel with cars on the hotel lot if you want to save yourself the trouble of renting elsewhere. The room was clean and comfortable. The exercise area has pretty new equipment and plenty of it and there's a pool and a whirlpool with a balcony on each side if you are interested in sunbathing. There's also a restaurant and a sports bar with a bartender who serves up a great margarita. Outside the hotel, there's a beautiful little pond that had geese. It's within minutes of the Oak Brook mall where you can get some great shopping done, many of the same stores you see on Michigan Avenue but in a less crowded environment. They are remodeling now so I am sure that things are only going to get better.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blcw1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Brook
0.6 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Chicago - Oakbrook Center
1.1 mi away
The Drake Hotel - Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Hyatt Lodge at McDonald's Campus
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakbrook Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakb...
#2 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chicago Marriott Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
Address: 1909 Spring Rd, Oak Brook, IL 60523-3923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oak Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Oak Brook
#3 Family Hotel in Oak Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Chicago Oak Brook is the perfect location for your leisure or business trip. Close to O'Hare and Midway Airports, just 18 miles to Chicago, walking distance to Illinois' largest outdoor shopping mall, and convenient to the Metra Train, zoo, theaters, and golf courses. Book a Chicago weekend escape with all the fun and attractions without the downtown Chicago expense. Hotel features FREE parking, local transportation and warm chocolate chip cookie with walnuts, at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Oak Brook
Oak Brook Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing