We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay at the Doubletree” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Oak Brook
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice stay at the Doubletree”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2008

My wife an I stayed here for three nights to attend a wedding. The location was great for us. It is very easy to find and get to major roads to head in any direction.

The hotel is clean and well kept. The bed was very comfortable. No complaints from the maid service at all.

We didn't eat at the main restaurant but did spend some time in the sports bar where service was excellent and appetizers were delicious.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Scottsdale_from_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    316
    169
    54
    22
See reviews for
179
132
53
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florissant
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2008

Wow! For once a hotel that delivered on its promise!

Kind and friendly management, smooth-as-silk check in.

Comfortable room, super-clean, with wonderful bedding. I slept like a rock!

Pool area and gym were clean and inviting.

The mall is NOT within easy walking distance. It is a short hike across the parking lots and side roads. It is do-able.

My AAA membership got me free breakfast.

Only good things to say!

  • Liked — clean and classy
  • Disliked — location and price
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderkat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

I stayed at the hotel for a weekend getaway. The cab ride is a flat rate of $40 one way from/to O'Hare. The hotel is beautiful and it is about 10 mins from the train station. We were told that the hotel shuttle wouldn't take us to the train station because it was out of the 5 mile radius but when we came back on the train the shuttle was there at the station and we were about to get a ride back to the property. Otherwise a 1 cab way ride to/from the train station is $15. The room was nice, the bed was very comfortable. We ate at the restaurant Anthony's and that was the best steak I have ever tasted! The service however was terrible! The WORST service I have EVER had. The waitstaff was slow and got my order wrong, I never did receive my appetizer. All this for an $80 dinner.

Overall it was a good experience but next time I will stay closer to the city.

  • Liked — Beautiful Property
  • Disliked — Service was garbage
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LadyLuck2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

Stayed here over the October 17-19 weekend with my wife and teenage daughter. This is a great property if your focus is on a very clean, comfortable hotel in an outstanding location. We did not spend much time in the room as we were out exploring Chicago and shopping at the mall across the street. The room was a good size and very clean. The beds were double beds, rather than queen-size. The bedding was exceptionally comfortable. The bathroom was a typical hotel bathroom and was immaculately clean. Parking was free in the convenient attached garage. We booked with our AAA card and received free breakfasts in the cafe. It is a step up from the typical free breakfast at most hotels. We will stay here again when coming to the Chicago area.

  • Liked — Convenience, Cleanliness, Location
  • Disliked — Queen sized beds would have been nice
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pdbhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here :)
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2008

I stayed at the Doubletree Oak Brook for a conference earlier this month. The best things about the hotel were the great shopping at the Mall over the road and that the beds were comfortable - small, but comfortable.

Having said that, I didn't find the service excellent at all. Not that it was terrible - but I certainly didn't experience it as being as wonderful as some of the previous reviews suggest.

For example - for the five days I was there, every day the housekeeping staff would do something wrong when they cleaned the rooms. The first day they took the towels away but didn't bother replacing them. The next day, they didn't make the beds properly (they put two duvets on one bed, and left the other with just a sheet). The next day they didn't replace the toilet paper. None of these were big things - and they were all fixed readily and quickly when I called housekeeping - but they don't speak of excellent service.

And the restaurant service in the cafe - (I didn't try anywhere else - so the more expensive restaurants could be better) - it was TERRIBLE. They were slow. Rude. And one lunch time, they obviously didn't want to sell anything but sandwiches, and said that it would take the chef an hour to do a salad if we didn't order the sandwiches and not the salad. They said the chef was too busy to be put to the trouble of making a salad - even though the cafe was less than half full.

And what is it with hotels going to uncovered duvets between sheets? This is just a personal thing, but I HATE that - if one of the sheet slips, they all get muddled - they are just a pain. Why not cover the duvet? Because they are cheap, that's why. But when you are staying at a 4 or 5 star hotel, you don't expect cheap, you expect a cover on your duvet.

But you know - none of these is really appalling - just annoying. I would still stay there again - even if only for the good shopping and restaurants at the Mall across the road.

  • Liked — The Mall across the road
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTee:P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

Great facilities and service. free high speed internet and parking. next to an amazing mall. everything at your door step.
very nice rooms and bedding. nice courteous staff.

  • Liked — location, service, cleanliness
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManofTastes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

This was probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. My wife and I stayed for a weekend anniversary trip. I was a bit nervous about stay so far outside of town, but it was well worth it! The rooms were great! Very clean, with very comfortable beds. The staff was wonderful. Ordered room service the first night, and it was great. Just a few minutes from the train station. We have been telling everyone we know to stay here!

  • Liked — Great rooms
  • Disliked — nothing negative about it!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jdel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Brook
0.6 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Drake Hotel - Oak Brook
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Chicago - Oakbrook Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Hyatt Lodge at McDonald's Campus
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakbrook Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakb...
#2 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chicago Marriott Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
Address: 1909 Spring Rd, Oak Brook, IL 60523-3923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oak Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oak Brook
#3 Business Hotel in Oak Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Chicago Oak Brook is the perfect location for your leisure or business trip. Close to O'Hare and Midway Airports, just 18 miles to Chicago, walking distance to Illinois' largest outdoor shopping mall, and convenient to the Metra Train, zoo, theaters, and golf courses. Book a Chicago weekend escape with all the fun and attractions without the downtown Chicago expense. Hotel features FREE parking, local transportation and warm chocolate chip cookie with walnuts, at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Oak Brook
Oak Brook Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing